Customer Reviews for

Mr. Darcy, Vampyre

Average Rating 3
( 116 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Great and well written. I loved the description and the places s

Great and well written. I loved the description and the places she visited. Some scenes were exiting. finished it in half a day.

posted by doggis on September 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

If you are a Vampire fan you might want to pass on this

My dearest sister Jane, Well, what a crock, as they say in 21st century America! I've had to delve a full 250 pages into Mr. Darcy Vampyre to find out what was going to happen to us. And then the plot was so rushed and jumbled that I never did received an adequate expla...
My dearest sister Jane, Well, what a crock, as they say in 21st century America! I've had to delve a full 250 pages into Mr. Darcy Vampyre to find out what was going to happen to us. And then the plot was so rushed and jumbled that I never did received an adequate explanation of how vampyres came to be, or what exactly Mr. Darcy ate in order to survive for 150 years. Upon my honor, Jane, I am aware that men are not particularly conversant when it comes to giving out details, but I'd had no notion that Mr. Darcy suffered from a verbal disability. He could not for the life of him adequately explain his strange tale. In describing one of the most important events of his life - that of turning into a vampyre - he took all of 21 words. (STOP!: Major Spoiler Alert: "The woman turned to me, her fangs dripping red and then she was next to me and my neck was pierced").

Ms. Anne Rice took pages to describe the writhing tormenting death that humans go through to turn into vampyres, and even Ms. Stephanie Meyers hinted that the transformation was quite unpleasantly painful, but all I got from Mr. Darcy was twenty one itty bitty little words. In addition he made it sound as if turning into a vampyre was an ordinary event, with Mrs. Reynolds, the housekeeper, choosing to join the merry Pemberley vampyre band, although, to give Ms. Grange her due, my husband's face WAS shadowed as he related these events.

Any discerning reader knows that Ms. Meyers can't write her way out of a paper bag, but at least with Twilight she told a rousing good tale. Ms. Meyers also gave the reader ample glimpses of Edward Cullen's mental torment and extraordinary physical skills. Ms Grange's story of my life with Mr. Darcy is, frankly, missing the otherworldly touches and sensuality that vampyre fans have come to expect as their due. (Either that or humor, which is also absent. And you know how I am renowned for my BITING wit, hah!) Her hints about my husband are so thinly scattered in 5/6th of the book that they left me feeling confused rather than threatened. To say that suspense was lacking in our tale is to state the obvious. In the instances when Ms. Grange eschewed Bram Stoker's lore, her vampyre rules seemed jerry-rigged, for they sprung up from nowhere, unsupported by a well thought-out back story. I could never quite tell (except in a few meagre scenes at the end) which super powers my husband had supposedly acquired, how ancient vampyres ruled their vampyre empire, or how conflicted Mr. Darcy felt watching those he loved grow old and die whilst he lived on forever.

Never was a more sensual and sensuous vampyre created than The Vampire Lestat, and I felt that my Mr. Darcy deserved at the very least the rich, decadent and multi-layered descriptions that Anne Rice gave to her own vampire. But it was not to be. There was a lot of telling in this book, but very little showing, and scent and touch were largely missing. Ms. Grange turned Mr. Darcy into a milque toast vampyre when I frankly would have preferred someone darker. There's more but I have run out of room. For a good vampire story I recommend the products sitting below. Mr. Darcy and I are headed for England and the hallowed halls of Pemberley, for I am genuinely concerned about your last letter. Your cryptic statement informing me that our friends the Misses Dashwood were abducted by a giant octopus leaves me leaves me most anxious to use my zombie slayer warrior skills to save them. Love, Lizzie

posted by VicJA on August 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 117 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted August 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    If you are a Vampire fan you might want to pass on this

    My dearest sister Jane, Well, what a crock, as they say in 21st century America! I've had to delve a full 250 pages into Mr. Darcy Vampyre to find out what was going to happen to us. And then the plot was so rushed and jumbled that I never did received an adequate explanation of how vampyres came to be, or what exactly Mr. Darcy ate in order to survive for 150 years. Upon my honor, Jane, I am aware that men are not particularly conversant when it comes to giving out details, but I'd had no notion that Mr. Darcy suffered from a verbal disability. He could not for the life of him adequately explain his strange tale. In describing one of the most important events of his life - that of turning into a vampyre - he took all of 21 words. (STOP!: Major Spoiler Alert: "The woman turned to me, her fangs dripping red and then she was next to me and my neck was pierced").

    Ms. Anne Rice took pages to describe the writhing tormenting death that humans go through to turn into vampyres, and even Ms. Stephanie Meyers hinted that the transformation was quite unpleasantly painful, but all I got from Mr. Darcy was twenty one itty bitty little words. In addition he made it sound as if turning into a vampyre was an ordinary event, with Mrs. Reynolds, the housekeeper, choosing to join the merry Pemberley vampyre band, although, to give Ms. Grange her due, my husband's face WAS shadowed as he related these events.

    Any discerning reader knows that Ms. Meyers can't write her way out of a paper bag, but at least with Twilight she told a rousing good tale. Ms. Meyers also gave the reader ample glimpses of Edward Cullen's mental torment and extraordinary physical skills. Ms Grange's story of my life with Mr. Darcy is, frankly, missing the otherworldly touches and sensuality that vampyre fans have come to expect as their due. (Either that or humor, which is also absent. And you know how I am renowned for my BITING wit, hah!) Her hints about my husband are so thinly scattered in 5/6th of the book that they left me feeling confused rather than threatened. To say that suspense was lacking in our tale is to state the obvious. In the instances when Ms. Grange eschewed Bram Stoker's lore, her vampyre rules seemed jerry-rigged, for they sprung up from nowhere, unsupported by a well thought-out back story. I could never quite tell (except in a few meagre scenes at the end) which super powers my husband had supposedly acquired, how ancient vampyres ruled their vampyre empire, or how conflicted Mr. Darcy felt watching those he loved grow old and die whilst he lived on forever.

    Never was a more sensual and sensuous vampyre created than The Vampire Lestat, and I felt that my Mr. Darcy deserved at the very least the rich, decadent and multi-layered descriptions that Anne Rice gave to her own vampire. But it was not to be. There was a lot of telling in this book, but very little showing, and scent and touch were largely missing. Ms. Grange turned Mr. Darcy into a milque toast vampyre when I frankly would have preferred someone darker. There's more but I have run out of room. For a good vampire story I recommend the products sitting below. Mr. Darcy and I are headed for England and the hallowed halls of Pemberley, for I am genuinely concerned about your last letter. Your cryptic statement informing me that our friends the Misses Dashwood were abducted by a giant octopus leaves me leaves me most anxious to use my zombie slayer warrior skills to save them. Love, Lizzie

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Great and well written. I loved the description and the places s

    Great and well written. I loved the description and the places she visited. Some scenes were exiting. finished it in half a day.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Too much description not enough relationship!

    Has some exciting scenes and the writing style is good. That said, she spends an inordinate amount of time describing places in Europe that she probably traveled to and every conversation between Darcy and Elizabeth relates back to Pride and Prejudice! I kept waiting for more to happen and by the time the end occured it seemed to wrap up pretty quickly compared to the hundreds of pages I had to read to get there.
    If you like alternate reality for Pride and Prejudice minus the vampire angle, I really liked Mr. Fitzwilliam Darcy by Abigail Reynolds.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good read.

    This is another book I was unsure of when I first saw it. I didn't like the idea of one of literature's greatest heroes being turned into a vampire. Though, I must say the idea is far better than randomly throwing zombies into Jane Austen's actual work. The creator of THAT monstrosity should be ashamed of themselves. However, this book .. I must give credit where credit is due. The author took a very well known story and rewrote it to make the whole vampire thing work. Mr. Darcy definitely beats Rice's Lestat and Meyer's Edward hands down in the sexy vamp category. I definitely recommend this book to any Jane Austen fan who might be looking for something a little different than the every day P&P variation.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    57 pages

    A bit of a time (and money) waster: you have to trudge through about 158 (out of 215) v-e-r-y slow pages before the story becomes somewhat interesting. One hundred fifty-something pages to set up about 57 pages of story. Recommended only for DESPERATE Pride and Prejudice slash vampire fans.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not good

    After reading Grange's Mr. Darcy's Diary I thought that this would be similar, it wasn't. Just because vampires are the "thing" now doesn't mean that good writers should write about them. If you want a great book with Mr. Darcy as a vampire read Regina Jeffers book called Vampire Darcy's Desire.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Mr. Darcy Vampyre is another Amanda Grange Gem!

    Received Mr. Darcy, Vampyre for my birthday. Once I picked it up, I could not put it down. It is suspenceful, romantic, trilling, touching and just an all around great read. I have read other books by Amanda Grange and would recommend her books to anyone who truly love Jane Austen.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A WONDERFUL DISCOVERY!

    I have to admit that I was very, very skeptical. I am a Jane Austen freak and a purist and am especially protective of Eliza and Darcy. Anyone mess with my favorite literary couple...BEWARE. I picked up this book and was extremely delighted! I think that Amanda Grange has picked up on all the wonderful mannerisms that make Eliza and Darcy who they are and who I love. In this seemingly absurd plot Amanda Grange doesn't change the way Eliza and Darcy were in P&P but only adds to their experiences and how they react to things in the book is how I picture the P&P Eliza and Darcy reacting as well. I saw the 1996 movie version with Firth and Ehle and I found myself picturing them acting out this book and visualizing them as I read - they are the quintessential Eliza and Darcy and I think Amanda Grange captures their spirits and nuances. If you had previously told me that Pride and Prejudice could be concluded with a vampire theme I would have told you that you were crazy but dang....it works. I still can't really believe it but I loved the book! I think Jane Austen with how intrigued she was with the graphic novel would have also appreciated it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Better than I thought

    I love P & P and thought this would be an intresting spin for these characters. I didn't have a lot of expectations for the book. I went in reading the book with an open mind and I'm glad I did. You can't take the book too serious because at times it seemed a little silly. I found the ending lacking but overall a good read. I respect the author for taking such a gamble with our beloved Mr. Darcy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2009

    Dragging and boring, no passion

    I was REALLy disappointed in this book, especially with a topic that could have made it unique and interesting. The story dragged greatly and I felt sorry for Elizabeth and all that she had to put up with in this story. Not recommended for P&P fans or vampire fans.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Darcy has a dark secret. Who knew?

    Elizabeth Bennet and Mr. Darcy of Pride and Prejudice may be one of the most famous love stories in literature. Their uneasy courtship was wrought with misconceptions skillfully played out by Austen's acerbic wit and romantic tension. When they finally realize they are in love, their wedding seems to insure a happily-ever-after that Austen is famous for. What Elizabeth had envisioned as their carefree wedding tour in the Lake District is altered by her new husbands dour mood and abrupt change of destination. They will now travel to the Continent and visit Darcy relations in Paris, Switzerland and Italy, making the Grand Tour.

    As they travel Elizabeth sees a dark change come over her husband. He is preoccupied and incommunicative; not at all the man that she grew to love during their courtship in England. Moreover, Darcy's formidable relations are more than just a bit odd and events along the way are unsettling. While in Paris Darcy's cousin Colonel Fitzwilliam privately admonishes him for marrying her. On the road to Switzerland his aunt Lady Catherine de Bourgh surprisingly appears expressing her displeasure at his disgraceful alliance and begging him to end it. As their carriage climbs the mountain road, the local people jump away and cross themselves as they pass. When they arrive in the Alps at his uncle Count Polidori's castle, an axe displayed above a doorway mysteriously falls missing Darcy by inches. The servants say it is a sign that Elizabeth will cause his death. Later, a fortune teller warns her to beware. "There are dangers all around you .Not all who walk on two legs are men. Not all who fly are beasts." When the castle is stormed by angry villagers, Darcy and Elizabeth flee into the mountains where they are attacked by the mob. In the confusion of the fight they are separated. Against all odds the crowd is subdued. Darcy is disheveled and unharmed except for the blood on his mouth. Elizabeth is horrified, thinking he is hurt. We, suspect otherwise.

    Their journey continues to Venice, and on to Rome. The descriptions of the countryside and cities are similar to a vintage travelogue. The scenes of the castle in the Alps, the fortune teller and the angry mob play gentle homage to the Gothic novels so popular in Jane Austen's time and parodied in her own novel Northanger Abbey. The difference here is this novel is not a burlesque or a spoof. It is dead serious, and that is one of its foibles. Lack of humor. No Catherine Morland in her nightgown peering into a ponderous chest. Only poor Lizzy unhappily dragged about Europe, neglected by her husband, and totally unaware that his indifference is a front to his dark secret. When did our spirited and clever Lizzy become willing to put up with such treatment? She used to taunt and tease him into submission. Now she can't seem to find him to put him in his place. Yes, he is a vampyre and he is tormented over not being able to tell his wife about his terrible curse, but there still needs to be some conversation to develop their relationship. Over three quarters of the way into the book and I was still impatiently waiting for the big reveal. Is this really a vampyre novel? Where's Darcy's coffin with a bit of Pemberley terra firma thrown in?

    I will attempt to forestall any reproof and readily admit that I admire Amanda Grange's courage and creativity. The novel was a bold move that unfortunately did not quite fulfill my expectations.

    Laurel Ann, Austenprose

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    Negi(the Springfield kind)

    Hi everyones! Im totally back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    Logan

    A figure apears. He is wearing a tatterd leather jacket with red lining and black jeans with a chian link belt. Covering his spikey blond hair was a black fedora with a red underneath, tilted to hide his blood red eyes. On his feet he wears black combat boots with chains. When he speaks his voice is smooth and mysterious. "Hear this is the place to be" he says brandishing his fangs. "Was i wrong?"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Unknown

    The demon boy with black blood sits alone. He sighs. The demon inside it cmes onto his back d punches his head. Hey stop it ragnarock that hurts. The demon laughs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Victoria

    *walks in and sighs*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    Marshall

    He rolled his eyes." Hey, dude, I dont know what ur talking about." He told Logan. Marcy floated around while playing her bass guitar.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    To all!!!

    Xenia is locked out!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Dawson

    He watches Kala and Attis and Kovu. He wonders what it will take for Kala to remember them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Twiilight

    "Do you remember me?" She asked Kala. "The day i started this rp you wanted to fight Dawson but he wouldn't fight you so i said i would fight you instead & you got bore & fell asleep. Do you remember that?" |~•Twilight Suns•~|

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Yue

    Camp now at 'Vamp' result one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 117 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6