Customer Reviews for

Mr. Fitzwilliam Darcy: The Last Man in the World

Average Rating 4
( 85 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted January 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great for Austen fans!

    Since I'm so attached to Lizzy and Darcy, naturally this book absorbed every bit of my attention. I liked how it switched from Elizabeth to Darcy's viewpoint and it was fun to see how each one thought of each other and what they thought after their quarrels. Sometimes it made me just want to smack myself because they just couldn't see eye to eye and you wanted to jump in and become the middle person in their arguements. Then there were parts where I wanted both of them in their own corners as if they were children and misbehaving. It was just filled with such emotional conflicts that you weren't sure how to feel towards both of them. There were also times where I just heaved a sigh of frustration because it just wasn't working out and it felt as if it was one thing after another and you're left with saying: "Oh jeez, now what???" but, I liked it. This book was excellent on tugging emotions left, right and center. I really liked both Elizabeth and Darcy in this book.

    Their character development was great. What I thought most interesting was, Georgiana, who wasn't really much in the book developed in character as well I actually liked that considering we don't really hear much about her anyway. However, naturally the main character development is within Elizabeth and Darcy and they develop nicely. Plotwise, I'd have to say there really isn't much of one. The real main focus is the development of the relationship between Elizabeth and Darcy. This might not sit well with others as plot driven novels can be essential to the story. I didn't mind, I was too engrossed in their relationship and what they went through to really pay attention to having no plot.

    The one thing that did bother me about the novel was Elizabeth's behavior. Where was her wit? her comments that had the subtle sarcasm that was her trademark? where was her inner strength and her ability to think things through clearly and cleverly? to me, Elizabeth wasn't really Elizabeth it was like as if that part of her personality was wrenched out from her. I wasn't really too crazy about this new Elizabeth in this book but I went along with it. There were parts in the book where she engaged in her banter with Darcy but it just wasn't the same. It bugged me but not the the extent that I had to stop the book and quit it altogether. There are a few romance scenes in here, but I was willing to read it through. It was acceptable for a non romance reader like me.

    Overall, if Elizabeth's personality change doesn't bother even the most hard core of Austen readers out there, then by all means pick this up. It'll tear you to pieces with emotions, that I can guarantee you. You either wanted to reach out to either confort or lecture these two. This is a great Jane Austen "What if" question, and a great novel to add to your Austen sequel collection.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Mr. Fitzwilliam Darcy

    I LOVED this book. I loved it because it took a different approach to Pride and Prejudice then other variations or sequels. Having Lizzie forced to marry Darcy before she realized she loved him was great (although it was sad when he found out she didn't love him). Watching them grow to realize they were perfect for each other was a wonderful reading experience. Those who read Pride and Prejudice sequels obviously do it for their love of Lizzie and Darcy. It was nice to read a refreshing different approach to their love story. I read this all in one sitting. I definitely recommend reading it!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2010

    BRAVO!!!

    The last Abigail Reynolds book I read was terrrible! I almost didn't buy this one, but I'm thankful the good reviews and sale price made me give in. By far this is one of my favorite P&P spin offs. Loved the twist of events from the original. Of course I must point out a negative. Once again Ms. Reynolds had to make the bedroom a little too steamy for my taste. At one point I had to minimize the font in fear that someone would read over my shoulder. It felt like I was reading a book with Fabio on the cover.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2010

    Loved it!

    When I first started reading I wasn't sure I would like it, but then it really got going, and I was completely hooked! It was a real page turner, and the writer has a wonderful grasp of the characters. I've read a number of Pride and Prejudice alternate reality books, and this is my favorite! I highly recommend it! I also recommend the third book in the Pamela Aiden series from Darcy's perspective regarding Elizabeth.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2010

    A great read - all 3 times

    The only reason I didn't read this a 4th time was that I had to get it back to the library in 14 days. And I should state that I never re-read books. I did need to go back and read Pride and Prejudice again, as I hadn't in several years, but this book is very true to the "essence" of the original characters and maintains the frustration and thrill of the original plot. Yet, it is intriguing to see what would happen to the characters you fell in love with, had they chosen a different path in the original book. Having read other P&P novels (including the dreadful Lathan ones), this is where you should be if you love Austen's characters and want to continue to "spend time" with them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    A variation of the most interesting sort

    This is an interesting take on Mr. Darcy's first proposal in "Pride and Prejudice." Here, Elizabeth is forced, against her better judgment, to accept Mr. Darcy and they end up married, with him besotted and her barely managing to play the dutiful wife. While this booked lacked the sparkle and wit of Ms. Reynold's "Impulse and Initiative" variation, it was still a good read that I devoured in one sitting.

    The good points: I think that based on what happened here, and knowing the past not related pulled from P&P, Lizzy and Darcy did act fairly as expected. Another review said that Lizzy was out of character, but her actions are explained by her anger at her situation and her lack of comprehension of Darcy's affection and her place at Pemberly. In order to settle into her position and to keep herself from upsetting her husband and entering into arguments with him, she stays quiet when they are together and loses her livlihood. This causes Darcy distress, of course, but for much of the book the two are too proud and presumptuous to talk to each other, which is true to the original as well. I wish that less of the book had focused on misunderstanding and silent seething, but in this variation (that being the key word), it works. I truly feel that this would be a likely scenario if Elizabeth had married, against her will, a man she did not understand and whose love for her she could not fathom.

    The bad: In a word, Georgiana. What possessed Ms. Reynolds to portray her as she does is a great mystery. Georgiana's words and behaviors, even with the explanations given, are so out of character and incomprehensible that I felt it was like reading about a new sister, not the shy, injured one was expect. Her presence and thoughts add little to the story, although the scene where Lizzy sets her right was enjoyable.

    All in all, if you love P&P and want to see what might have happeened, if ... then give this a try.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2013

    Excellent read! My eyes stung with tears more than once as I rea

    Excellent read! My eyes stung with tears more than once as I read this book. One cannot help but feel for both Lizzy and Fitzwilliam. Though all turns out well in the end, the journey is intense. One just can't keep from wanting to shake them both out of frustration.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2013

    I loved it!  I have read other sequels but this is by far my fav

    I loved it!  I have read other sequels but this is by far my favorite.  What if...are huge words and this perspective answers it wonderfully. I loved the character development of some of the lesser discussed characters. Wickam and Lydia, Georgianna, Col. Fitzwilliam, and even the staff at Pemberley. Well done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    Pretty good!

    I was pleasantly surprised by this book. Its not an Austen novel but it does a fine job of giving us Darcys point of view. Give it a try, I think you'll enjoy it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Grestv Great read

    What if Elizabeth said yes the first time?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    Decent

    Good writing style. Good finish to the original pand p.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    My favorite alternative P&P

    So, of course it's no where near as good as the original. With that said, this is a good romance, with lots of angst and a beautiful ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    I love fan fiction with a twist!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Mr. Fitzwilliam Darcy : The Last Man in the World

    This book was really well written and I felt that the book did a great job of describing the differences in how Elizabeth and Darcy might have misinterpreted things causing problems to arise and how they finally work things out. This book was a very interesting read that I enjoyed reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    Heartbreakingly+beautiful

    Just+as+other+reviewers+have+said%2C+keep+reading.+And+when+you+do%2C+you+won%27t+regret+any+of+the+time+you+spent+doing+so.+I+recommend+this+book+to+any+Jane+Austen+fan.+

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2011

    Hold Fast!

    There is so much to say that I could prattle on like Mr. Collins, but I will try to contain myself. This story might not please the hardcore Austen followers, but nonetheless it is an amazing story. I was truly curious on how the author would rewrite the proposal scene and I was not disappointed. The book takes off from there on a whirlwind of emotion. I must have cried through 3/4 of the book. Beware that it takes Elizabeth and Darcy to a very dark place and that their rough patches are worse than any other rendition. But when they come out on the otherside it is more beautiful than the original story. Their happily ever after completely balances out the rest if the book. This is not for the faint hearted, but I still want everyone to read it. Grab some kleenex and a stuffed animal and bunker down. I did not stop once I started and I am glad for it. I will most definitely read the other books this author has written. This book is totally and completely worth the buy and the emotional involvement. Just be sure to read something light and witty after. Cheers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    Nice reading, enjoyed it.

    Story line was entertaining. I considered it leisure time reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    Just okay.

    This wasn't as good as some of the other Pride and Prejudice variations I have read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    OMG

    I LOVED THIS BOOK

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5