Customer Reviews for

Mr. Hynde Is out of His Mind! (My Weird School Series #6)

Average Rating 4
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Good Book

Mr. Hynde Is Out of His Mind is a story about a weird music teacher. He won "American Idol." I liked when Mr. Hynde was drumming on the principal Mr. Klutz's head. Then he started rapping. This book is for people who like funny stories. --Tobias

posted by DDNY on July 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Utterly Inappropriate

My child's second grade teacher read this book aloud to her class. My
child liked the book and convinced me to buy it for him. While he was
reading the book silently in the back seat of the car, my child asked
me what the word "brown-noser" means. I was shocked. ...
My child's second grade teacher read this book aloud to her class. My
child liked the book and convinced me to buy it for him. While he was
reading the book silently in the back seat of the car, my child asked
me what the word "brown-noser" means. I was shocked. That evening I
read the book myself. To say that it is inappropriate for second
graders or any elementary school kids is an understatement as far as
I'm concerned.

Inappropriate/Offensive Language: The book contains three uses of
some form of the term "brown-noser." It also has a teacher say to a
2nd grade student, "How's it hangin'?" If you know the origins of
those terms, you know that they are wildly inappropriate for
elementary school kids. If you do not know the origin of those terms,
although they should be self-evident with just a bit of thought, look
them up on urbandictionary.com.

Violence: In addition to the offensive language, the book is full of
violent imagery. I counted at least five violent references, such as
hoping a piano falls on a girl's head, hoping a girl is crushed by a refrigerator, reference to a teacher being stuffed in a piano and dumped in the river, and a reference to torture.

Disrespect/Intolerance: In addition to the offensive language and
violent imagery, there are also off-handed disrespectful attitudes smugly put
forth about old people, as well as Indians who may be offended by the
use of the term sitting "Indian style."

Add it all up, and this is an obviously inappropriate book for any
elementary school aged child, let alone a second grader. I am amazed
that the publisher would publish this book and market it to elementary
school aged children.

posted by BHipp on September 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2011

    Good Book

    Mr. Hynde Is Out of His Mind is a story about a weird music teacher. He won "American Idol." I liked when Mr. Hynde was drumming on the principal Mr. Klutz's head. Then he started rapping. This book is for people who like funny stories. --Tobias

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2009

    Utterly Inappropriate

    My child's second grade teacher read this book aloud to her class. My
    child liked the book and convinced me to buy it for him. While he was
    reading the book silently in the back seat of the car, my child asked
    me what the word "brown-noser" means. I was shocked. That evening I
    read the book myself. To say that it is inappropriate for second
    graders or any elementary school kids is an understatement as far as
    I'm concerned.

    Inappropriate/Offensive Language: The book contains three uses of
    some form of the term "brown-noser." It also has a teacher say to a
    2nd grade student, "How's it hangin'?" If you know the origins of
    those terms, you know that they are wildly inappropriate for
    elementary school kids. If you do not know the origin of those terms,
    although they should be self-evident with just a bit of thought, look
    them up on urbandictionary.com.

    Violence: In addition to the offensive language, the book is full of
    violent imagery. I counted at least five violent references, such as
    hoping a piano falls on a girl's head, hoping a girl is crushed by a refrigerator, reference to a teacher being stuffed in a piano and dumped in the river, and a reference to torture.

    Disrespect/Intolerance: In addition to the offensive language and
    violent imagery, there are also off-handed disrespectful attitudes smugly put
    forth about old people, as well as Indians who may be offended by the
    use of the term sitting "Indian style."

    Add it all up, and this is an obviously inappropriate book for any
    elementary school aged child, let alone a second grader. I am amazed
    that the publisher would publish this book and market it to elementary
    school aged children.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    Anomonis

    Such a good book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    asome

    i love the series. i havnt read the book yet but im sure this is gonna be a great book. i wanna read the series 4ever!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2010

    my weird school books are so weird

    Im ten years old and I read one of these books when I was eight years old. When I finished it, I was thinking, that makes no sense. Also, it talks bad about girls and in miss daisy is crazy the boy calls a girl gross because she says she wants to be a nurse. IF YOURE LOOKING FOR A GOOD BOOK DONT READ THIS!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2014

    Book

    It is the funniest book in the world you should read it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Awesome

    I love it so much

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    Gfjidhffhdjhfhshhhdjejjehdhfdnfefbbfhdhhjkjehbnjgcsjffffffhfjghdhtjsjshhdnwbgmkgjcjsjamcndmvndmfmdkmfmfmsndcbdjdjdjdjdjddgfjjdcdsjdjjdksjdjdjnxjskxdkdkjcdjdhcbbsdjdjjxjjdjxjddhgcgwjcbdhxbddhhdhhdhchdhxzjbbdbzjhhdddhhdddhdhyfbdjdhcwjsdnxddndjdbdbddjdj

    Dhhehbjfnbdjhnbrhrxdjdjhdjsxxdfjhxdhhhfhchchbffcdcfjjkvk djxybfdjdjfhehdhdhwdhj

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Good

    Many people think that this is a disrespecteful book but it is meant for second to fouth graders. I am a girl and i read just about the whole series when iwas younger and i found it absolutely hilarious. Yes it has some inappropriate humor in it but itis thekind of humor that will make your young child laugh it is worth the money and the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    To utterly inaproprit

    Your so rong my brother reads it and he is in 2grade.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    H

    Mr heinie is very whiny the sixth book in the why the heck are we reading these dumb books series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    Awesome

    H

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2011

    Good book!

    my daughter loves the whole series

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    Grrrrr

    U copyed me!!¿¿¿ where did my review go?

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    Totally cool

    I loooooooooooooooo??????????????ve IT totally awesome!!!!!'!!?!!!!''!!!'!!!'''!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2011

    Awesome

    I thought this was a funny story. I know some people like the characters in the book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2008

    Cool Book!

    I like the book because .It is fun!I think if my friend,s red that book thay would crak-up.I anestly agree that it is a cool book!But what if I could change the book.I would be famos!Okay let,s get back with the story!do I really like the story.Let me see YAE! I love the story!It,s funny funny and more funny I know cool 3 funny,s okay I think If my very own self should tell all you people!Bloopers from the very book that I have now with me from Mr.hynd is out of his mind!!!!!!!!!!<BR/><BR/>If want to find bloopers<BR/>go to www.dangutman.com!!!!!!!!!!!!!!. <BR/><BR/>Alyssa B.<BR/>Grade 2

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2