BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Mr. Impossible

Average Rating 4.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Favorite of the Series

    This was my favorite of the series. I just loved Rupert and the adventures. Not the best series that I've read, but I still enjoyed it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    Great

    Loved the characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Loved Rupert and Daphne and every word of this story. Great rom

    Loved Rupert and Daphne and every word of this story. Great romance, great writing. Thank you Ms. Chase.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    FUN book!

    Chase is on target here - great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    Fantastic

    I loved everything about it. Rupert was so amazing and Daphne so fun to read. The pet mongoose.... yes please. Well told, hysterical at parts, made me misty eyed others. Fantastic read, give it a try!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2005

    A female 19th ca. Indiana Jones!

    This is the first Loretta Chase I've read- now I want to read 'Miss Wonderful'! I loved this because the setting is so unusual. I've never read an historical romance set in Egypt before. I also loved that the characters were so well developed and ran so opposite typecast (a hero who is kind of flaky but totally lovable? Genius.) The story was great, too. I could definitely see this being an Indiana Jones style movie! Overall, very good chemistry, action and plotting. I do wonder if Ms. Chase's more 'conventional' stories are as good...but this book has certainly convinced me to give her others a try!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2005

    Enjoyed

    Excellent story line and character development. Even better than Miss Wonderful.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2005

    Historical

    Daphne Pembroke's name may sound fluffy, but she's the brains of this book, in a time when women were thought to be flutter witted. When her brother is abducted by men who think he is the one with the brains to translate hieroglyphics, she needs more than her mind to rescue him, she needs muscle. That's where Rupert Carrington comes in after she bails him out of jail. Together, the winsom widow and the rogue set off to save her brother from thieves, but find adventure and romance getting in their way. However, what could have been a fascinating book seems rather bogged down with cumbersomely delivered details that only slow the pace rather than adding depth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    terrific Regency

    In 1821 having been exiled by his aristocratic father to Cairo, Rupert Carrington intervenes between a Pasha¿s soldier armed to the teeth and a cripple. Several other soldiers surround Rupert before incarcerating him. Widowed scholar Daphne Pembroke awaits in the European sector for the return of her brother Miles while concentrating on Egyptian hieroglyphics; her late spouse banned such activity as beneath his wife and believed that Egyptian civilization was inferior to that of the English. However, Rupert¿s ninth law breaking incident in six weeks caused unrest and led to an innocent Miles being abducted.--- English Consul General Salt is beside himself over the latest altercation caused by Rupert. The Pasha demands a small fortune as a penalty. As he ponders his options, Daphne asks for his help in rescuing her brother. Salt assigns Rupert to assist her; she insists she provides the brains and he the brawn at her command. As the dependable scholar and the out of control son of an earl work as a team, they fall in love, but can these opposites find a middle ground near the Pyramids?--- MR. IMPOSSIBLE is a terrific brisk tale that uses early nineteenth century Egypt as a fabulous backdrop. The story line centers on the relationship between the lead couple as they fall in love while trying to rescue Miles. Although Daphne is an interesting lead female, the audience will value Rupert not because of his gallant efforts to save her brother. Instead he encourages her that she was ¿too much woman¿ for her fiftyish late husband instead of not feminine enough or too like a man as her spouse insisted. Rupert¿s enlightened take on women makes him a hero not his exploits.--- Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2