Customer Reviews for

Mr. Mercedes

Average Rating 4
( 305 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(163)

4 Star

(75)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

57 out of 71 people found this review helpful.

I love Stephen King. That has not changed in the 20+ years I've

I love Stephen King. That has not changed in the 20+ years I've been reading his work. What also hasn't changed is his ability to suck me into a story and bury me so deep that I have lost all sense of time and spatial awareness. I become one with the story and nothing e...
I love Stephen King. That has not changed in the 20+ years I've been reading his work. What also hasn't changed is his ability to suck me into a story and bury me so deep that I have lost all sense of time and spatial awareness. I become one with the story and nothing else matters. I can't think, I can't eat, I can't sleep until I am finished living the lives of the people in the book. There is nothing like being immersed in a world that has been created by Mr. King. It is an experience that one does not ever fully return from or fully leave behind. He has perfected his craft so well that each story, each character breaks off a bit and embeds it into your soul for you to mull over, dwell on, and contemplate until your demise. I am happy to let him have those spaces to deposit his leavings as I feel a sense of completeness after each one. It's like he has found missing pieces and is putting them back where they belong. I don't believe that there are any other authors out there that have that affect on me but it doesn't stop me from searching. I almost feel like there is a subliminal message in each of his books that speaks to the innermost part of me, like a nagging voice, "You will read my next story. You will because you need to. You need the drug that I supply."  It's kind of how I think of tattoos as having a chemical in them that make them addictive. No matter the pain, the time, nor the money lost, as soon as you have the first one, you want another. And every time you get another one, it happens again....the craving is there for another. That is what Stephen King is like for me. 

posted by APratt0414 on June 4, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

I am also a Constant Reader and have been since I was 12. I get

I am also a Constant Reader and have been since I was 12. I get that the crux of my addiction/love/faithfulness is the vibe from each story. Picking up a SK book is like listening to a comfortable accent or savoring the flavor of your favorite dish....you just crave it...
I am also a Constant Reader and have been since I was 12. I get that the crux of my addiction/love/faithfulness is the vibe from each story. Picking up a SK book is like listening to a comfortable accent or savoring the flavor of your favorite dish....you just crave it with anticipation and nothing else will suffice. In-between his books I read others...when what I really want is Pad Thai and only have funds for a PB&J. You know? I'm not hungry anymore, but I can't wait to get my hands on some Pad Thai....
I don't know how I feel about this latest book. There was something missing. It kinda felt like watching an episode of Criminal Minds or something. I get that not every book gets to be a tome of character development, and maybe I'm just spoiled that way. Its not that it was a bad story, it just didn't feel like a SK story. A decent sit-by-the-pool time-killer. Bring your own PB&J.

posted by MrsRedditAll on June 8, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 163 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted June 4, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I love Stephen King. That has not changed in the 20+ years I've

    I love Stephen King. That has not changed in the 20+ years I've been reading his work. What also hasn't changed is his ability to suck me into a story and bury me so deep that I have lost all sense of time and spatial awareness. I become one with the story and nothing else matters. I can't think, I can't eat, I can't sleep until I am finished living the lives of the people in the book. There is nothing like being immersed in a world that has been created by Mr. King. It is an experience that one does not ever fully return from or fully leave behind. He has perfected his craft so well that each story, each character breaks off a bit and embeds it into your soul for you to mull over, dwell on, and contemplate until your demise. I am happy to let him have those spaces to deposit his leavings as I feel a sense of completeness after each one. It's like he has found missing pieces and is putting them back where they belong. I don't believe that there are any other authors out there that have that affect on me but it doesn't stop me from searching. I almost feel like there is a subliminal message in each of his books that speaks to the innermost part of me, like a nagging voice, "You will read my next story. You will because you need to. You need the drug that I supply."  It's kind of how I think of tattoos as having a chemical in them that make them addictive. No matter the pain, the time, nor the money lost, as soon as you have the first one, you want another. And every time you get another one, it happens again....the craving is there for another. That is what Stephen King is like for me. 

    57 out of 71 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2014

    Again!

    I am only in the second chapter and yet I am sucked in once again by Kings work. His ability to find what makes each of his characters take root from the start is amazing. 'The devil is in the details' is an old phrase but it never holds truer than when I pick up a King story. Thank you, Mr. King, for what you have done once again to perfection.

    31 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    Very good

    Very good book , but be aware , there are no supernatural elements in this one.

    28 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    King never disappoints

    Stephen King is a fabulous story-teller and writer. He nails this mystery without any of his trademark horror or supernatural touches. I would eagerly read ANYTHING he writes.

    27 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2014

    I believe I'm in the second chapter, though I cannot be sure bec

    I believe I'm in the second chapter, though I cannot be sure because I lost track of a couple of things while I was reading: eating, time, my place in the book. I can say for certain that the book is entertaining and, from the looks of it, on its way to becoming one of my favorite King books.

    16 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    No spoilers! I finished this book in a marathon overnight read

    No spoilers!

    I finished this book in a marathon overnight reading session, interrupted by only a four-hour nap before I got back into it. (Thankfully my husband is also a reader and fully supported my endeavor). For those who avoid Stephen King because they don’t like horror novels, never fear – this one isn’t a horror novel. There are some gory and gruesome scenes, but they’re human-inflicted, not supernaturally-inflicted . Mr. Mercedes is more a detective thriller novel, if I had to classify it under a specific genre. (For me, the genre is “Stephen King” and that’s good enough for me – I love the man’s writing no matter what section of the bookstore each new release ends up in).

    A brief synopsis, for those unfamiliar:
    Mr. Mercedes tells the tale of a cat-and-mouse game between recently retired detective Bill Hodges and the “perk” in one of his rare unsolved cases - the Mercedes Killer, Brady Hartfield.

    In the early morning hours of April 10, 2009, hundreds of people are lined up outside an auditorium waiting for a job fair to begin when a Mercedes plows into the crowd. Eight die; many more are injured. The driver escapes.

    Bill Hodges, along with his partner, was the detective who investigated the case, but Hodges retires before the case is resolved. Depressed, lonely, and suicidal, one day he receives a letter in the mail. This letter is from the Mercedes Killer, and suddenly Hodges finds a reason to live again – to hunt down the man responsible for the deaths of those desperate job seekers before he can kill again.

    The killer is introduced early in the story, a very disturbed – and very careful - man named Brady Hartfield who lives with his alcoholic mother. Another case where “the monster walks among us,” his coworkers (he has no friends) don’t suspect that the man they see every day is in fact a cold-blooded killer who’s already planning his next big event. Brady wants to up his personal body count, and is willing to die to do so. But first, he wants to bring Hodges down, either by driving him to suicide or, failing that, to kill the retired detective himself.

    Hodges must determine the identity of the Mercedes Killer and stop him before he kills again – without being killed himself.

    Stephen King is the master of suspense, and in this novel proves that he doesn’t need malevolent ghosts or evil vampires or telekinetic teenagers to keep the reader flipping the pages. I was hooked from page one, and was once again amazed at King’s ability to tell a captivating story that draws the reader in. King is great at dangling small little hints and tidbits of information to the reader, giving you just enough that you HAVE to keep reading to find out the rest of what happened. Brady Hartfield alludes to other incidents that occurred in his life, but the full story isn’t provided until much later in the book. (I couldn’t go to bed until after I’d reached that point in the novel. I just couldn’t – I HAD to find out the whole story).

    The point-of-view shifts between Hodges and the killer, a technique that in the hands (keyboards?) of less capable writers can be confusing. King makes it look easy. The reader is “treated” to a front-row seat into the life and mind of the demented Hartfield, who obviously could have benefitted from some strong anti-psychotic medication. It’s also terrifying how realistically the character is portrayed (I was reminded of Ted Bundy in particular, with his surface charm that fooled so many people for so long). You may never look at your neighbors and co-workers in quite the same way again.

    One line in particular struck me as I was reading this novel: "He returns his attention to her, a woman in her mid-forties who's not afraid to sit in bright sunlight." It’s a simple line, but to me it highlights King’s talent at observing life and using those observations to SHOW his characters instead of just telling us about them. Sure, he could have said “He saw that this forty-something woman is obviously confident in herself and her appearance,” but instead he takes something that all women past the age 30 or 35 know – that direct sunlight does nothing to improve the appearance of older skin – and uses that to show us the character’s poise and self-confidence.

    It feels almost sacrilegious to say anything negative about a Stephen King book, but… the foreshadowing in this one was a bit heavy-handed at times. Worse, there were also a couple of instances where it was flat-out misleading (in my humble opinion). Without giving too much away (I hope), here’s a for example: if it’s said that a character is going to regret an action or a lack of action later in the story, then that action/lack thereof should be significant and have a major impact on the development of the rest of the story. Instead, a couple of times those bits of foreshadowing were just half-lies without much importance to the story, and never really came to fruition. I feel like they were placed in the text only to keep me reading. It worked, but I feel just a little bit betrayed by the whole thing. That being said, it’s still without a doubt a five star book, and I’ll still gladly sacrifice another night of sleep when Revival is released in a few months.

    Finally, after (or while) you’re reading this one, make sure you check out Under Debbi’s Blue Umbrella – there’s not a whole lot there right now, but it’s a neat little add-on, and I’m curious to see if more is added to it after more people have had time to finish reading the novel.

    14 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2014

    i like reading this books.so amazing

    i like reading this books.so amazing

    8 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    Another great cat and mouse

    If you enjoyed Joyland and 11/22/63 then you will love Mr. Mercedes.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    Good read

    Now, I can get some sleep.....maybe. You will love his quirky characters. He is the master of making you love the people in his stories. Even the sick mo-fos. He drives you through the action like you are holding on for dear life in the back seat of a Mercedes - hell bent. What a ride, Mr. King! Thank you.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    Mr. Mercedes

    This is not your typical Stephen King. If you are looking for horror fiction this is not it. Excellent book. Very suspenseful, Interesting characters and a fantastic plot. What makes this book scary is knowing that there are people like Mr. Mercedes out there. Definitely a must read!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    Loved it!

    Couldn't put it down. Enjoyed the characters, became engrossed with the plot, thrilled with the plot twists. Stephen King remains my favorite storyteller.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2014

    WOO TERRORISTS(SARCASM )

    Thats pleasant

    3 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2014

    Thank you Stephen King for another fantastic read! Not the typi

    Thank you Stephen King for another fantastic read!

    Not the typical King book in that this was a pretty straightforward mystery read. It was, however, written by the master of suspense and he does it beautifully.

    For those who prefer the more paranormal reads by King, this may not be for you. This is one of his more realistic reads -- though truly frightening in its own way. King is a master at creating bad guys whether they are "real" people or maybe not of this world. This is the story of a retired cop trying to solve one of the few cases that was unsolved when he left the department. It is a great thriller with a terrific cast of characters, including a teenage boy that is full of humor. It is a fantastic read that kept me on the edge of my seat to see if they could catch him in time. Loved it!

    I must take just a moment to address the comments of certain reviewers who have the audacity to call Mr. King a "racist" because one of his characters uses the "N" word. Don't know if you people have ever written something actually worth reading, but it is called character development. King was giving you an idea of who his killer is. Part of who he is is a stereotypical bigot! What better way to convey that then to use that horrible word? To actually presume that King is a racist because his bad guys are bigoted............?????? Listen people, 2 + 2 does NOT equal 5!!! If that kind of stuff bothers you, please do not read any more of his stuff so I do not EVER have to read one of your reviews again -- K? I like to know who I am reading about. If he is a bigoted a**hole, then I don't think he uses the words "African American" to describe a person of color. You are SUPPOSED to not like that character!!!!! It is a fictional story with fictional characters, and I personally LOVE the character development that Stephen has ALWAYS had. Well, enough of my rant...........

    Thank you so much for another sleepless night Mr. King. Once again, I could not put it down. Can't wait to see what is coming out of that brilliant mind next!

    -- SPeeD

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    Finished most of the book this weekend.  Excellent story - a pag

    Finished most of the book this weekend.  Excellent story - a page turner.  As always, well developed characters and vivid details that draw you in to the story.  
    A little more saucy than previous books, with a little rougher language, more slang, and more items/topics that some may find objectionable -
    especially one of the villain's relationship's is disturbing.  I definitely see Jim Carey playing the villain in a movie version.
    Would read a second time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2014

    Great book

    Very good read. King writes a detective novel thats as good as his horror stories.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    Excellent

    Cant wait for the rest to come out

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2014

    Amazing, as usual!

    Stephen King's writings never leave you dissatisfied. This one is no different.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2014

    Loved it

    Not his usual supernatural book but very good

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2014

    Excellent thriller

    I love this novel because it is my favorite type of thriller without the King-like gruesome details!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2014

    Stephen King is my favorite author and this book reminded me why

    Stephen King is my favorite author and this book reminded me why. It starts off with people vying for a job in a bad economy. That in itself is very relatable to a lot of people. Then it introduces the people waiting just to kill them seconds later. The author does not discriminate, babies, men and women were all killed. Bill Hodges was a great character. He was at the end of his career, and was not in a good place. He was not prepared for the effect that the "perk's" letter would have on his life. The great thing about this writer is that there is so much more going on. What will the killer do next? How will Bill catch him without police resources? What about the victims and their loved ones? Mixed in with all there is also a love story and basic human needs. The end was not what I expected, and I really hope that there is a sequel. The story line of the Perk was definitely interesting, I wonder what the ending meant. I am giving this book a 5/5. I was given a copy to review from Night Owl Reviews, however all opinions are my own!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 163 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9