Customer Reviews for

Mr. & Mrs. Fitzwilliam Darcy: Two Shall Become One

Average Rating 3.5
( 208 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(85)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(32)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

The VERY Romantic Darcy's

I don't even know where to start with this wonderful book. I had heard from a few people that they thought it was too explicit compared to Jane Austen. Keeping that in mind, I plunged in and I loved it! There are no more of the Victorian chaste kisses, this is a full bl...
I don't even know where to start with this wonderful book. I had heard from a few people that they thought it was too explicit compared to Jane Austen. Keeping that in mind, I plunged in and I loved it! There are no more of the Victorian chaste kisses, this is a full blown romance. The story has the characters acting as any newly married couple would act. I didn't think it was very explicit at all., in fact I thought it was wonderfully written and kept me enthralled until the end. I found myself sighing once again over this couple. Darcy emerges as wonderfully romantic husband. We get to see the struggles they go through in the early days and see their love triumph. There is enough of the 'feel' of Jane_Austen to delight all fans of her novels. For me this was a great book and I'm excited that this is just the first in the series that follows this couple. I'm going to be first in line for the rest of the series!

http://martasmeanderings.blogspot.com

posted by martakay1962 on March 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Indeed they do, many times

Disclaimer: I'm a big fan of the Pride and Prejudice novel (I re-read it every few years), and even more so of the BBC production (with Colin Firth). The author claims to have read the book and seen all other productions, but she bases her story on the Keira Knightley f...
Disclaimer: I'm a big fan of the Pride and Prejudice novel (I re-read it every few years), and even more so of the BBC production (with Colin Firth). The author claims to have read the book and seen all other productions, but she bases her story on the Keira Knightley film. [While this movie was cinematically beautiful, and the actors were good, there were inaccuracies in the movie that would drive a true P&P fan crazy (Lady Catherine did not show up at the Bennetts in the middle of the night! And her hair was brushed!)]

Anyway, Ms. Lathan uses that film as her starting point for this book. The story takes place during the first few months of the Darcys' married life, and all they seem to do is act like hormonal teenagers--as much as three times a day, for hours at a time. These love scenes are a bit boring, not nearly as titillating as the best romantic writers (e.g. Judith McNaught) treat us to. (However, kudos to the bear rug in the bedroom).

I would have liked to see less of the sex and more of Elizabeth's first interactions with the people of Pemberley. I think being a true fan of the book, some of the plot scenarios bothered me: The Gardiners came for Christmas with no mention of their children, and Jane and Elizabeth would have managed to visit each other sometime within the first few months of their marriages.

While true Austen scholars will not enjoy this book, others who love the romance bewtween Elizabeth and Darcy may not find it so objectionable (the friend who gave this to me really liked it). I just found myself wishing for more plot and less sex.

posted by darcyfan on February 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 209 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Indeed they do, many times

    Disclaimer: I'm a big fan of the Pride and Prejudice novel (I re-read it every few years), and even more so of the BBC production (with Colin Firth). The author claims to have read the book and seen all other productions, but she bases her story on the Keira Knightley film. [While this movie was cinematically beautiful, and the actors were good, there were inaccuracies in the movie that would drive a true P&P fan crazy (Lady Catherine did not show up at the Bennetts in the middle of the night! And her hair was brushed!)]

    Anyway, Ms. Lathan uses that film as her starting point for this book. The story takes place during the first few months of the Darcys' married life, and all they seem to do is act like hormonal teenagers--as much as three times a day, for hours at a time. These love scenes are a bit boring, not nearly as titillating as the best romantic writers (e.g. Judith McNaught) treat us to. (However, kudos to the bear rug in the bedroom).

    I would have liked to see less of the sex and more of Elizabeth's first interactions with the people of Pemberley. I think being a true fan of the book, some of the plot scenarios bothered me: The Gardiners came for Christmas with no mention of their children, and Jane and Elizabeth would have managed to visit each other sometime within the first few months of their marriages.

    While true Austen scholars will not enjoy this book, others who love the romance bewtween Elizabeth and Darcy may not find it so objectionable (the friend who gave this to me really liked it). I just found myself wishing for more plot and less sex.

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Who is THIS Mr.Darcy? Matthew Macfadyen, not Colin Firth.

    I am a huge P&P fan, but this book does not cut it for me. I should have known when I read the author's forward and she states that she based it off of the 2005 movie(whould he REALLY have said "you have bewitched me body and soul"?). This story is not true to the character of Mr. Darcy that so many know and love. I could not wrap my mind around the idea of Mr. Darcy spouting "I love you" and whispering sweet nothings over and over throughout this book...it got old. The character of Elizabeth Bennett stayed true to Jane Austen, but this Mr. Darcy is an unknown being. For those of you, like me, who picture Colin Firth when you see Mr. Darcy..be warned.

    12 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    Don't waste your time!

    This book was HORRIBLE. There's absolutely no plot, it doesn't follow Austen's P&P at all, and it is COMPLETELY unrealistic.

    I absolutely adore Jane Austen. I practically read only Austen continuations. And while I'm not entirely an Austen purist, I do believe that a book should have a storyline! The entire book is different boring love scenes between Darcy and Elizabeth. And so many effusions of "I love you!" "No, I love you more!" makes one want to puke! I mean really. Do you really want a husband to follow you around all day, worrying over you, saying pretty words, but never having a real relationship? The Darcy and Elizabeth I know would have a relationship, a marriage, not an unrealistic mess this author writes down. In terms of following P&P, the author based the entire storyline off of the TERRIBLE Keira Knightley version, which twisted this beautiful novel into something ugly. This book recognizes scenes from the movie, which simply bothers me. I wonder if the author even read P&P before she wrote this book...

    All in all, DO NOT waste your time or money on this book. Unless you want to be bored by unrealistic tales of a boring happily ever after.

    10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2009

    Easy, casual read.

    A light easy read that holds to Austen's characters enough to keep in my library. This look at the months directly following the marriage of Elizabeth and Darcy are almost a little TOO lovey-dovey, with nothing else really happening for three quarters of the book besides them declaring their undying love and jumping in the sack 3 times(or more) a day. However, it livens up abit nearer the end , leaving one with the feeling of...that was a pretty good book.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The VERY Romantic Darcy's

    I don't even know where to start with this wonderful book. I had heard from a few people that they thought it was too explicit compared to Jane Austen. Keeping that in mind, I plunged in and I loved it! There are no more of the Victorian chaste kisses, this is a full blown romance. The story has the characters acting as any newly married couple would act. I didn't think it was very explicit at all., in fact I thought it was wonderfully written and kept me enthralled until the end. I found myself sighing once again over this couple. Darcy emerges as wonderfully romantic husband. We get to see the struggles they go through in the early days and see their love triumph. There is enough of the 'feel' of Jane_Austen to delight all fans of her novels. For me this was a great book and I'm excited that this is just the first in the series that follows this couple. I'm going to be first in line for the rest of the series!

    http://martasmeanderings.blogspot.com

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2010

    At least it was free

    I downloaded this for free as part of Jane Austen's birthday promotion. Thank God I didn't pay for it. The only thing recognizable about the characters are their names. The plot is non-existent - unless you consider having sex all over Pemberley a plot. The dialogue is laughable. The writing style is on par with teenage fanfiction, except I wouldn't let my teenager read it because if all the gratuitous sex. It's way over the top. Lizzy might not be so fond of walking anymore, since she won't be able to walk normally for a while. I really don't think I can force myself to finish it and I'm wondering what it will take to get the chapters I did read out of my short-term memory.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    THE WORST BOOK I HAVE EVER READ!

    It is so bad. Please do not waste your time and money on this book. The author cannot write. The dialogue is ridiculously stupid and trite, the plot and story line are non-existent. Self-published drivel. BEWARE...You have been warned!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    HORRIBLE!!

    If you enjoy the witt, irony, and simple romance and decorm of Jane Austin novels, do nto read this book. This is a cheap, dime store romance novel version of pride and prejudice.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Way A Marriage Should Be...

    Sharon Lathan's book the Two Shall Become One is a must read!! After reading Pride and Prejudice, and seeing the on-screen movie I was excited to find a book that continues the wonderful story of Mr. & Mrs. Fitzwilliam Darcy so beautifully. The Two Shall Become One portrays Darcy & Elizabeth's honeymoon days through their first six months of marriage. The portrayals of their tender moments together of getting to know each other on so many different levels will have you smiling, blushing, laughing, weeping, and put you directly on the edge of your seat in anticipation of what happens next. Their loved is expressed throughout the pages of this book in such a beautiful, adoring, and passionate way. You will experience Elizabeth and Mr. Darcy's characters grow in their love and understanding of each other though many precious moments of affection, learning, and even though some turmoil along the way. In fact, you will learn a new depth to each of the characters, including Ms. Georgianna Darcy and the wonderful staff of Pemberly. The descriptions of the sceneries make you feel as if you can picture being there. Another thing that I love about this book it that there are several flashbacks to moments that occurred in their past during their engagement. The way Sharon portrays many of these moments playing out is truly wonderful.....especially their first kiss after they have become engaged. Don't miss out on this wonderfully written story.....grab a coffee, pillow and get comfortable because you won't want to put it down!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW!! Finally

    To me this is one of the best Pride & Prejudice Sequels ever written or better yet that I've ever read and believe me I've read a pretty good amount of them. It's beautiful! and thrilling! all at the same time. You will fall so completely in love with the characters that they literally end up feeling real to you. You connect with them in a way that makes it unbelievable for them to be fiction. This is a book that no matter where you are you won't want to put it down. This is the "happy ever after" of Mr. and Mrs. FItzwilliam Darcy that i hope many of you have been waiting to be read, I know that I have. Ms.Lathan has written a wonderful book that i know any P&P fan will enjoy. So sit back, relax and prepare yourself to be swept off your feet by the Darcys.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Love it!

    I loved this book. I was thrilled to have a sequel to Pride and Prejudice. Who doesn't want to know what happens after they get married? I was so excited. This book is romantic, sexy, and sweet. I couldn't put it down and then when it was over I couldn't wait for more! I was on pins and needles waiting for the next one!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Darcy and Lizzy do Pemberley

    In this sequel to the 2005 Pride & Prejudice movie adaptation, based on Jane Austen's novel, the wedding is finally over and Mr. Darcy is relieved to be past all the constant pressure of wedding plans and family arrangements to be with his beloved Elizabeth. To get to this point, they both had to overcome some serious obstacles of vanity and misunderstandings impeding their romance before they realized that they were in love and destined to be together. Elizabeth is also pleased and thankful that her husband has planned a quick retreat from the Netherfield wedding reception to a coaching Inn where they will stay the first two days and nights of their married life together. Here we witness their first innocent and unsure moments alone as newlyweds. Next they are off to Pemberley where Elizabeth's first experiences as Mistress are intimidating, but Darcy and Mrs. Reynolds are there to support her. Her first family event in her new capacity will be a Christmas gathering, which will included Darcy's younger sister Georgiana, his cousin Colonel Fitzwilliam and his aunt and uncle Lord and Lady Matlock among others. She is also introduced to the local gentry at a Twelfth Night Masquerade Ball where she meets the Marquis of Orman who admires her beauty and spirit far too intently. Not wanting to reveal everything, I can allude to the expectation of a young olive-branch, and a sword duel before the novel concludes.

    In addition to experiencing Lizzy and Darcy's first months as newlyweds at Pemberley, Lathan gives us a descriptive glimpse of Regency life managing a grand estate including a palatial manor house with acres of rooms, an army of servants, stables, extensive grounds, and a county of farmland. However, this is merely window dressing to the real heart and soul of this novel which consumes about two-thirds of the narrative; Darcy and Lizzy's passion, devotion and abiding love. Yep! This is definitely a romance novel of the first order. Lathan is quite generous with her intimate descriptions devoting entire chapters to one night. After about the 20th go round, I turned the shag counter off and just hunted for the plot, which pretty much did not arrive until about 125 pages in. Even after other characters arrive on the scene, we are never in any doubt of the Darcy's rapturous affection for one another. As a writer, I could see Lathan's style improve and develop as the novel progressed. She smoothly supplies us with all the elements of the ultimate female fantasy - marry Mr. Darcy the definitive literary romantic icon who proceeds to billet you out in high style, shower you with expensive gifts and sentimental trinkets, clothe you in opulent fashions, supply you with more pin money than your grasping ma'ma could ever hope for, and worship you beyond all reason whilst making love all over the place. Swoon! That's great if you're trying to be the next Julie Garwood or Jude Deveraux, but this is Darcy and Lizzy, sacred ground, and even if author Linda Berdoll has straddled that precipice all the way to the bank, do we really need a successor?

    If you read Pride and Prejudice before you saw the 2005 movie and cringed over the American ending, then this novel might not be for you. If you enjoy enthusiastic romance passionately written featuring the indefatigable Mr. Darcy and his wife, then "I would by no means suspend any pleasure of yours"!

    Laurel Ann, Austenprose

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Austen Sequel

    I love Jane Austen sequels. I live for them. I devour sequel after sequel. It is a small wonder I do not get confused. I had read about this sequel while perusing Amazon on a Jane Austen sequel buying spree. I initially passed it over because it was based on the 2005 movie not the 1995 series. I couldn¿t seem to get away from that. The 2005 movie almost seemed to be a more dramatized, high school version of Pride and Prejudice. This was definitely something I had to force myself to look beyond while reading Lathan¿s book. I also had to essentially forget everything that happened in the 1995 series and force myself to sit and watch the 2005 version again to refresh my memory. I found that I felt better about the book if I imagined Jennifer Ehle and Colin Firth instead of Keira Knightley and Matthew Macfadyen. Once I began reading, I was pleasantly surprised. I really liked this book.<BR/><BR/>I love how Lathan injects drama into the continuing story of Darcy and Elizabeth. Their life is not quiet in Lathan¿s world as you would assume it to be in Austen¿s world. I loved that she injected the bad influence of a town scoundrel into the novel. I also love that it resulted in a duel which is something I always wanted to see in a Austen sequel. It gives Darcy a bit of an edge. The relationship between Elizabeth and Darcy is portrayed excellently. Their relationship is clearly passionate in the early days of their marriage. The love between them is tangible and Lathan portrays it well. I also love how Elizabeth calls Darcy ¿William¿. I found that so sweet.<BR/><BR/>There were, however, some aspects of Lathan¿s novel that didn¿t quite work for me. The language was simply too flowery especially in the love scenes. They are constantly jabbering on about how wonderful the other is. That is great the first few times but if it is repeated a million times, it gets annoying. I did find that the prose was wonderful outside of love scenes. Also there is no remnant of Jane Austen to be found in this novel. Her language, her voice is absent. This could be a creative choice of the author but I found that I missed the essence of Austen that I can usually find in Austen sequels.<BR/><BR/>The flaws in Lathan¿s sequel did not detract from my enjoyment of the novel. I really liked it. I even bought the two sequels which I am going to read when I am through with the mountain of reading I still have to do. If you love Jane Austen sequels, please pick this one up. It is quite the wonderful read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Do NOT buy this.

    This book is complete and utter porn. Darcy is completely out of character. We get one - just one - instance of plot.
    If you're looking for pages upon pages of smutty fanfiction of the 2005 movie, buy it. If not, stay far, far away and read the real Pride and Prejudice.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    Do not buy, does not conform to Jane Austen one bit.

    This is a really bad fan fiction novel. It feels like she knew using Pride and Prejudice would get her a good amount of purchases, at least until people started leaving negative ratings. This book twists Elizabeth and Darcy beyond recognition. Darcy, all the sudden is this mushy, unrestrained girly man, and Elizabeth is turned into a faint vision of her original character. It's all just some bored housewife's version of a romance novel with Jane Austen's characters in it. Bleh!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2011

    Saccharine Sexcapades at Pemberley!

    True to the subtitle, Elizabeth and Fitzwilliam Darcy become one repeatedly in this book. In every room and even on the grounds of Pemberley. Several times a day, their "unwavering love oozes from every pore." And readers with blood sugar issues should proceed with caution.
    This is NOT a sequel to Jane Austen's ironic masterpiece but a sequel of the 2005 film fiasco that took the skeleton of Pride and Prejudice, removed integral pieces and rebuilt it in a very different embodiment. Like the film on which it is based, this book is all Harlequin romance and very little substance. No Bennets, no Bingleys, no Wickhams. Col. Fitzwilliam, his parents, Georgiana, and Mrs. Reynolds are there, but only as faint shadows revolving around Darcy and Elizabeth's oozing love.
    There is no story here. Around chapter 16 of 19, the author seems to have realized this and throws in a very vague villain who is lecherous and hates Darcy. We don't know why. For two chapters, there is a bit of conflict and drama. But in the final chapter, we're back to sex and sugary phrases.
    True fans of Jane Austen will not appreciate this book. Fans of the 2005 film will love it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This is NOT Jane Austen

    I came across the book in the store and, as an Austen fan, was intrigued. I really like the idea of getting a glimpse into the lives of Elizabeth and Darcy after their marriage, and loved that someone else had explored how they deal with all the changes and settle in to a new life. I have to admit, I was very disappointed. It was clear VERY early on that the author had never actually read the original book; this is more of a "sequel" to the latest theatrical adaptation. The memories that Elizabeth and William look back on so fondly are primarily those of the movie. It was actually distracting how many details from Pride and Prejudice are mistaken or missing entirely. Jane and Bingley are barely mentioned. (Would Elizabeth and Darcy really go months without corresponding with their closest companions?) Georgiana is misrepresented. Elizabeth's sisters are not mentioned.
    The characters of Elizabeth and William are completely different as well. I just cannot see Austen's Darcy becoming THAT free-spirited. Yes, with Elizabeth's help he would learn to not take things quite so seriously, and to socialize more, but to drop nearly all sense of social propriety?? We all want our beloved characters live happily ever after, but there is more to it than just how compatible they are sexually.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2010

    Spare me

    The dialogue in this book is so drippy with over the top mush that it is hard to take. There are many Pride and Prejudice sequels that are well written and believeable, but this one is not one of them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved It!!

    I enjoyed Mr. and Mrs. Fitzwilliam Darcy. A wonderful continuation of Pride & Prejudice...
    Karol
    (Awaiting Diana)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Review of Mr. & Mrs. Fitzwilliam Darcy: Two Shall Become One

    This book was the perfect "happily ever after" to Pride and Prejudice. As a reader, I wanted Darcy and Lizzy to have a great life together. I wanted them to love and respect each other after all they had gone through to finally be together. We have enough stress in our lives today and it's nice to read a book where people are happy. Yes, there are some conflicts in the book, but they work through them. I could not put this book down! It was refreshing, pleasant and satisfying. I would highly recommend that everyone read this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 209 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11