Customer Reviews for

Mr. Darcy Takes a Wife

Average Rating 3.5
( 304 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(131)

4 Star

(61)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(49)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Good but...

I have to admit it is not of Jane Austen style or standing, but I didn't read it with the intentions that it would be. I couldn't put it down. Linda B did an excellent job of keeping Lizzy and Darcy together and strong. I cried, laughed, and anguished true feelings t...
I have to admit it is not of Jane Austen style or standing, but I didn't read it with the intentions that it would be. I couldn't put it down. Linda B did an excellent job of keeping Lizzy and Darcy together and strong. I cried, laughed, and anguished true feelings through this entire novel. Without giving it away, my heart actually raced in a certain chapters. Good job to Linda, it was an excellent novel.

posted by Anonymous on August 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Jane Austen roll's over in her grave

I was flabbergasted when I started to read this book. How someone can take the amazing characters created by Jane Austen in Pride and Prejudice and put them in a trashy romance novel is beyond me. I had to put it down on the 10th chapter. Because by then there had al...
I was flabbergasted when I started to read this book. How someone can take the amazing characters created by Jane Austen in Pride and Prejudice and put them in a trashy romance novel is beyond me. I had to put it down on the 10th chapter. Because by then there had already been roughly 9 graphic sex scenes. This is not how I wanted to remember such beautiful characters not that they were anything like the true characters. If I wanted to read a trashy novel then I would read something else unconnected to such a great work of art.

posted by Anonymous on September 7, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 10, 2009

    Far From Perfection

    I haven't finished this book yet and I can't help but be disappointed by what I've read so far. The author tried way too hard to imitate Jane Austen's writing style, thus making the book hard to read at times. There were some chapters where the author seemed to abandon the Austen writing style and inadvertently reverted to modern-day writing. It was like when an actor does not maintain a certain accent throughout a movie. There were too many secondary characters that really didn't contribute much to the overall story - which is supposed to be about Fitzwilliam and Elizabeth Darcy. I found myself skimming over several chapters that had no place in this novel. I also did not like the liberties that the author took with the original characters. This particular Elizabeth did not seem as intelligent or as pragmatic as Austen's. The author turned Bingley and Jane into dimwits with no passion for one another. In "Pride and Prejudice," Darcy and Bingley were the best of friends with a mutual regard and respect for one another. There was no perceived or actual rivalry between the two as the author has contrived in this book. The author made it seem as if everyone else's relationships were inferior to the Darcys. I didn't mind the sex scenes as much as some of the other reviewers. We know full and well that Jane Austen would have never written anything of the sort, or at least not in the way in which this book is written. I'll reserve the rest of my review for when I finish this book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2007

    A huge disappointment

    This book was a huge disappointment. I was excited to read a story that continued the beautiful story of Pride and Prejudice. However, this story only continued the story of Darcy and Elizabeth's sex life. There was a sexual encounter on every page and if there wasn't, then the characters were thinking about it. I understand that the passion of Darcy and Elizabeth is a part that we would all like to know after the marriage, but I would have liked to read a book that focused on their relationship in all aspects, not just sex. I felt as if the author had taken Darcy and Elizabeth and placed them in the middle of a Harlequin romance.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Unhappy reader

    This is the first time I've read a sequel for a novel where the author has been dead for over a hundred years and it so happened to be Jane Austin's Pride and Prejudice. The first novel that I fell in love with as a teenager. So to my unhappy part, the book was to long, if it had ended about page 350 or so I might still be happy. I felt the interaction between D & E was very enjoyable and unlike some who felt that the "sex" was to much, I believed it was mild, they were married. The problem was so many added characters taking away from the story of the Darcys. One such character was Darcy's ex mistress, we have her entire history! I love to read historical romance, it makes me happy, what I do not like in my historical romance is death, especially the heroine's first baby. The last chapters of the book killed off four more characters, a hurry to get it done, so you can see why if the book had been shorter I wouldn't have felt UNHAPPY!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Lost focus while reading it because it was hard to read at times

    Lost focus while reading it because it was hard to read at times. I tried hard to read it all but had to put it down because it didnt keep me all that interested.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Wasn't really impressed with the this book. Some parts where hu

    Wasn't really impressed with the this book. Some parts where humors. But for the most part I got lost in reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    eh.. it was ok

    I think for an author to make a sequal to some one elses work they should at least try to emulate the style of the previous author. Linda Berdoll didn't do that. Where it was unique in Jane Austens work was that though so many political upheavals were going on she chase to ignore that and focus on the social and the matrimonial. The love scenes she added were very discriptive (enough so to make me blush) If Jane Austen read them she would have been scandalized and most likely came down with a case of the vapours.
    I also found that I wanted more dialogue and more to happen between Elizabeth and MR.Darcy then just sex and tragedy after tragedy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2008

    A Disappointment

    When I bought this book I was unsure about it but at the same time I had high expectations. At first it was quite enetertaining but towards the middle I was getting extremely dissappointed. I didn't even finish it. I skimmed through the rest of it skipping a lot of it and I was gravely let down. I had my own idea of how Lizzie and Darcy lived after they got married so I think that had alot to do with it. Don't get me wrong it wasn't all bad. The beginning was extremely entertaining, but that's it. Even though I didn't like it, I would still like to finish it. I've always been determined to finish every book I read, but with this one that may be a long time from now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2006

    No one knows Darcy as Jane Austin did

    I was so excited to read a 'sequel' to Jane Austin's great romantic novel! However, I could barely get through the first five or so erotic and vulgar chapters. I cannot believe that this is how Ms. Austin thought of how love would be between a man and a woman. None the less I read on and by the end was sorely disappointed as to how this author had literally changed the main characters personalities 180 degrees. These were lovable, admirable characters, not everyone is so different deep down. I was extremely dissappointed with this writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2006

    Dissappointing

    I was disappointed in this book because I felt that the characters deviated to far from what Austen had intended them to be. The book took so many turns in directions that I found unnecessary. For example, Elizabeth,s kidnapping, Bingley's infidelity, and the escapade in France ( I really found this aggravating)were frustrating to someone who loves these characters so much. I also felt that the physical relationship between Darcy and Elizabeth did not need to be so explicit. Austen and many authors during that time would have been suggestive about that particular topic but they would not have been so outright. Overall, I would not recommend this book to Austen purists.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2005

    What a disappointment!!

    As much as I enjoyed spending time with Elizabeth and Darcy again and enjoyed being privy to their bedroom escapades - I feel that Ms Berdoll missed the whole point of Pride and Prejudice. The whole story was about a woman who was ahead of her time - strong character who had the intellectual capability to observe the society she lived in and try to live in it on her terms. Ms Berdoll made this into a boring story with a bunch of boring one dimensional bad characters. Why wasn't Elizabeth stronger than ever now that she married so well? Why did she make her into a victim and mealy character - rather then elaborate on her strength and have the character grow. She should have been the heroine in the book. Ms Berdoll missed a great opportunity. Perhaps she should reread Ms Austin's novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2005

    This is no novel of manners.

    Not utterly unenjoyable, but certainly not Austen-esque. More like the result of a modern (near-pornographic) romance novelist channeling Ann Radcliffe as she wrote 'The Romance of the Forest.' No doubt Austen would turn in her grave. Think drama, evil villains, burning stables and attempted ravishment. There is a very un-Austen-like focus on the sordid side of life, as well as the lives and concerns of servants and lower classes. Darcy and Elizabeth aren¿t jarringly out of character, with the notable exception of a complete lack of concern with sexual propriety. Some of their (verbal) exchanges are quite convincing. However, though I¿ve always imagined that the pair would have a very passionate and satisfactory sex life, I¿d like to think that they could have gone their entire lives without coupling on a drawing room table, thereby breaking so much china that a servant was drawn to investigate. All in all, this book is a good substitute for a trashy beach novel, as long as you aren't too squeamish about long stretches filled with nothing but 'carnal unions.' Don¿t expect much else. I may or may not read the last third of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2004

    Somewhere Austen is crying

    When i heard that there was a continuation of my favorite book, i was desperate to get my hands on it. I was throughly disappointed though at this writers atempt to capture my favorite couple. Her writing is horrible and the plot-line, while it starts out good, falls into a black hole never to get its-self out again. If you are thinking about reading this book i would caution you to stick to the orignal and your own imagination. If you do read this book and enjoy it then i would suggest the sequal to Gone with the Wind by Alexandra Ripley. The similarity in Ripley and Berdoll to destory great characters is a real talent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2