Customer Reviews for

Mr. Monk in Trouble (Mr. Monk Series #9)

Average Rating 4.5
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I loved it!

    Just finished "Monk in Trouble" and couldn't put it down. It is so true to the series which I do miss watching. Good job Mr. Goldberg.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    More Monk! Keep bringing it on!

    Whether or not you are familiar with Detective Adrian Monk from the USA television series, you will have a ball reading this book to see what
    our favorite defective detective is up to. I won't give away any details
    (why spoil it for you!) but just like the previous book installments
    and the series, you will laugh yourself silly till the very end. Now that the series is history, we look forward to revisiting Monk any way we can. Lee Goldberg, keep the books coming - we can't wait for the next volume; it can't be too soon!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2010

    Wow

    When I first saw this book I was excited. I did not know that there was books for Monk. I was surprised when I found out that it was from Natalie's point of view. I really liked the different viewpoint because it really adds a lot to the story.

    As soon as I finished it, I lent it to a friend who loved the series as much as me, he also loves to read.

    I can't wait to read more of these books!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2009

    ONE OF THE BEST!

    I thoroughly enjoyed MONK IN TROUBLE. I think it's one of Mr. Goldberg's best Monk books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Nobody does novelizations of TV shows better than Lee Goldberg consistently does

    He has an intensive form of OCD and has more phobias than can be found in a medical text, but give Mr. Adrian Monk a homicide to solve and he will do it regardless of difficulty mostly caused by his disorders. His friend Captain Stottlemeyer of the San Francisco Police department asks Mr. Monk to come to his office where he informs him that retired cop Manny Feikeman was murdered at the Gold Rush Museum in Trouble, California. He asks Monk to solve the case.

    Since his house is being renovated, Mr. Monk agrees to go to the mining town with his assistant and friend Natalie. While in town he finds out about a cold case he decides to solve in his spare time. The famous train The Golden Rail Express was robbed of its gold on its last run in 1962, but what happened to the loot or the mastermind was never revealed and a third robber never found. With brilliant insight and a nod to a gold rush era equivalent with phobias and an assistant Abigail Guthrie keeping diaries of Artemis Monk, Adrian works the train robbery, the murder, and assorted other inquiries until he vanishes leaving an injured Natalie to investigate the case of the missing sleuthing employer.

    Nobody does novelizations of TV shows better than Lee Goldberg consistently does. His latest Mr. Monk tale is one of the best due to the intriguing tongue in cheek self mocking subplot involving Artemis who as the assayer who also worked cases in 1852; the local curator insists the two OCD Monks may be a century and a half apart but look like twins separated at birth. Fans will enjoy the stories of the two Mr. Monk's.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Visit Monk's Past and Present

    Yesterday, my teenager tried to bribe me, a noted chocoholic, with Reese's PB cups to get MR. MONK IN TROUBLE from my hands. He lost! Both of us love the television series "Monk," and often battle over who gets to read the latest Monk novel first. The past few times, he's beaten me to it, but he was in school when the new one arrived and I cozied up on the sofa and read it in one sitting.

    If you haven't seen Monk, I highly recommend hitting Netflix or the USA Web site and watching some episodes. Monk is extremely phobic, an excessive neat freak and completely charming. I keep saying I'd love to have Monk come clean my house. I imagine he'd do a fantastic job. Given that, however, I don't think you need to understand the character in order to enjoy the books.

    Lee Goldberg always captures Monk's nuances perfectly. He injects the mysteries with just the right amount of humor and tackles subjects I only wish I'd seen on television. Monk dealing with trick-or-treaters is a riot!

    In this latest, Monk and Natalie, Monk's assistant, head to Trouble, California, to investigate the murder of one of Captain Stottlemeyer's friends, a former San Francisco police officer. There, the town historian points out that Monk looks exactly like Artemis Monk, the town's assayer during the gold rush. Turns out Artemis was also a perfectionist with many phobias and a knack for solving baffling mysteries.

    The story weaves in and out between entries from diaries kept by Artemis Monk's assistant and Monk's mysteries. While he came to town to solve the murder of Stottlemeyer's friend, he's lured into a couple other mysteries too. The biggest being a train robbery.

    I'll admit to figuring out who one of the robbers was early on, but that didn't distract from the story at all. I was more intrigued with Monk's antics and the general storyline involving Artemis Monk.

    Once again, Lee Goldberg's created a story I think would make an exceptional show. This is Monk's final season. I'm not sure if Mr. Goldberg will continue the Monk series, or if it will be possible to when they end the show, but I like to think I'll always get that little dose of Monk to read up on.

    When I'm looking for a bit of escapism and a lot of laughs, Goldberg's Monk books get top billing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Monk is awsomw!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!# !!!!!!!!!!??????????

    Go Monk!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Monk

    I absolutly love Monk the tv series, but the books are amazing and follow the same story lines as the series :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2013

    enjoyable!

    This is a light read but always an enjoyable return to the series. Miss you on TV Mr. Monk!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    its MONK ............

    its MONK ............

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Kitkat101

    My sis read this she loves the show but i did not really like this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Great read!

    A must read for Monk fans,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    MONK! MONK!

    Monk is an awsome book and T.V. series if you have seen it. I would recommened you buying it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    AMAZING!

    Mr. Monk in Trouble is a amazing book! I am not going to give away anything, but it is interesting, funny, and hard to put down (at least in my opinion). I really enjoyed this book, with it's humor and mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3