Customer Reviews for

Mr. Monster (John Cleaver Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    Amazing book

    Its a strange coincidence that son of sams alleged first killing was a girl named michelle forman? And son of sam is who john names his dark side after

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    So good.

    :)

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Definitely my favorite of the trilogy.

    This story, in my opinion, has all the best of the first story while strengthening some of the weaknesses in the first. As much as I loved the confrontation scenes in the book, my favorite scene has to be where John goes through the embalming process. On the surface that scene should be useless filler, however I think it really helps get into John's head and helps the reader understand why (usually) the embalming process calms him and helps keep him from doing what he shouldn't. Another thing I loved about this book was all the interaction between Brooke and John. Part of me was rooting for them to get together, while the sane and sensible part of me was wanting her to stay as far away from him as possible. All told, a wonderful book I would more than likely read again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2014

    The book was hard to put down. I was introduced to the series wi

    The book was hard to put down. I was introduced to the series with the third book, and went back to read the first two. The way Wells develops the depth of his characters, the depth of his research and the richness of his scenes, makes this a entertaining and slightly disturbing read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2014

    Great Read!!!

    Well written. Dan Wells is talented and an author who fully researches the subject matter of his stories. I have never been disappointed by his talent. There is mystery in life. In all things. I believe in evil. Do I believe in demons? I haven't decided yet. I hope that I never find out for sure. I am confused about the readers who find a conflict with the genre of these novels. I'm not confused and I don't believe Dan Wells is confused either. There is a touch of fantasy in his stories. Why is that a problem? These are fictional novels. I know they may at first glance look like psycho murder mysteries but wonderfully enough they are s much more than that. They can make you question reality. His other series is full of science technology dealing with robot humans. Nanotechnology I think is the term. Those novels are just as much sci-fi as these are. I have loved every novel he has written. He writes fiction. In a fictional story anything can happen. I was taken by surprise by the demon in the first novel of this series. Pleasantly so. ;) I love fantasy. I was reading this series because Dan Wells is a great writer and I had just finished his other series "Partials" and loved it. I found his style and talent for telling a story that captivates the reader wonderful. His character developement flawless. I wanted to be entertained by someone who wouldn't disappoint. So I did what anyone who reads a lot would do. I spent my money on a sure thing. More books by Dan Wells. Thank you Mr. Wells. Please keep writing. I have been reading for years and I loved it that you took me by surprise with the demon angle. Seldom are there those kind of surprises for me. Keep writing. Thank you again for all the entertainment you have given me.
    Sanna7125

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2014

    Great main character.

    Mr. Monster/John Cleaver is well written by Dan Wells. While the series has more than a little genre confusion, the main character is interesting enough that it almost doesn't matter. This book was a fun, suspenseful and easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    Excellent book. A must-read series!

    Mr. Monster is the second of three books about John Cleaver. The first book reminded me a bit of the Dexter books in an off-handed way. (Not the TV show.) This book shows that it can hold its own with adult readers. I dont usually read YA books. This one was worth it.

    Very well written. Good pace. Intense in the right places. The character constantly struggles with his inner demons while fighting real ones in human guise. Complex storyline without being overly complicated. John Cleaver is a fascinating character. I would love to read an ongoing series featuring him.

    The subject matter in this book is not for children. Mature teens and adults may enjoy it.

    Highly recommeded. I thought it was a great and intense book. Keep it up, Mr. Wells!

    -AvidReader

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Fun Little Read along the Odd Thomas line

    This was a fun little read about a teen who is saddled with dealing with demons and other things that go "bump in the night." A little intense during the embalming scenes. I would recommend reading this three-book series in order just to keep the chronology and teen romance thread straight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2011

    getting better by the book

    While I enjoyed the first John Cleaver book, I finished it unsatisfied. This story is less Dexter-like than the first, though this second novel builds nicely on the first. I have read the third of the trilogy too and say DO READ IT.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2011

    awesome

    great series can wait for the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2011

    John Cleaver strikes again.

    Mr. Monster, the sequel to I Am Not A Serial Killer, continues John Cleaver's exploits of self-restraint and self-reflection as a teenage sociopath trying to control his murderous urges with his strict set of rules to protect those close to him from himself. It's the same John Cleaver, but a whole new set of circumstances for the intriguing anti-hero, including a strong dispute with a minor antagonist Rob, a fascinating romantic development with his crush from the first novel, Brooke, his sister, Lauren, gets a new boyfriend, a large, overbearing kind of guy that John absolutely can't stand, and a new demon! With Mr. Crowley's death in the first novel, this brings an all new type of demon to Clayton County who is even craftier than the first, and even more sadistic.

    As per the first novel, Dan Wells writes well for John Cleaver. The thing that makes John Cleaver such a wonderful character is that he is a sociopath that is all too human. In most fiction, literature and cinema, sociopaths are portrayed as cold, heartless killing machines who murder just for the sake of it without insight to why they do it. John is very different from that. John displays his internal struggle for the reader vividly. John shows the audience that, although he is a sociopath, he attempts to control his urges to cause harm to others. This is what makes him engaging. This is what makes him worth caring about and adds much dimension to his character. In wonderful detail, Wells renders John's psyche in vivid imagery as he imagines holding people in helpless situations. The descriptions are so real they can be spine-tingling at times. The strongest asset to the novel is John's all too human existential crisis though. This is a very enjoyable book I would recommend to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2010

    much better than the first book

    I was left unimpressed by I Am Not A Serial Killer and was hesitant to pick this up. I'm so glad I did. This was so much greater than the first book and I can't wait for the third

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wow. Don't eat and read. You'll make yourself sick.

    Mr. Monster is the follow up to I Am Not a Serial Killer, both of which are books that straddle the joining point of YA, horror and thriller. I picked up the first Dan Wells book because I was familiar with him because of the podcast he does with Brandon Sanderson (Warbreaker, Wheel of Time, Mistborn, Way of Kings) and Howard Taylor (Schlock Mercenary); Writing Excuses is a part of my every week. I knew when I read the first book that it would be good - I just wasn't ready for how good it was. So, I've been avidly waiting for Mr. Monster to come out and play with my brain - and no, I'm not sleeping tonight.

    Set in fictional Clayton County is a small town that could exist almost anywhere, but never really does. Thanks to the first book we're already introduced to the paranormal element of the story, so less is focused on the killer and more on John Cleaver. John is a sociopath who goes out of his way not to be; he has rules to keep him from walking the almost preordained road to blood and terror. He will not hurt animals. He will not call people 'it'. If someone tries to start something with him, he walks away. If he thinks about hurting someone he compliments them. These rules and others keep him safe from the thing inside of him that is Mr. Monster - and it puts bars between him and other people. Enter the too-good-to-be-true female into his life who, for some reason John's best friend can't figure out, likes him.

    There's something inherently creepy about a child and to some extent a teenager committing acts of violence. John walks through scenarios of things he would like to do, and each time his rules pull him back from the precipice. But there's the girl, Brook, again who is the unknown in his life.

    In the first book John was using his fascination of serial killers to stalk a serial killer, the only 'problem' was that he succeeded. The blood letting of the supernatural killer woke up John's Mr. Monster, so when a new killer begins leaving John presents and bloody love notes, the real question is - what's he going to do about it?

    The answer will terrify you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This is much darker than the dark I Am Not A Serial Killer as Mr. Monster takes over for a few moments

    John Wayne Cleaver still struggles, as he has all his life to keep, his demonic Mr. Monster side from taking over his mind. However, ironically his heroism involving taking out a serial killer has strengthened Mr. Monster's hold.

    A second Clayton County second serial killer apparently surfaces with several corpses as the calling card. Once again the local police fail to catch the predator. In spite of fearing involvement again after how much stronger Mr. Monster has become, John uses his knowledge he gained from his war with the first demon killer to try to trap the second. However, evidence mounts that John is the serial killer.

    This is much darker than the dark I Am Not A Serial Killer as Mr. Monster takes over for a few moments leading to a raging out of control beast ready to torture and kill, which after Cleaver regains the power he is filled with anguish and torment for what happened; mindful of mid stages of Alzheimer's victims who recall what they did and consider stupidity. Cleaver and Monster make the lead character appears as if he has a multiple personality disorder as they war for the lead. Action-packed with ultra gory scenes (some too vividly ugly for my sensitive stomach), yet Dan Wells enables his audience to see the battle of good and evil inside the heart and mind of one struggling soul teetering on the brink of being lost.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3