Customer Reviews for

Mr. Darcy's Daughters

Average Rating 3.5
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

fan

I thought that this was a great book. although the language was rather diffrent than that that austen would have used herself i thought that this was a good book. Somethings did not quite add up with pride and predjudice I think that it as written well and that the auth...
I thought that this was a great book. although the language was rather diffrent than that that austen would have used herself i thought that this was a good book. Somethings did not quite add up with pride and predjudice I think that it as written well and that the author just did another interpretation of chracters. Although col. Fitwilliam's ignorance of his neices really bothers me. I don't think someone that was so attracted to elizabeth would have acted that way. Overall i thought that this was a great book and I look forward to reading more of Aston's novels.

posted by Anonymous on March 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

A Very Disappointed Jane Austen Fan!!

Originality? Nonexistant. Welcome to a practically plagiarized version of Pride and Prejudice taking place twenty years later. Harsh - I know, but true. There is almost a 100 percent lack of originality that I find alarming. Here, let me show you. There are 5 Benn...
Originality? Nonexistant. Welcome to a practically plagiarized version of Pride and Prejudice taking place twenty years later. Harsh - I know, but true. There is almost a 100 percent lack of originality that I find alarming. Here, let me show you. There are 5 Bennet daughters...sound familiar? One of them is serious and proper, two are obscenely flirtatious, one is witty and charming, and another is a music devotee. One of them even elopes. Frankly, there is no concept of originality. Also, though Pride & Prejudice is rather light-hearted, we learn the results of a nonsensical mother and a "laisse-faire" practicing father. But Lizzy and Darcy are not the types to have neglected their children's education and upbringing. Also, Darcy's cousin Fitzwilliam seems the POLAR OPPOSITE of the original character. What was the author thinking?? I haven't read any of her other novels, (why bother?) so I can't give an informed review on them. But I certainly have no good things to say about this one. I don't expect the Jane Austin magic in a modern writer, but I DO expect the "spirit" in attempted sequels. If you want some good modern adaptations of JA novels, I recommend reading Debra White Smith!!

posted by JoannaTX on October 31, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2008

    It was good

    I wouldn't believe that this book was written by Jane Austen, because It's in a more informal, modern writing. But it shows similarities to pride and prejudice and the relationship between Wyttin and Camilla is a great. He is a fool who doesn't know who he's in love with, and she's a headstrong girl who knows she's in love but insists that she doesn't want to hurt anyone. It's amazing how many times the darcys come close to ruin.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2008

    fan

    I thought that this was a great book. although the language was rather diffrent than that that austen would have used herself i thought that this was a good book. Somethings did not quite add up with pride and predjudice I think that it as written well and that the author just did another interpretation of chracters. Although col. Fitwilliam's ignorance of his neices really bothers me. I don't think someone that was so attracted to elizabeth would have acted that way. Overall i thought that this was a great book and I look forward to reading more of Aston's novels.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2006

    A good sequel to Pride and Prejudice

    This book was given to me as a gift by someone who knows of my love for novels by Jane Austen. I have read a few sequels before and at times have been utterly disappointed. In this case, I was not. While it was predictable in the matches and attitudes of each of the daughters, it was still an enjoyable read. The language was not exactly the right time period, but it was close enough and was easy to understand. I was slightly disappointed that Darcy and Elizabeth did not make an appearance, but perhaps it was better that way. Many authors writing sequels to Pride and Prejudice don't get Darcy and Elizabeth right and it is better to leave them out all together if it isn't going to be right. The plot was pleasing and the characters were engaging. Elizabeth Aston did an admirable job with this novel and I am looking forward to reading the next novel in the series. If you must read a sequel to Pride and Prejudice, let it be this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2004

    A 'beach' read for the Masterpiece Theater crowd

    If you enjoy tales of Regency England, I recommend this book. Not really a sequel to Pride and Prejudice , it is its own novel that uses Austen's characters. Aston is extremely well researched and her depiction of the time period is accurate, although her plot was most certainly written for a modern audience. While some of the more scandalous plot lines were certainly NOT out of place for the time period (ie, there really were homosexuals in the early 19th century), they most definitely would never have been written about by a regency author. Luckily, Elizabeth and Darcy do not appear in the novel at all, so we are not forced into a comparison with Austen herself. Mr. Darcy's Daughters is a good, fun, quick read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2007

    I though it was good.

    While yes it was a little untrue to some of the original p&p characters I still thought it was a great book. I think she changed Mrs. Gardner quite a bit but I mean her daughter is older now and about to married and time has passed, people can change over time. Col. Fitzwilliams change was pretty crazy, and I can't really see him being the way she portrayed him at all. I guess having children and being twice married could change some of his views though. As for it being basically the same premise of p&p I think that was the point, giving the old classic a fresh spin and more scandal. I like the sisters characters even Gerogina and Belle, because even though they are somewhat like the Bennet sisters they are completely different and I kind of liked the Darcy sisters better. I loved the book even though the ending was a little rushed to me, But all in all it was a good read and I'll probably take it up many times more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2007

    Fun, Fun, Fun

    I loved this book! I haven't actually read Pride & Prejudice yet but I have seen all of the screen adaptations of Jane Austen's work and I am a huge fan! The book was light and fun and brought back some of the characters from Pride and Prejudice. There was a bit of scandel and the love match that I predicted and wanted to happen did. I have already started the next book about the youngest Darcy daugher.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2006

    Extremely entertaining!

    I found this book extremely entertaining. Although hard to imagine it to be a true sequel to Pride and Prejudice,it picks up the same topic of a woman's place in a 19th century society that Jane Austen started and, I have to give credit to the author, the book is still very well written and shows a plot sufficiently enthrolling to make it worthwhile to spend 3 days with this book. I absolutely recommend this or other books of these series to any fan of 19th century life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2006

    Darcy's Daughters: What happened after the Pride and Prejudice Fairy tale

    i enjoyed Darcy's Daughters because it reminded me a lot of Elizabeth's life and her dealings with her siblings. Camilla is very much like Elizabeth Bennet who is always fun to read about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2003

    Not what I expected but good nonetheless

    I definietly enjoyed the book as a novel but it wasn't a very accurate sequel to Pride and Prejudice. Though the characters were enjoyable and true to their time, they were not up to Austen's standard. Elizabeth would never have raised daughters like the ones portrayed in the book (except Camilla). Although I don't think it a great sequel to P&P, I do think it a great read as a separate novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2003

    Satisfies the Sequel Enthusiast

    I was very leary of reading a sequel to Jane Austen's literary masterpiece, 'Pride and Prejudice', however I took my chances with 'Mr. Darcy's Daughters.' Ms. Aston, the author of Mr. Darcy's Daughters, did a wonderful job of staying true to the spirit of Austen's beloved and most hated characters. It was a true delight to get acquainted with the Darcy Daughters. You will not be disappointed with this truly well written novel. I read it in one day, you will have a hard time putting it down once you start it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1