Customer Reviews for

Mr. Darcy Vampyre

Average Rating 3
( 117 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Great and well written. I loved the description and the places s

Great and well written. I loved the description and the places she visited. Some scenes were exiting. finished it in half a day.

posted by doggis on September 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

If you are a Vampire fan you might want to pass on this

My dearest sister Jane, Well, what a crock, as they say in 21st century America! I've had to delve a full 250 pages into Mr. Darcy Vampyre to find out what was going to happen to us. And then the plot was so rushed and jumbled that I never did received an adequate expla...
My dearest sister Jane, Well, what a crock, as they say in 21st century America! I've had to delve a full 250 pages into Mr. Darcy Vampyre to find out what was going to happen to us. And then the plot was so rushed and jumbled that I never did received an adequate explanation of how vampyres came to be, or what exactly Mr. Darcy ate in order to survive for 150 years. Upon my honor, Jane, I am aware that men are not particularly conversant when it comes to giving out details, but I'd had no notion that Mr. Darcy suffered from a verbal disability. He could not for the life of him adequately explain his strange tale. In describing one of the most important events of his life - that of turning into a vampyre - he took all of 21 words. (STOP!: Major Spoiler Alert: "The woman turned to me, her fangs dripping red and then she was next to me and my neck was pierced").

Ms. Anne Rice took pages to describe the writhing tormenting death that humans go through to turn into vampyres, and even Ms. Stephanie Meyers hinted that the transformation was quite unpleasantly painful, but all I got from Mr. Darcy was twenty one itty bitty little words. In addition he made it sound as if turning into a vampyre was an ordinary event, with Mrs. Reynolds, the housekeeper, choosing to join the merry Pemberley vampyre band, although, to give Ms. Grange her due, my husband's face WAS shadowed as he related these events.

Any discerning reader knows that Ms. Meyers can't write her way out of a paper bag, but at least with Twilight she told a rousing good tale. Ms. Meyers also gave the reader ample glimpses of Edward Cullen's mental torment and extraordinary physical skills. Ms Grange's story of my life with Mr. Darcy is, frankly, missing the otherworldly touches and sensuality that vampyre fans have come to expect as their due. (Either that or humor, which is also absent. And you know how I am renowned for my BITING wit, hah!) Her hints about my husband are so thinly scattered in 5/6th of the book that they left me feeling confused rather than threatened. To say that suspense was lacking in our tale is to state the obvious. In the instances when Ms. Grange eschewed Bram Stoker's lore, her vampyre rules seemed jerry-rigged, for they sprung up from nowhere, unsupported by a well thought-out back story. I could never quite tell (except in a few meagre scenes at the end) which super powers my husband had supposedly acquired, how ancient vampyres ruled their vampyre empire, or how conflicted Mr. Darcy felt watching those he loved grow old and die whilst he lived on forever.

Never was a more sensual and sensuous vampyre created than The Vampire Lestat, and I felt that my Mr. Darcy deserved at the very least the rich, decadent and multi-layered descriptions that Anne Rice gave to her own vampire. But it was not to be. There was a lot of telling in this book, but very little showing, and scent and touch were largely missing. Ms. Grange turned Mr. Darcy into a milque toast vampyre when I frankly would have preferred someone darker. There's more but I have run out of room. For a good vampire story I recommend the products sitting below. Mr. Darcy and I are headed for England and the hallowed halls of Pemberley, for I am genuinely concerned about your last letter. Your cryptic statement informing me that our friends the Misses Dashwood were abducted by a giant octopus leaves me leaves me most anxious to use my zombie slayer warrior skills to save them. Love, Lizzie

posted by VicJA on August 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good read.

    This is another book I was unsure of when I first saw it. I didn't like the idea of one of literature's greatest heroes being turned into a vampire. Though, I must say the idea is far better than randomly throwing zombies into Jane Austen's actual work. The creator of THAT monstrosity should be ashamed of themselves. However, this book .. I must give credit where credit is due. The author took a very well known story and rewrote it to make the whole vampire thing work. Mr. Darcy definitely beats Rice's Lestat and Meyer's Edward hands down in the sexy vamp category. I definitely recommend this book to any Jane Austen fan who might be looking for something a little different than the every day P&P variation.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2015

    Kala

    :/

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    Ok

    Was an ok read. Not alot of excitement.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Well written and engaging. I thoroughly enjoyed the book. It too

    Well written and engaging. I thoroughly enjoyed the book. It took awhile for the plot to develop but once it did it was well worth the wait. I can't wait to read her other books!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A sequel with a dark twist

    As Elizabeth Bennett anticipates her marriage to Mr. Darcy, she imagines a life of quiet comfort and domestic felicity as mistress of Pemberley. She has no idea what mysteries and adventures are in store for her as his wife, or of the dark secret that her betrothed carries. The mysteries begin on her wedding day and continue to plague her until Darcy's secret is revealed to her. While readers will not be surprised about Darcy's true nature, given that it is revealed in the title, Mr. Darcy, Vampyre will still lead them on an exciting journey with two of literature's most beloved characters. Grange's novel begins on the morning of Elizabeth's and Darcy's wedding. After a lovely double ceremony with Jane and Bingley, they embark on their wedding tour. In the first of his many puzzling actions, Darcy abruptly changes their destination from the Lake District of England to Paris, and his strange behavior continues on their journey to Dover and across the Channel. Upon reaching Paris, they attend parties and enjoy their time together as man and wife. Yet even amid the lovely scenery and new fashions of Paris, which Grange describes in beautiful detail, Darcy often seems disturbed and Elizabeth cannot understand his unhappiness. Darcy proposes a trip to see his uncle in the French Alps, where he hopes to get advice on a problem, the nature of which he will not reveal. The Count's dark and ancient castle, surrounded by forests full of wolves, proves a cold and dispiriting place for Elizabeth, and she begins to believe her marriage to Darcy was a mistake. An attack on the castle by a peasant mob forces the two of them to flee, and they cross the Alps on mules and escape to Italy. A respite in Venice leads to an invitation to a prince's country estate, where a strange, mesmerizing man shows his interest in Elizabeth. A violent encounter between him and Darcy finally reveals Darcy's secret to Elizabeth. Her surprise is overshadowed by relief, as she finally understands the reason for all of Darcy's strange behavior. A search for a possible cure for Darcy's condition leads them on a final adventure, promising hope that they can truly be man and wife. Mr. Darcy, Vampyre is an exciting and energetic read. Grange's plot is full of imaginative twists and turns, full of more action and danger than Elizabeth could ever have imagined experiencing in her quiet world of Hertfordshire. Elizabeth remains as spirited and likeable as ever, and Darcy's macabre secret is fitting for his proud and taciturn personality. Grange describes the exotic locales vividly, conjuring lovely images of cultured Paris salons or the wild beauty of the Alps. Her adaptation of the vampire mythology is original and interesting. While few, if any, could match the greatness of Austin's writing in Pride and Prejudice, Mr. Darcy, Vampyre is still an entertaining story, and fans of both Austin's works and vampire stories should find it highly enjoyable. Quill says: A sequel to a timeless classic with a dark twist, Mr. Darcy, Vampyre combines history, romance, danger, and fashion in an adventure as lively and charming as Elizabeth herself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Pretty good but...

    Elizabeth and Darcy are on their wedding tour and she notices that her husband is hiding a secret but what could it be? There are references to Pride and Prejudice. While it was well written, it did get slow at times and the ending seemed to just go by. I don't know. It seemed a little disappointing. I was thinking, that's it? If you like books with vampires or any of Jane Austen's books then you'll probably like this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Mr. Darcy. Vampyre

    I picked this up fromt he Jane Austen table at my local B&N while I was shopping for some other books, I am slowly reading through Ms. Austen's books and I thought this would be a new interesting take on things, plus I love vampire books! This book is written in todays english, so if you find the writing style for other Jane Austen novels difficult to follow you won;t have that problem with this read. It gives a uique spin to the reelationship b/w Elizabeth and Darcy and what happened after happily ever after. I think this is a great rainy day in between other books read, it kept my attention and I really enjoyed the story and the way the author handled the characters. This is not a very "vampirey" story so don't expect any Anne Rice or J.R. Ward types scenes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    Can you ever go wrong with Elizabeth and Darcy????

    I really did enjoy this book. Read it in about a day and felt right at home with the characters. Here is my only criticism...the end seemed rushed to wrap everything up. You spend PAGE after PAGE after PAGE knowing what Elizabeth apparently doesn't and then in an instant, ta-dah, she knows everything and you are at the end. This really is a great "Oh great its raining outside" book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Wow Of A Book

    This book was totaly unexpected, extreamly original and beautifuly written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Looking for an old fashioned romance with a dash of vampire? Mr. Darcy, Vampyre is the latest on Austen's beloved characters

    Synopsis:

    Mr. Darcy, Vampyre continues the stories of Jane Austen's main characters from Pride and Prejudice from the night before the double wedding of Fitzwilliam Darcy to Elizabeth Bennett and of Charles Bingley to Jane Bennett.

    After the ceremony, Elizabeth and Darcy head to Europe for their honeymoon. As Darcy introduces Elizabeth to his friends and experiences in the continent, something feels wrong to Elizabeth. Unsure about the source of her misgivings, Elizabeth begins to wonder about the strength of their bond to each other. Through Elizabeth's letters to her sister Jane, we learn of Elizabeth's increasing anxiety. While there are hints that the problems between Darcy and Elizabeth are of an unusual nature, Amanda Grange's depiction of their characters remains similar to Austen's original.


    Review:

    This is Amanda Grange's latest entry into the creative interpretation of Pride and Prejudice and my first time to read a creative interpretation of this sort. To be honest, I wasn't sure how much of a purist I would turn out to be. I enjoyed reading Amanda Grange's characterization of Elizabeth and Darcy because she captured their personalities and interaction so well. For those willing to imagine Elizabeth and Darcy taking an odd turn into an alternative reality, this book is an enjoyable read. You have your beloved characters in a new setting.

    I highly recommend Mr. Darcy, Vampyre to those who enjoyed Pride and Prejudice and would be interested in exploring different directions that Elizabeth and Darcy might take, particularly those who enjoy vampire stories along the lines of Anne Rice.

    Publisher: Sourcebooks Landmark (August 1, 2009), 320 pages.

    Courtesy of Sourcebooks Landmark.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2