Customer Reviews for

Mr. Darcy's Undoing

Average Rating 3.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Mr. Darcy's Undoing

    Abigail Reynolds is well know for her 'what if' alternate versions of Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen. She takes the beloved characters of Austen and twists and turns the story to shake up their path to love. In Mr. Darcy's Undoing Reynolds picks up the story following Mr. Darcy's disastrous proposal. Elizabeth returns home to Longbourn and realizes that it will fall upon her to make a good marriage to help her family in the event that her father passes away. Elizabeth accepts the offer of a long time friend, Mr. Covington.
    Mr. Darcy realizes the mistake he's made in his actions towards Elizabeth and her family. He decides to try to rectify his actions by proving to Elizabeth that he's a changed man. However when he shows up in Herfortshire he realizes that he might lose Elizabeth forever.
    Reynolds takes this classic story in a new direction where she covers themes such as jealousy, sacrifice, love, and forgiveness. She also turns up the heat in the sensuality department between Elizabeth and Darcy. Although parts of this novel are a pure delight there are aspects of this book that are slightly lacking. Mr. Darcy has seemed to throw his principles to the wind and give up all his propriety. Mr. Darcy and Elizabeth's personality did a complete one-eighty. I'm a huge fan of Abigail Reynolds but this book is not my favorite.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Disappointed and Disgusted

    Although the story line started out nice, I became disappointed by the middle of the book and disgusted by the end. Austen's characters would never have acted in such as way as Reynolds portrayed them. I'm glad Jane Austen isn't around to read this trash.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Home Run For Reynolds

    I’ve been a fan of Abigail Reynolds for several years now, having read almost everything that she’s published so far. I was giddy with anticipation when I heard that her novel With Reserve was being tweaked and re-published by Sourcebooks with the new title, Mr. Darcy’s Undoing. As in her other novels, Reynolds re-tells Pride and Prejudice by changing a piece of the plot, to create a new outcome.

    In her work, Reynolds explores what many die-hard Austenites would consider high treason: having Lizzy accept a proposal other than that of Mr. Darcy’s. Realizing that none of her sisters have any marriage prospects, Elizabeth accepts a proposal to the bland Mr. Covington, after her disastrous meeting with Darcy in Kent. When they meet again Darcy is devastated by the news of her engagement, he must decide how far he is willing to go to win her affections back. Yet it is a time where such thoughts and actions would be considered truly scandalous. Would Darcy risk all in order to gain his true love? Will Elizabeth feel the same way, even though she would be doing the unthinkable by breaking her engagement?

    Reynolds’ books are always exciting to read, because I love what-if P&P variations. It’s exciting to see how very many paths fan fiction writers can find to take Elizabeth and Darcy down. This might be my favorite of Reynolds’ variations, because I really enjoyed the changes to Darcy and Elizabeth’s circumstances here. Elizabeth winds up breaking off her engagement to Mr. Covington, knowing that social circumstances will not allow her to accept another man in the future without being ostracized from “good” society. She realizes her true feelings for Darcy, and would rather be alone for the rest of her life as a spinster than marry a man she doesn’t love unconditionally. I respect her decision so much when put in the context of that time period. She took the road less traveled, facing the judgement of her family, friends, and peers, knowing that they would turn against her after the broken engagement. The Darcy we see is willing to go outside the boundaries of propriety for his heart’s true desire. He is a man in love, willing to do anything to gain the love and trust of his soul mate.

    The trials that Reynolds has them face are exhilarating to read, and had me exceedingly pleased with the outcome. Reynolds must be patted on the back for yet another job well done. (Be warned Austen purists, there are some romantic interludes present in the novel)

    Kimberly (Reflections of a Book Addict)

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    Not her best

    I enjoyed author's first couple of books the most. Try Mr Fitzwilliam Darcy and To Conquer Mr Darcy first. These have more complex story lines and more character interaction besides Lizzy and Darcy. Author has a nice writting style and good dialogue. But after reading ALL her other Darcy stories I am yarning to know other characters ie Jane and Bingley, Kitty and Mary, etc. The characters you love from the 'original' play minor roles in this book or just not there. Warning--there are SEVERAL sex encounters between our main characters but are tastefully written not as graphic in romance novels. Author uses very tame words to describe what is going on between L and D.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I have very mixed but mostly negative feelings with this book i

    I have very mixed but mostly negative feelings with this book in particular. I love these kinds of what ifs and sequels and I have ready MANY- the good books that I have read have one thing in common, the characters of Jane Austen stay true to their original nature, character traits and integrity. Though I understand some creative liberty is necessary when it comes to making a different verison of Pride and Prejudice, this book pushed those boundaries way out and lost it completely for me.
    Mr. Darcy and Elizabeth's love story is so intruging because it is covered in restraint, propriety, and only true love conquers all - thats what makes it interesting and special. This book borrowed too much from the taudry garbage of writers like Sharon Lathan and her Regency period porn contemporaries.

    Too bad, the story itself has a nice plot with Lizzy being engaged already and how all that turns out. But once it turns physical, it turns cheap and completely unrealistic for anyone, including Bingley, Jane, Col. Fitzwilliam etc... to act that way.
    Overall, sad to say this was pretty disappointing for a writer of talent such as Ms. Reynolds.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    For those who love Jane Austen's Pride & Prejudice...

    Abigail Reynolds is the best Jane Austen mimic! She embellishes the original Pride and Prejudice novel with variations of "what if?" and creates new novels with the spirit of Jane Austen's writing style! I have enjoyed each and every one of them, and Mr. Darcy's Undoing is just one of a number of them. If you loved the original novel by Jane Austen, you will enjoy all of Abigail Reynolds' versions!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1