Customer Reviews for

Mr. & Mrs. Fitzwilliam Darcy: Two Shall Become One

Average Rating 3.5
( 208 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(85)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(32)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Easy, casual read.

A light easy read that holds to Austen's characters enough to keep in my library. This look at the months directly following the marriage of Elizabeth and Darcy are almost a little TOO lovey-dovey, with nothing else really happening for three quarters of the book besid...
A light easy read that holds to Austen's characters enough to keep in my library. This look at the months directly following the marriage of Elizabeth and Darcy are almost a little TOO lovey-dovey, with nothing else really happening for three quarters of the book besides them declaring their undying love and jumping in the sack 3 times(or more) a day. However, it livens up abit nearer the end , leaving one with the feeling of...that was a pretty good book.

posted by TRUEJaneFan on May 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Indeed they do, many times

Disclaimer: I'm a big fan of the Pride and Prejudice novel (I re-read it every few years), and even more so of the BBC production (with Colin Firth). The author claims to have read the book and seen all other productions, but she bases her story on the Keira Knightley f...
Disclaimer: I'm a big fan of the Pride and Prejudice novel (I re-read it every few years), and even more so of the BBC production (with Colin Firth). The author claims to have read the book and seen all other productions, but she bases her story on the Keira Knightley film. [While this movie was cinematically beautiful, and the actors were good, there were inaccuracies in the movie that would drive a true P&P fan crazy (Lady Catherine did not show up at the Bennetts in the middle of the night! And her hair was brushed!)]

Anyway, Ms. Lathan uses that film as her starting point for this book. The story takes place during the first few months of the Darcys' married life, and all they seem to do is act like hormonal teenagers--as much as three times a day, for hours at a time. These love scenes are a bit boring, not nearly as titillating as the best romantic writers (e.g. Judith McNaught) treat us to. (However, kudos to the bear rug in the bedroom).

I would have liked to see less of the sex and more of Elizabeth's first interactions with the people of Pemberley. I think being a true fan of the book, some of the plot scenarios bothered me: The Gardiners came for Christmas with no mention of their children, and Jane and Elizabeth would have managed to visit each other sometime within the first few months of their marriages.

While true Austen scholars will not enjoy this book, others who love the romance bewtween Elizabeth and Darcy may not find it so objectionable (the friend who gave this to me really liked it). I just found myself wishing for more plot and less sex.

posted by darcyfan on February 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted March 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The VERY Romantic Darcy's

    I don't even know where to start with this wonderful book. I had heard from a few people that they thought it was too explicit compared to Jane Austen. Keeping that in mind, I plunged in and I loved it! There are no more of the Victorian chaste kisses, this is a full blown romance. The story has the characters acting as any newly married couple would act. I didn't think it was very explicit at all., in fact I thought it was wonderfully written and kept me enthralled until the end. I found myself sighing once again over this couple. Darcy emerges as wonderfully romantic husband. We get to see the struggles they go through in the early days and see their love triumph. There is enough of the 'feel' of Jane_Austen to delight all fans of her novels. For me this was a great book and I'm excited that this is just the first in the series that follows this couple. I'm going to be first in line for the rest of the series!

    http://martasmeanderings.blogspot.com

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Way A Marriage Should Be...

    Sharon Lathan's book the Two Shall Become One is a must read!! After reading Pride and Prejudice, and seeing the on-screen movie I was excited to find a book that continues the wonderful story of Mr. & Mrs. Fitzwilliam Darcy so beautifully. The Two Shall Become One portrays Darcy & Elizabeth's honeymoon days through their first six months of marriage. The portrayals of their tender moments together of getting to know each other on so many different levels will have you smiling, blushing, laughing, weeping, and put you directly on the edge of your seat in anticipation of what happens next. Their loved is expressed throughout the pages of this book in such a beautiful, adoring, and passionate way. You will experience Elizabeth and Mr. Darcy's characters grow in their love and understanding of each other though many precious moments of affection, learning, and even though some turmoil along the way. In fact, you will learn a new depth to each of the characters, including Ms. Georgianna Darcy and the wonderful staff of Pemberly. The descriptions of the sceneries make you feel as if you can picture being there. Another thing that I love about this book it that there are several flashbacks to moments that occurred in their past during their engagement. The way Sharon portrays many of these moments playing out is truly wonderful.....especially their first kiss after they have become engaged. Don't miss out on this wonderfully written story.....grab a coffee, pillow and get comfortable because you won't want to put it down!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW!! Finally

    To me this is one of the best Pride & Prejudice Sequels ever written or better yet that I've ever read and believe me I've read a pretty good amount of them. It's beautiful! and thrilling! all at the same time. You will fall so completely in love with the characters that they literally end up feeling real to you. You connect with them in a way that makes it unbelievable for them to be fiction. This is a book that no matter where you are you won't want to put it down. This is the "happy ever after" of Mr. and Mrs. FItzwilliam Darcy that i hope many of you have been waiting to be read, I know that I have. Ms.Lathan has written a wonderful book that i know any P&P fan will enjoy. So sit back, relax and prepare yourself to be swept off your feet by the Darcys.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Love it!

    I loved this book. I was thrilled to have a sequel to Pride and Prejudice. Who doesn't want to know what happens after they get married? I was so excited. This book is romantic, sexy, and sweet. I couldn't put it down and then when it was over I couldn't wait for more! I was on pins and needles waiting for the next one!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved It!!

    I enjoyed Mr. and Mrs. Fitzwilliam Darcy. A wonderful continuation of Pride & Prejudice...
    Karol
    (Awaiting Diana)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Review of Mr. & Mrs. Fitzwilliam Darcy: Two Shall Become One

    This book was the perfect "happily ever after" to Pride and Prejudice. As a reader, I wanted Darcy and Lizzy to have a great life together. I wanted them to love and respect each other after all they had gone through to finally be together. We have enough stress in our lives today and it's nice to read a book where people are happy. Yes, there are some conflicts in the book, but they work through them. I could not put this book down! It was refreshing, pleasant and satisfying. I would highly recommend that everyone read this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Sequel for those who want 'the rest of the story'....

    Begininning directly where the 2005 movie version leaves off, Two Shall Become One tells the story of the marriage and growing relationship of Fitzwilliam and Elizabeth Darcy.

    In this sequel, we get a glimpse into the private lives of Mr. Darcy and his new bride. The scenes are intimate and personal. There are a lot of romantic and intimate scenes - because we are reading about a newly married couple who are deeply and passionately in love with one another. The characters in this sequel have that same raw and realistic quality that we get in the 2005 movie version directed by Joe Wright. This is not a sequel for the average Janite. Two Shall Become One takes the character Miss Austen created to a new level - making them more easily related to and more personal.

    Darcy is a man of passion and character as opposed to a man with a sordid past. Elizabeth is a loving and unrestrained new bride who enjoys being a newly married woman. This is a book about the beginning of a brand new marriage that is full of ardor and devotion - a great example of what a marriage ought to look like!

    If you loved the 2005 movie version, you will love this book!Pride & Prejudice

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Pride & Prejudice Continued!

    After watching that last scene from the Pride & Prejudice movie with Keira Knightley and Matthew Macfadden, after they kiss and the music swells, I've always wondered what happened after? Did they live happily ever after? What happened in between the engagement and the wedding? Well, wonder no longer. Sharon Lathan has taken that movie and has created a fantastic continuation. I was hooked to her book from the first paragraph. I was so happy to realize that Sharon had answered many of my questions and fantasies. WOW! I LOVED this book! I hated to book this book down when duty called. You will be so pleased with this book. I highly recommend it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Simply Amazing!!!!!

    I have never in my life read such an amazing book!!!!! I read the entire book cover to cover in one night! I could not put it down!!!! I have always been a huge pride and Prejudice fan and was so thrilled to find that the Darcy Legacy is being continued!!!! I absolutely cannot get enough!!!!! Mr. Darcy is simply scrumptious!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    THE MOST ROMANTIC SEQUEL TO DARCY AND ELIZABETH, TRULY AMAZING!!

    I always wondered what happended after the Pride and Prejudice 1995 movie and after searching and searching for a sequel deserving to it, I found this wonderful writer and Book 1 of her Saga. I would like people to read this book and enjoy and remember the happiness, the getting to know each other when you first marry, the anticipation of being alone, being together, the romance and the wonderful feeling of being in love. This book has all that plus the passion, and yes the happily ever after. I believe Jane Austen would had loved to be able to read this book and see her characters evolve and be happy and yes sensual.. because yes it is that. Darcy and Elizabeth are in their first months of marriage and it is Amazing. Sharon provides you with wonderful flashbacks before their marriage that are very enjoyable. Her attention to detail is outstanding and her characters come to live in every page. So enjoy this book, smile, and perhaps, like me, you will read and re-read it and wait anxiously for her next book in September. Read it and Fall in Love Again!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderfully presented

    I read this book twice on receipt. It gave me a great feeling of what happened after the marriage of Elizabeth and Darcy. Jane Austin could not have written this book.She was unmarried. You would need to know the joys of being newly wedded to be able to create the beginings of a successful relationship.The continuation of this novel had to be done by someone who loved the story and wanted it to continue. It was done with this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    I couldn't put it down

    This is one of the best examples of Jane Austen Fan Fiction. I felt that it was very true to the characters and writing style of Austin. Lizzie and Darcy ended up just like I hoped they would. I was touched by the depiction of the first days of their life together. After so many twists and turns, they deserved to be happy. The detail in this book was fabulous. After reading it the first time, I wanted to read it again so that I could appreciate again any details I didn't catch during the first time through. I can't wait to read the next one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    What a wonderful sequel!

    Sharon Lathan wrote an amazing sequel to Pride and Prejudice! It is amazing to follow Elizabeth and Mr. Darcy through the first months of their marriage. They are deeply in love and share their lives completeley. Celebrate Christmas at Pemberley and meet many of the beloved characters from Jane Austen´s Pride and Prejudice. Once you have started this book you can´t stop reading on and on. And don´t miss the next parts of this fantastic saga!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    Love it, Lovely, Sweetness!

    I just love this lovely and sweet story of two of my favorite characters! I have reread it so many times that I have lost count. It is such a sweet love story that it cheers me up everytime I need to reassure myself that life and love can be sweet and perfect. The author has a wonderful writing style that invites you and keeps you engaged in the lives of Mr. & Mrs. Darcy! Please read it if you like romance and sweetness!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2014

    Becoming (Book 1in the Race Series)

    -Chapter 1- Tiffany Brown

    Panic rose in my chest, filling my lungs with a fluid only I knew was there. My head throbbed and my heartbeat pulsed to the sound of fear. I stared in the gentle brown eyes slightly hardened by years of betrayal, death, and fear. Calm down, this is NOT her. It's you. Images of a smiling girl flooded my memory. I doubled over and a rough yet gently shaped hand pulled me up. I looked at my best friend Raymond White. My gaze shifted back to the mirror. I stared into the eyes and saw a glint in them that reminded me of my father. Anger and hatred replaced my fear. My fingers squeezed the trigger, a bullet shot out of the slim barrel and shattered the sleek glass. This would be the first test I didn't pass.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    Lov This A love story

    Two shall become one. A love story you will definatly love in love with! Thank you Sharen Lathan for a wonderful story of love and passion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Enjoyed this very much. Was nice to be able to follow the chara

    Enjoyed this very much. Was nice to be able to follow the characters after the wedding. Nice to see how well Elizabeth was a to take over being the mistress of Pemberly. Little disappointed that the Bingley's were not invited to the first Christmas with the Darcy's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    I love the books. she continues the story , i love how much they

    I love the books. she continues the story , i love how much they are so in love with each other. i don't know why you would not like the books. stop comparing it to the movie not  going to be like it 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    i am absolutely obsessed with this whole series, and i think the

    i am absolutely obsessed with this whole series, and i think the writing was very exceptional considering the challenge of writing in 18th century dialogue. I was appalled to have read some of the comments that said the book was horrible. i loved every second of it and could hardly put it down. However, I will admit that it does not rival Jane Austen's writing, but how could anyone expect someone to write as well as (in my opinion) one of the best female authors of all time? Anyway its one of the best P&P sequels ice ever seen and i encourage all P&P fans to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2012

    True P&P fans beware!!

    I purchased this book even after reading many of the low ratings it received as I have read so many good Pride and Predjudice spin-off that I could not believe it could be that bad. I was so wrong. The author does state that she based this off of the P&P movie version with Keira Knightley, which explains a lot about where her mindset was. Althought that version of the movie was passable it glossed over way to much of the important detail as does this book.
    If you are interested in the perceived sex life of Lizzy and Darcy then this is the book for you. It is soft core Recency porn. It lacks a decent plot, alothough if you look hard enough you will find one.
    I did read the whole book and found that you will find find many of the passages extremely repetitive. One good point though, it is a decent read, and if the characters were named something else I might have given it 2 stars. Its just much to far-fetched a tale to be associated with P&P.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5