Customer Reviews for

Mr. and Miss Anonymous

Average Rating 3.5
( 171 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Readers will cherish the lead couple as they fall in love while trying to survive their amateur sleuth investigation

In 1986 needing money while attending college, Lily Madison and Peter Aaron Kelly donated at a fertility clinic where they met. Both are attracted to one another but neither is comfortable pursuing it since each hides what they are doing at the clinic.-----------------...
In 1986 needing money while attending college, Lily Madison and Peter Aaron Kelly donated at a fertility clinic where they met. Both are attracted to one another but neither is comfortable pursuing it since each hides what they are doing at the clinic.-----------------------

Two decades later at an airport, clothing designer Lily and software CEO of PAK Industries Peter run into each other. They chat but are shocked when a newscast discusses a mass murder at the California Academy of Higher Learning with the lone survivor Josh, who looks like a younger Peter. They agree to team up to learn what happened and just who Josh is.-------------------

Although over the top of the Sierras with the human experiments fans will enjoy this exhilarating romantic suspense thriller that never slows down for an instant. The story line is fast-paced from the moment Peter and Lily see each other for the first time in twenty years; both remember each other as they always wondered whether different circumstance might have made it perfect. Readers will cherish the lead couple as they fall in love while trying to survive their amateur sleuth investigation.----------

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on April 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

sloppy

I usually love Fern and am in fact re-reading another one of her books, but this book was all over the place. I didn't bond with the main characters and didn't like their fast-paced romance. I enjoyed the 2nd tier characters much more!!

posted by Sumrsafire on May 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 179 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted April 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Readers will cherish the lead couple as they fall in love while trying to survive their amateur sleuth investigation

    In 1986 needing money while attending college, Lily Madison and Peter Aaron Kelly donated at a fertility clinic where they met. Both are attracted to one another but neither is comfortable pursuing it since each hides what they are doing at the clinic.-----------------------

    Two decades later at an airport, clothing designer Lily and software CEO of PAK Industries Peter run into each other. They chat but are shocked when a newscast discusses a mass murder at the California Academy of Higher Learning with the lone survivor Josh, who looks like a younger Peter. They agree to team up to learn what happened and just who Josh is.-------------------

    Although over the top of the Sierras with the human experiments fans will enjoy this exhilarating romantic suspense thriller that never slows down for an instant. The story line is fast-paced from the moment Peter and Lily see each other for the first time in twenty years; both remember each other as they always wondered whether different circumstance might have made it perfect. Readers will cherish the lead couple as they fall in love while trying to survive their amateur sleuth investigation.----------

    Harriet Klausner

    12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    LOVED IT

    I was instantly immersed into this fantastic, believably written story.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2009

    sloppy

    I usually love Fern and am in fact re-reading another one of her books, but this book was all over the place. I didn't bond with the main characters and didn't like their fast-paced romance. I enjoyed the 2nd tier characters much more!!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    would not recommend this book

    This book was very unrealistic even for Fern Michaels. Would not recommend wasting your money on this book.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2011

    just ok

    this book was written like a grade 6 novel. it had some good points, but not great

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Plot Premise ~ Aweful Writing

    This is the first Fern Michaels book I have read, and it is very likely the last. The Premise of the story was great, but I found the develop of that story lacking. There were many problem with the book ~ the main characters came to conclusions that should not have been possible for them with the information that they had; many of the character's situations were unrealistic/unbelievable; the introduction of ghosts was just plain silly and unnecessary; and although Pete found some closure, Lily didn't seem to mind in the end that she hadn't. On top of all this, at times it wasn't even easy to read, often with very little and/or no smooth transition from one event to another. It was even difficult to tell who was speaking at times. This could have been a great book, but instead, it was a lesson on how NOT to write a story!!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2009

    Unhappy reader

    I love Fern Michaels books. But this is the worst book I've read in a long time. Depressing, unbelievable!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Best read in a while

    Loved the characters plus the story was great. Couldnt put it down. I really connected with her characters and had to see where things would lead to. This one book has made me a fan for life.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2009

    Mr. and Mrs. Anonymous--Michaels creates another heartstopper

    College senior Lily Madison is on her own and desperate to pay for her last semester of school. With nowhere to turn, she makes the difficult decision to donate her eggs to a fertility clinic. Sam Parker is also a penniless student who supplements his tuition money by visiting a sperm bank. One day, Lily and Sam meet at the clinic and talk about their secret. Despite their obvious attraction, Lily and Sam go their separate ways.

    Now a wealthy entrepreneur, Sam never forgot Lily, and when he sees her in an airport one day, he falls for her all over again. But while they enjoy their unlikely reunion, a story on the news has them riveted. Two teenage boys are missing and their disappearance may be linked to the fertility clinic Sam and Lily visited in college. In a shocking twist, one of the boys looks exactly like Sam.

    Lily and Sam are determined to find out what really went on at the clinic all those years ago, but the truth will be more than they bargained for. Together they discover that letting go of their past is the best way to build a future worth fighting for.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    I thought is was a very good read

    I thought is was a very good read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Bad

    This book was HORRIFIC. First Ferm Michaels book i have ever read and im not sure i will be reading anymore. Easily one of the worst books ive ever read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2012

    The writing was terrible... i couldn't even finish the book. I

    The writing was terrible... i couldn't even finish the book. I tried, but the writing and scenarios were so out of touch with the reader I finally gave up. It was like a 5th grader wrote the book. It read like a first draft that the author was just trying to get out the main idea of the story and then never looked at it again. The dialogue was boring and unrealistic and annoying. I did not care what happened to the main characters at all. Sorry to be harsh, I have a lot of respect for authors to put themselves out there, but seriously, the editor who let this through the cracks should rethink their career.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2012

    Not worth the money

    Preposterous plot! Unbelievable characters! We are to believe a billionaire and a multi-millionaire go sleuthing behind the FBI's back! Silly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Don't waste your money or time.

    This is an extremely poorly written book. The premise is screwy and the characters are so badly drawn as to be almost laughable. I read lots of books and have seldom read one so bad. I read it through, hoping for something to come of it, but nothing did. Do yourselves a favor and re-read an old favorite or try something totally new, but don't waste your time on this book. I think this is the first Fern Michaels book I've read and it will definitely be the last.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    Not Michael's best effort

    I have read many Fern Michael's books over the years. I didn't feel this one was up to the standard of most of her other books. It was very predictable, but also not very realistic. It seemed like it ended pretty abruptly, with several isues left unresolved. Maybe that was on purpose to set the stage for a series, but I'm not sure I would read more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Great story

    This was an easy read. Wonderful author. Will be reading more of these book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Ok

    Ok, so I just read the free sample of this book and it was notI rated it great. I mean it. That is why I rated it 2 stars. Also, person who rated this book "fun" I am not sure if you can use the phrase "could not put it down" for a nook, beacause technically, it is an e-book, not a real book which you could physically put down. Know what I mean?

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2010

    So bad

    The writing of this book, the metaphors, the ghosts...just crazy. I hated this book. It was a complete waste of time to read it.
    Here is one of the sentences...he hummed the Lyrics of the lasted rod stewart song. Good Grief. I am afrain that Fern is losing it.
    Sorry. sad but true.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    My first Fern Michaels book

    This was an interesting, fast paced, well writing story. I loved the way the characters jelled throughout the story. I couldn't put the book down. Looking forward to enjoying more books by this author.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2013

    Great Read, fast, entertaining and a must read.

    This is yet another of Fern Michaels great books, it is a very quick read, hate to put down kind of book. I highly recommend this to those folks who have read her books in the past. I anxiously await her newest novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 179 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9