Customer Reviews for

Mr. Was

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    Loveed it then, love it still...

    I love this book, and it has been a favorite of mine since I was a young teen. I am now twenty two and have read it countless times, and reccomend this book to anyone looking for an odd yet gripping tale that is, well..........unforgettable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2004

    The most realistic sci-fi thriller of all time.

    This novel combines the powers of hate, love, science, and mystery into an enigmatic time-travel thriller that is too real to not believe. The forces of destiny and the stregnth of devotion collide to form the most awesome literature compostion known to man.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    Mr. Was

    Mr. Was is one of the greatest books ive ever read. And its hard to please a 11 year old. So in your mind you should be thinking that you should be reading this book right now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    Pete hautman is my favorite author anything he writes is good this book mr. Was is one of th best books ive ever read i highly reccomend it

    Sorry forhot to type down here look up

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    What is this book about????????

    What is this book about?????????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    I agree but........

    I agree with all of the coments but the reason i love this book is because of the adventure it takes me on and....... well just everything about it !!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    Fantastic begining to end

    The idea behind book was as clever as the book was enetertaining the narrative could be a bit strange switching from first person to a style symilar to a journal, but overall i would reccomend this book to anyone ad everyone. Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2008

    Amazing

    I love this book! Its so twisty but yet it all makes sense. I have read it almost 5 times! This is my Favorite book of all time. Pete Hautman is an amazing writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2005

    Captivating and compelling novel, ideal for teens who love a good mystery

    The book is a captivating and thrilling read, perfect for anyone who enjoys twists and turns in a good mystery! This book kept me on the edge of my seat! It it a must read that can't be put down!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2005

    Interestingly excellent

    This book blew me away. All the classic books I can think of have owed their quality largely to a story that is described so effectively and intriguingly that it feels like you're reading not a description of a story, or a place, or a person, but an emotion; they make you feel the place and the mood in your heart. (Good examples: To Kill a Mockingbird and The Lord of the Flies). It's interesting, because both of the books I mentioned were the first by their respective authors (I think, don't quote me on that :) ). These authors had a story in their heart, and told it as such, probably after sifting it through the backs of their minds for quite a long time. I have a good feeling that this book is another example of the same; that this story has been long in the making before finally being told. I felt a lot of this in this book; I could really imagine the places, and most amazingly, the mood, of the story, and felt it. It's an amazing thing to experience, and somehow, this book had it too. The rest of the story was imperfect, and plot holes were abound, but the story was crafted in such a way that I really couldn't care less. For some reason, what easily could have been just another gimmicky story for a formulaic teenaged drama book turned out to be one of the most amazing books i've read in years. The reason why, I think, is because it had the feel of a classic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2004

    best book i've ever read!

    totally amazaing thriller, couldnt sleep at night when i read this book, i could not put it down. confusing but awsome. great until the last page!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2002

    Great Book

    This book reminded me a lot of Robert Cormier's books. I remember I read it when I was younger, and forgot the title. And for about 3 years I kept wondering what the title was! I finally found it and read it again. The character's, setting, and plot, were excellent! It all fit into what type of books I enjoy reading. It's haunting in a way, and I think people look for books that stay in their mind, and make them think about 20 different things. This book was about the first book I actually read that was stranger, and completely different from all the other books I read. I suggestion you carefully read it, and pay attention!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2001

    Mr Was-EXCELLENT

    This realistic thriller is outstandingly <if that is a word> great!!! I can't wait for hautman's next book. This is the best book I have read so far

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2001

    Mr. Was

    This book was AWESOME!!!! the second i picked it up i couldn't put it down. i read it in about 7 hours, and I thought it had the coolest storyline.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2000

    A twisted, thriller and fantasy book all rolled into one!!!!!

    Pete Hautman is a genious and mastermind!!! His writing is so precise and articulite, you have no trouble reading it at all!!!! This story has all the possible traits you could put in a story-HUMOR,ROMANCE,HORROR,SUSPENCE,and SCIENCE FICTION!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2000

    'A page-turning book you cant put down!'

    Pete Hauntman did a great job explaning what was going on even though it was hard to understand until you read the whole thing. A great book and i recommend it to anyone looking for adventure and non stop suspense!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2000

    Great Read

    Mr. Was is a great book! clever and realistic, i highly recommend you read this. a young adults classic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2000

    a reviewer

    it is the best book i have ever read vividly described it takes a strong mind to fully understand the complete out look of it all the best parts were when jack was writing in his notebook during the war. very emotional and shocking to the heart and mind!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2000

    Mr. Was, was great

    This book is a weird, freaky and twisted story but over all i thought of it to be a very interesting book about the present and past. Pete H., uses very complete discriptions, and tells the story in a precice manner. Mr. Was, was a very good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2