Customer Reviews for

Mrs. Kimble

Average Rating 4
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

FEMINISM CAN'T BEAT MARRIAGE!

Why do women marry? Why do women marry the wrong man? "Mrs. Kimble" addresses marriage from the 1960's through the 1990's. What makes a woman want to marry? Social pressure? Need? Dreams? In this book, one man charms his way into the lives of three women and leav...
Why do women marry? Why do women marry the wrong man? "Mrs. Kimble" addresses marriage from the 1960's through the 1990's. What makes a woman want to marry? Social pressure? Need? Dreams? In this book, one man charms his way into the lives of three women and leaves behind questionable love, confusion and children. That is nothing compared to what he takes from each marriage.

I enjoyed this book very much. It is an easy read, but glossed over years. I would have liked to read more about the characters through the years rather than over the years. Maybe it was written this way to show the main character's character. I do recommend reading "Mrs. Kimble".

posted by bookwormmom4 on July 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not my favorite book

I thought this was a fairly simple read. But what was the point? It was about a man who married three times. I think it would've been a much more facscinating read if he'd been married to all three at the same time...and the plot unfolds as the three women figure things...
I thought this was a fairly simple read. But what was the point? It was about a man who married three times. I think it would've been a much more facscinating read if he'd been married to all three at the same time...and the plot unfolds as the three women figure things out.

The way the author conveniently threw in Mr. Kimble's son in the last few pages of the book was misleading since the back cover said the son was interwoven throughout the story.

Also, I thought it was very strange that the author wrote - also in the last few pages - about wife #2's brother coming to visit wife #3 and telling her things (i.e. Mr. K's lies) about his life with wife #2. What was the point? She already knew he was a loser. It's not like that conversation added much and it was just strange.

I noticed an error at the end of the book, too. Brandan mentioned he didn't want to end up like his dad in a hospital bed with tubes...yet at this point in the book his dad was missing. Perhaps he was talking about when his dad had a heart attack, but that had already passed and it read like an error, I thought.

Not a book I can reccommend. The wives were depressing, the children were troubled, and the husband was a loser. Not a fun, entertaining escape of a read.

posted by lorizitz on March 3, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted July 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    FEMINISM CAN'T BEAT MARRIAGE!

    Why do women marry? Why do women marry the wrong man? "Mrs. Kimble" addresses marriage from the 1960's through the 1990's. What makes a woman want to marry? Social pressure? Need? Dreams? In this book, one man charms his way into the lives of three women and leaves behind questionable love, confusion and children. That is nothing compared to what he takes from each marriage.

    I enjoyed this book very much. It is an easy read, but glossed over years. I would have liked to read more about the characters through the years rather than over the years. Maybe it was written this way to show the main character's character. I do recommend reading "Mrs. Kimble".

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Mrs. Jones' keeping up with the outdated standard

    Amazing consolidation of generational views towards how both women see marriage in their lives and how men see women in marriage. The three women Mr. Kimble ends up with are unique, intelligent and challenged women in their own right, add him to the mix and the story is not always going to end happy. As much as one would want to blame him for all the errors and complications in their lives, the women played their own cards and were always content settling for less except when kids were involved. I feel this book highlights exactly why kids are not a valid reason to stay in failed marriages. It was refreshing to read a book about real life that wasn't plastic, but real for a change. I am delighted this book was recommended to me and I enjoyed it much more than expected. However, it is not a book for everyone, if you are the kind of person who believes true love conquers all, don't read this book, it will be too real for your perceptions.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    Who is the Real Mrs. Kimble By: Vanessa S.

    What do a poor drunk woman, a rich woman with breast cancer, and a waitress have in common? The answer is Ken Kimble. Hence the books title Mrs. Kimble. Haigh winds you around the bizarre twists and turns of Ken Kimble¿s love life.<BR/> Ken Kimble has a very perplexing personality. First, Haigh makes the reader believe that Ken Kimble is a choir director at a Southern Bible college. The thing that sets a little doubt in the readers mind about Mr. Kimble is that he runs off and marries one of his students, Birdie. Birdie and Ken have two children, but one day Ken leaves. Not only does this cause a lot of emotional damage on the children, it makes Birdie turn to alcohol to solve her problems.<BR/> Joan becomes Kimble¿s next wife/victim. The bells go off in your head that something is not quite right about him because he was engaged to another woman before he stared dating Joan. In this stage of his life, Ken is staged as a hippie, until he meets Joan¿s uncle and then he goes into real estate. Joan¿s father had just recently died and she had been living in his mansion. At their wedding, Ken makes Joan believe he is Jewish. Remember he was a teacher at a Baptist school in his last marriage. Joan wants children. Fortunately Joan and Ken aren¿t able to have any. Ken decides to do another shady thing; he kidnaps his children from his first marriage. Luckily the kids are smart enough to run away back to their alcoholic mother. Joan gets breast cancer, again and dies. She leaves Ken everything.<BR/> A few years later, Ken marries yet again. This time he marries the babysitter of his first marriage. He marries a waitress, Dinah. In the last chapter of his life, Ken becomes a very rich man. He buys houses and then sells them for cheap to low-income families. This doesn¿t make sense how he is making a profit. Obviously he isn¿t building them up to the government¿s standards. The government realizes this and goes after Kimble. As always, two steps ahead, Ken goes on the lamb.<BR/> What baffles me is it appears as if each woman becomes happier with Ken Kimble in her life. Obviously he is fake and has multiple personalities. He has issues and needs counseling. Each time things get rough in his marriages he leaves.<BR/> Haigh used a really neat way of defining the narrator. She titled the chapters by who the main narrator is. Interestingly, there are only three chapters. Of course they are titled Birdie, Joan and Dinah. Haigh does a very good job of using imagery. If you really analyze the story being told and the diction she uses, you get a better understanding of what she is trying to say to you. <BR/> Mrs. Kimble is really enjoyable book to read. It¿s one of those you just can¿t put down. I would recommend this book to a female audience because they would appreciate the essence of the novel.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2009

    Not my favorite book

    I thought this was a fairly simple read. But what was the point? It was about a man who married three times. I think it would've been a much more facscinating read if he'd been married to all three at the same time...and the plot unfolds as the three women figure things out.

    The way the author conveniently threw in Mr. Kimble's son in the last few pages of the book was misleading since the back cover said the son was interwoven throughout the story.

    Also, I thought it was very strange that the author wrote - also in the last few pages - about wife #2's brother coming to visit wife #3 and telling her things (i.e. Mr. K's lies) about his life with wife #2. What was the point? She already knew he was a loser. It's not like that conversation added much and it was just strange.

    I noticed an error at the end of the book, too. Brandan mentioned he didn't want to end up like his dad in a hospital bed with tubes...yet at this point in the book his dad was missing. Perhaps he was talking about when his dad had a heart attack, but that had already passed and it read like an error, I thought.

    Not a book I can reccommend. The wives were depressing, the children were troubled, and the husband was a loser. Not a fun, entertaining escape of a read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2009

    Great book

    I couldn't stop reading this book. It has a great story line. A great read for the beach or a rainy day.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2008

    Read it practically straight through

    I really enjoyed this book. It is definitely a quick read. I wanted to get to the end to see what would happen.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2014

    Yjbgghjg

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2014

    I loved this book, it was never boring. 

    I loved this book, it was never boring. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    Constant reader

    Enjoyed this story look forward to more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    A good Read

    Mrs. Kimble gives the story of the three wives of Mr. Kimble. Through the lives of his wives, we learn what kind of man Mr. Kimble is....interesting approach using different points of view to tell the story in three segments.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2011

    I really liked it!

    I purchased this book when it was on sale. I did not have high hopes but there were several high ratings. I really enjoyed it. It was a quick read but I could not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Read Ms. Haigh's books in reverse order; rarely is an earlier book NOT disappointing!

    Ms. Haigh is an author of sympathetic character development, attempting (and usually accomplishing) whom you will warm/not warm to without you at first realizing it. An incredible ability to leave you with questions you want to have answered though not necessarily intricate to the story. The novels only get better with each writing. My "repetoire" is quite eclectic, but she has definitely been added to my list of excellent authors, e.g. Conroy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2009

    Mrs. Kimble

    I was pleasantly surprised by Mrs. Kimble. I don't normally buy books from outside sources because I belong to a book club and usually order from that company. I recently joined a family book club and Mrs. Kimble was the suggested reading for the next get-together. Once I started reading it, I could not put it down. Went on vacation with it and every chance I got, I was reading Mrs. Kimble.

    I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who likes books dealing with relationships.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Really enjoyed this book!

    This was a very entertaining and easy read book. I found myself trying to tell these characters to run as fast they could to get away from Mr. Kimble. I would recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2008

    loved to hate him.

    just thought it was a simple good read. loved to hate him!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2008

    Very good book

    Very well written, fun book to read. I really enjoyed the 3 different perspectives on the same 'Loser'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2008

    Liar, Liar....What you try to AVOID

    The character was very interesting 'Mr. Ken Kimble'. The book spans his life...from the end, and then we relive it from the beginning of his marital life. Ken Kimble is a leach--sucking the good of all the women and then disposing them when all the 'goodness' is gone from them. The author had a great story line, and reveals little by little to keep you interested. Very fun read, and I will read more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2008

    What a creep...

    I loved this book. The main character is a total creep but it was interesting to see what he would do next. I really liked this one alot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2007

    Excellent Story Line

    Read this book!! I fell in love with every character minus Mr. Kimble. It kept me turning pages and wondering what would happen next. I read a lot and this is a good one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2007

    Quick read, but not great

    This book was OK. I think the major problem I had with it was I didn't really like any of the characters so I had a hard time caring what happened to them. It was a mindless quick read. Sometimes that's what your looking for. If it is, then this is the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4