Customer Reviews for

Mr. Timothy: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2007

    A reviewer

    When I first picked up this book I wasn't too sure of what to think about it. It was a sequel in a way that I wasn't sure a sequel should ever be, it being written by a completely different author and all, but that suspicion was torn away with the first paragraph. I fell in love with the book and could not put it down. It never dulled me and it seemed to gain new life with every incident(and there are many incidents). Each characters has a place and they are nowhere near boring. I highly suggest that anyone who hasn't pick up this book right now.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2012

    Dickens would LOVE this book!

    It has been a long long time since I read a book so wonderfully written. The entire story works only because of the author's gift of language. I laughed out loud between the dark moments and finished the book craving more.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2010

    A wonderful read

    The writing style, originality, character development make this one for my bookcase. Keeping in mind that my preference leans toward the historical fiction, I find Bayard, as a whole, is able to immerse me into a time beyond "Hollywood," bringing in the grit and filth of daily life with ordinary people in extraordinary circumstances.

    If you're a fan of this genre, I think you'll find yourself quickly consuming all his works. My only regret is the lack of books.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2004

    I loved this book!

    I had to stop myself from gobbling this book up. It has to be savoured like a good wine or better chocolate. It's Dickens with blackened teeth. It was moving, gross and funny; real and a little scary. A good tale of the Victorian class system and its underbelly.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2004

    Definitely enjoyed the twist...

    I truly enjoyed the twist to a Dickens character... who would have guessed it could be so interesting. I hope he continues with the characters. I think the characters of Philomela and Colin could enhance the life of Tim Cratchit. I plan to read other books by this author. I found myself wanting to go back and re-read Dickens classics for the viewpoint of child labor (so inhumane and unfair to society, but was tolerated during that era).

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2004

    Dickens meets Andrew Vachss

    Which you would understand, if you ever read either Mr. Dickens OR Mr. Vachss. In any event, if you read no other part of this enjoyable Christmas mystery/read, take in pages 297-303, for what may be the most profound and moving exploration into the ethos that composes the father and son relationship that ever I have read or heard.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Terrific

    Loved this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Lower your expectations for this

    I really like historical fiction and I was excited about this book. Perhaps the hype raised my expectations too high. It was fine but not great (ala the Josephine Bonaparte books which I loved). I did enjoy the references to Scrooge etc. but I did not walk away from this book with the characters living in my head. Also, the major crime committed in the book seems to be touched on fairly lightly - the author barely talks about what happens to the victims after the crime is perpetrated on them but it seems pretty important. So, if you want some light historical fiction for the plane, go for it...but lowering your expectations will help.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    Ok

    It was ok. A little boring at the begining. But it was ok.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1