Customer Reviews for

Mr. Darcy Vampyre

Average Rating 3
( 116 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Great and well written. I loved the description and the places s

Great and well written. I loved the description and the places she visited. Some scenes were exiting. finished it in half a day.

posted by doggis on September 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

If you are a Vampire fan you might want to pass on this

My dearest sister Jane, Well, what a crock, as they say in 21st century America! I've had to delve a full 250 pages into Mr. Darcy Vampyre to find out what was going to happen to us. And then the plot was so rushed and jumbled that I never did received an adequate expla...
My dearest sister Jane, Well, what a crock, as they say in 21st century America! I've had to delve a full 250 pages into Mr. Darcy Vampyre to find out what was going to happen to us. And then the plot was so rushed and jumbled that I never did received an adequate explanation of how vampyres came to be, or what exactly Mr. Darcy ate in order to survive for 150 years. Upon my honor, Jane, I am aware that men are not particularly conversant when it comes to giving out details, but I'd had no notion that Mr. Darcy suffered from a verbal disability. He could not for the life of him adequately explain his strange tale. In describing one of the most important events of his life - that of turning into a vampyre - he took all of 21 words. (STOP!: Major Spoiler Alert: "The woman turned to me, her fangs dripping red and then she was next to me and my neck was pierced").

Ms. Anne Rice took pages to describe the writhing tormenting death that humans go through to turn into vampyres, and even Ms. Stephanie Meyers hinted that the transformation was quite unpleasantly painful, but all I got from Mr. Darcy was twenty one itty bitty little words. In addition he made it sound as if turning into a vampyre was an ordinary event, with Mrs. Reynolds, the housekeeper, choosing to join the merry Pemberley vampyre band, although, to give Ms. Grange her due, my husband's face WAS shadowed as he related these events.

Any discerning reader knows that Ms. Meyers can't write her way out of a paper bag, but at least with Twilight she told a rousing good tale. Ms. Meyers also gave the reader ample glimpses of Edward Cullen's mental torment and extraordinary physical skills. Ms Grange's story of my life with Mr. Darcy is, frankly, missing the otherworldly touches and sensuality that vampyre fans have come to expect as their due. (Either that or humor, which is also absent. And you know how I am renowned for my BITING wit, hah!) Her hints about my husband are so thinly scattered in 5/6th of the book that they left me feeling confused rather than threatened. To say that suspense was lacking in our tale is to state the obvious. In the instances when Ms. Grange eschewed Bram Stoker's lore, her vampyre rules seemed jerry-rigged, for they sprung up from nowhere, unsupported by a well thought-out back story. I could never quite tell (except in a few meagre scenes at the end) which super powers my husband had supposedly acquired, how ancient vampyres ruled their vampyre empire, or how conflicted Mr. Darcy felt watching those he loved grow old and die whilst he lived on forever.

Never was a more sensual and sensuous vampyre created than The Vampire Lestat, and I felt that my Mr. Darcy deserved at the very least the rich, decadent and multi-layered descriptions that Anne Rice gave to her own vampire. But it was not to be. There was a lot of telling in this book, but very little showing, and scent and touch were largely missing. Ms. Grange turned Mr. Darcy into a milque toast vampyre when I frankly would have preferred someone darker. There's more but I have run out of room. For a good vampire story I recommend the products sitting below. Mr. Darcy and I are headed for England and the hallowed halls of Pemberley, for I am genuinely concerned about your last letter. Your cryptic statement informing me that our friends the Misses Dashwood were abducted by a giant octopus leaves me leaves me most anxious to use my zombie slayer warrior skills to save them. Love, Lizzie

posted by VicJA on August 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not good

    After reading Grange's Mr. Darcy's Diary I thought that this would be similar, it wasn't. Just because vampires are the "thing" now doesn't mean that good writers should write about them. If you want a great book with Mr. Darcy as a vampire read Regina Jeffers book called Vampire Darcy's Desire.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2009

    Dragging and boring, no passion

    I was REALLy disappointed in this book, especially with a topic that could have made it unique and interesting. The story dragged greatly and I felt sorry for Elizabeth and all that she had to put up with in this story. Not recommended for P&P fans or vampire fans.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Would not recommend

    The story did not have any plot twists to grab the readers attention. It is the authors version of a vampire sequel to a great classic. It seems more like trying to cash in on the vampire craze at the moment. Has potential but didn't deliver.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    Not great, quick read

    Found the story to be simple and plot development lacking. The book did not stay true to Elizabeth's or Mr. Darcy's personalities from Pride & Prejudice. If you are a Jane Austin fan like me, you will not likely be a fan of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not very good

    This was a very disappointing read. Elizabeth is totaly out of charater. Don't waste your time on this one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2010

    the summary on this site.

    i was reading the summary for this site, for this book, and i noticed that there was a spelling mistake. well, not spelling exactly... it was a grammar mistake, there was a missing comma. i am very disappointed B&N.

    Kimberly O'Sullivan
    thirteen years of age

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Another One

    This is another book I did not buy. I am unable to review it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2010

    Wish I'd read the other reviews!

    This was my first continuation of a Jane Austin Classic. Probably my last. It was boring,horrible drivel. I finished it only because I thought it might get better, it didn't. I'll stick to the classics. What Jane Austin has is charm and the intelligent use of the English language. This book contained none of that beauty. Yes, the author does describe the landscape well,but if I wanted a tour of Europe I would read Steve Ricks Travel books at least he's interesting!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2009

    Hated It!

    This book is so boring you want to throw it at a wall! No sex, no plot, and no magic. Save your money.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A shame...

    Ms. Grange could have done so much more with this. She had a great premise but fell short. It's a shame because I have enjoyed her other books; she just dropped the ball on this one. Pass this one up. This is my first ever customer review, and I'm not someone inclined to do reviews, but this was so bad I had to warn everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Jane Austen meets Indiana Jones

    I was really excited about reading this book. I am a big fan of Pride and Prejudice variations and sequals. I also really enjoyed Grange's Mr Darcy's Diary. I was sadly disapointed. The book was OK with one or two exciting scenes where you didn't want to put the bood down. They were short-lived. The ending was absolutely rediculous. It was Jane Austen meets Indiana Jones. Just picture Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade. Right after they find the Holy Grail. That is exactly how the book ended. This was the absolute worst Pride and Prejudice sequal I have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    why did I waste my time

    I bought this book thinking it would be a really cool sequel to a beloved classic. What an intersting twist to have Mr Darcy turn out to be a Vampyre. I was wrong, the whole of the book consists of Elizabeth and Darcy on thier wedding tour, traveling from country to country meeting new characters. All of these events lead up to Elizabeth finding out Darcy is a vampyre. The attempt to make this even possible by playing in georgiana as well as lady catherine and her daughter Anne, stating that Lady cathering turned both Darcy and Georgiana into vampyres when they were young children so they could never age, then how in the world did they grow into adults?!! The whole of the book was slow paced following up to a very runtogether ending. Very dissapointing I would not recomend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Disappointing

    I bought this book the day it hit the book stands after seeing it in a magazine article, but it was ridiculous! I own other Grange books (the diaries - Darcy's, Wentworth's, Mr. Knightley, Col. Brandon), but I was so bored with this one, I considered sending it sailing across the room. Evidently, Grange can write if she uses Austen's original work as her guideline, but she has trouble stepping outside the box. What I hated was how stupid Elizabeth Bennet was in the book. In Austen's work, Darcy is attracted to Elizabeth's quick wit. In this one, she could not figure out anything. It was as if she had a negative IQ. Darcy finds out on his wedding day he must turn Elizabeth over to the "king of the vampires." Really!!! There are references to Polidori, who wrote one of the first vampire stories based on Lord Byron, but in this, he is Darcy's relative, living in an old castle. When the villagers with torches (shades of Frankenstein) come to burn down the castle, Darcy and Elizabeth sneak out the back and end up riding mules over the Alps into Italy. Really!!! Everywhere they go, Darcy has another piece of property where they can stay. Everywhere they go, they are surrounded by vampires living within society, even in Vienna where they are "banned." The lava comes from the floor of the ancient ruins that Darcy once played in as a child. Then the water seeps up to stop the fire. It comes to his neck to wash away the vampire marks. Is he not holding Elizabeth in his arms at the time? Would she not be under water if the water comes to his chin line? Oops! I guess no one thought of that. This is a hodge podge of every possible gimmick of which Grange can think to put in the book. I was so disappointed in the writing and the concept. The idea of Darcy or Wickham or Willoughby as vampires has real potential. There is another such book coming out in October. I read the early promos, and it has good reviews. I sure hope so. This was pure trash! I am going to add as a recommendation the other book coming out, along with others by the same author. Maybe it will meet out expectations. I read two of them, and they are excellent Austen sequels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1