Customer Reviews for

Mr. Darcy's Refuge: A Pride & Prejudice Variation

Average Rating 4
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

This latest Pemberly Variation was simply delightful, rife with

This latest Pemberly Variation was simply delightful, rife with humor
and drama. I alternated between laughing, sighing and tearing my hair
out in exasperation.Poor Darcy and Elizabeth are trapped at the Hunsford
parsonage when the river overflows after being interrupte...
This latest Pemberly Variation was simply delightful, rife with humor
and drama. I alternated between laughing, sighing and tearing my hair
out in exasperation.Poor Darcy and Elizabeth are trapped at the Hunsford
parsonage when the river overflows after being interrupted in the midst
of Darcy's dreadful proposal. Once the hullabaloo dies down a little,
Darcy is under the misapprehension that Elizabeth had been on the verge
of saying yes, which makes things a little awkward. When she sets him
straight, things get a little tense...and that's before it gets really
interesting. I love how you see a great deal more of Col. Fitzwilliam
in this story that usual. Caught between Elizabeth and Darcy, then Darcy
and Mr. Bennet...as well as between some other people I won't mention
for fear of spoilers, you feel rather sorry for the poor man. Other
favorites of mine were Mr. and Mrs. Gardiner, both of whom managed to be
quite devious and lovable. You get to see a harsher side to Mr. Bennet
and, surprisingly, to Mr. Bingley, which I found quite interesting. My
only very small complaint is that this book should have been longer. The
beginning was just a trifle rushed, but mostly I just didn't want it to
end so soon. I would have been very happy with another 200-300 pages so
I could just wallow in the delicious romance. Anyone who loves
Austenesque re-tellings will love Mr. Darcy's Refuge. Sweet, funny, and
absolutely lovely, I can foresee reading this again and again, just as I
do most of Abigail Reynolds' books. This is not to be missed.

posted by LiederMadchen on August 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

This book starts out in an interesting way but then descends int

This book starts out in an interesting way but then descends into the usual wallowing in sex  and heaving bosoms usually found in most  third rate historical novels.  The most dramatic and interesting section of the book is when Elizbeth and Darcy are trapped on the oth...
This book starts out in an interesting way but then descends into the usual wallowing in sex  and heaving bosoms usually found in most  third rate historical novels.  The most dramatic and interesting section of the book is when Elizbeth and Darcy are trapped on the other side of the river from Rosings.  They are left to contend with various difficulties where an opportunity to fully devleop their characters.  This was wasted as the author or her editors needed to rush onto the very sudden decision by Elizabeth to marry Mr. Darcy.  There is not the gradual dawning of self-awareness that Austen gives us but rather the need by this author to get onto the heaving bosoms section of the plot thqt takes up the rest of the book.  This is distracting from the plot, which was a good premise but wasted.  Mr. Darcy and Elizabeth spend the rest of the book either pining for each other or anticipating more bosom-heaving sessions.  It ends up squandering very good opportunities for a better book.

posted by arosebyanyothername on May 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This latest Pemberly Variation was simply delightful, rife with

    This latest Pemberly Variation was simply delightful, rife with humor
    and drama. I alternated between laughing, sighing and tearing my hair
    out in exasperation.Poor Darcy and Elizabeth are trapped at the Hunsford
    parsonage when the river overflows after being interrupted in the midst
    of Darcy's dreadful proposal. Once the hullabaloo dies down a little,
    Darcy is under the misapprehension that Elizabeth had been on the verge
    of saying yes, which makes things a little awkward. When she sets him
    straight, things get a little tense...and that's before it gets really
    interesting. I love how you see a great deal more of Col. Fitzwilliam
    in this story that usual. Caught between Elizabeth and Darcy, then Darcy
    and Mr. Bennet...as well as between some other people I won't mention
    for fear of spoilers, you feel rather sorry for the poor man. Other
    favorites of mine were Mr. and Mrs. Gardiner, both of whom managed to be
    quite devious and lovable. You get to see a harsher side to Mr. Bennet
    and, surprisingly, to Mr. Bingley, which I found quite interesting. My
    only very small complaint is that this book should have been longer. The
    beginning was just a trifle rushed, but mostly I just didn't want it to
    end so soon. I would have been very happy with another 200-300 pages so
    I could just wallow in the delicious romance. Anyone who loves
    Austenesque re-tellings will love Mr. Darcy's Refuge. Sweet, funny, and
    absolutely lovely, I can foresee reading this again and again, just as I
    do most of Abigail Reynolds' books. This is not to be missed.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    This book starts out in an interesting way but then descends int

    This book starts out in an interesting way but then descends into the usual wallowing in sex  and heaving bosoms usually found in most  third rate historical novels.  The most dramatic and interesting section of the book is when Elizbeth and Darcy are trapped on the other side of the river from Rosings.  They are left to contend with various difficulties where an opportunity to fully devleop their characters.  This was wasted as the author or her editors needed to rush onto the very sudden decision by Elizabeth to marry Mr. Darcy.  There is not the gradual dawning of self-awareness that Austen gives us but rather the need by this author to get onto the heaving bosoms section of the plot thqt takes up the rest of the book.  This is distracting from the plot, which was a good premise but wasted.  Mr. Darcy and Elizabeth spend the rest of the book either pining for each other or anticipating more bosom-heaving sessions.  It ends up squandering very good opportunities for a better book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    Disappointing

    The story line is amusing but the characters bear so little resemblance to the Austen's characters that the only relationship to P&P is the characters' names. Also, Reynolds must get some steamy sex in no matter what and it seems more forced in this effort than in the other variation I read, "Fitzwilliam Darcy, Gentleman."
    If you love P&P you will find this book annoying. If you like reading Regency romance you'll find it tolerable. Some good editing would improve the book. There are many errors (words left out, wrong words, misspellings, continuity issues, etc.)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    BNME143

    I've read a buttload of P & P sequels but this version, by far, is one of my favorites! I particularly like the twist in Jane's love interest.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    GOOOD BOOK

    I have read most of this author's books. I love her writing. This was a good book but the epilogue was not complete. Many characters are neglected.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2014

    I cannot express in enough words how much I love this book! My m

    I cannot express in enough words how much I love this book! My mother bought it for me for my birthday and I wasnt too excited about it since I am a huge Pride and Prejudice fan and picky about spin offs. This however was amazing! I couldnt put it down! Darcy's devotion was inspiring even when he was refused and still striving to do right by her when it would have been all too easy to throw his hands up and back away! And Elizabeth slowly falling in love with him after fate rips them apart! *Dreamy Sigh* I cant rave enough about this book! First Abigail Reynolds book I picked up and I am now a huge fan! Cant wait for my next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    F

    YhvbbhfTahtvvicociirwbn

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Jane Austen fans: A Mr. Darcy story she might have written!

    A person who loves reading every Jane Austen novel over and over again--and Pride & Prejudice much more than that--is usually tempted to read any "knockoff" available in print. There's never enough of Mr. Darcy (or Captain Wentworth of Persuasion, for that matter) to satisfy. I must say this one written by Abigail Reynolds is the best Mr. Darcy knockoff on the market! It's actually written a la Jane Austen style, and I can't wait to read another of her renditions!

    The characters are the same, but she takes such fun twists with the story that I must say--and this is so bad to say--that she eclipses Jane! I absolutely love the ending involving Jane Bennet! So preferable to the original! Don't miss this for your next Darcy fix!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Wow!

    To be honest, this book took me about 3 days to finish reading. Why?. Because this book is soooooo good that I did not want it to end!!! I was so excited while I read it and the only problem I had was with Jane's end. I was happy for her of course.. but I truly did not expect it!. Great book and I hope Abigail Reynolds keeps writing this amazing books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Loved it

    Abigail Reynolds is trully a master story-teller. I fell in love with Darcy all over again as he tries to protect Elizabeth during the storms.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    Not her best

    I was so excited to read the latest from this author but the story was rather tedious and there was just not enough lizzy and darcy!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1