BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Mrs. Perfect

Average Rating 4.5
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted February 5, 2013

    Another great read from Jane Porter! I love Jane's work, so I w

    Another great read from Jane Porter! I love Jane's work, so I wasn't surprised to enjoy Mrs. Perfect. This is one of my favorite of her single title contemporaries, though. I love how she managed to make the unlikeable (to me, at least) Taylor Young so sympathetic to the reader. Jane created a story in which a woman's life crumbles around her, her children are unhappy, her marriage is in trouble, and she has to do the unthinkable, turn to her enemy for help. Instead of gleefully watching her get her comeuppance, though, it's written in such a way that we feel that Taylor has grown, that she will adapt, and we root for her. It's one of my favorite Jane Porter titles, and I'd highly recommend it to anyone who loves women's fiction. Mrs. Perfect would be especially enjoyable if you read Odd Mom Out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2010

    Just finished...

    And it was TRUELY a great book. I know that I will read it again! ;)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW!!

    This was another amazing story! If you are a woman between 30-50 years old--you can relate to SOME part of this book. The characters and topic were very real. I love Jane's writing style!~It is funny, sad, and romantic all in one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Go get 'em girls!

    I bought this book not really knowing what to expect. I don't normally read anything like it but decided to give it a try. It was a breath of fresh air! At first, I didn't think I'd be able to identify with the characters or their way of living but within a few chapters I was hooked. I came to love the main character. She was a real woman and learned to rely on her internal strengths to support her family when they needed it. This was truely a book about learning how strong you can be even when you think you don't have it in you. I can't wait to read other books by Jane Porter.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Mrs. Perfect

    Being perfect is hard. I wouldn't know, but according to Taylor Young, Mrs. Perfect, it is hard work

    Mrs. Perfect was the first Jane Porter book that I have read and I thoroughly enjoyed her writing. She writes intelligent and interesting characters. At first, I was not sure that I could stomach Taylor's shallow ways, but the more I read, the more I could see that Taylor was far from Mrs. Perfect. She was human.

    Mrs. Perfect was an enjoying read. Perfect for the beach or the airport. I will certainly be looking for more of Ms. Porter's work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2010

    One of my favorite authors

    Mrs. Perfect was the first book I had read of Jane Porter's and I loved it! Since reading it, I have read every one of her books and am waiting eagerly for her to put out new books all stemming from Odd Mom Out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    This is pretty good mommy lit right here. Her writing style is

    This is pretty good mommy lit right here. Her writing style is easy, comfortable and she has 'mommy chapters' which give you a great feeling of success even when you can only read in the short intervals between going to bed and falling asleep.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    I didn┬┐t want to like this book, but felt I needed to read it si

    I didn’t want to like this book, but felt I needed to read it since I had read the other 3 books in this series (I did not read them in the right order which didn’t matter.) I didn’t think that I could relate to Taylor at all. Porter pleasantly surprised me, and by the end of the book I cheering for Taylor and had a much better understanding of her. I should have known that Porter would surprise me and make me love the book and Taylor the way I do all her books. Once again I have learned to never judge a book by the cover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2013

    I truly enjoyed this book. Life isn't always what it seems for

    I truly enjoyed this book. Life isn't always what it seems for a lot of us. We try to live the perfect life and hold up the image. But, sometimes, only you know what's really going on at home. Taylor has it or, or so it seems, until her husband loses his job. They have many struggles along the way, but it all works out because love overrules everything.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    Every girl dreams of growing up to be a beautiful woman with a g

    Every girl dreams of growing up to be a beautiful woman with a great husband, amazing children and living in a picture perfect house.  Taylor Young is no different.  She not only wanted all of that, she achieved it.  However, her perfect life is about to change.  She finds out that her husband has been secretly unemployed for months and the person that she considered her rival, Marta Zinsser, may just end up being a close friend after all.  




    This is a great story of wanting the fairy tale life, getting the fairy tale life and watching in diminish before your eyes.  It also renews your faith in friends and makes you realize that what you see on the outside isn't always what's going on in the inside.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    A new Jane Porter fan

    I loved this book! Jane Porter is an amazing character driven author who writes books that I love to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2011

    Fun read -- But Read "Odd Mom Out" first!

    Somehow, the you begin to root for who you once thought of as the villian. Fun "mom lit".... still love Marta's character. An enjoyable read about how people can change, or how being your true self is always the best bet. Would love to see a 3rd in this series, that also addresses the children and how they evolve... but bring back more Marta and Luke!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good light read

    This was a good easy read with a great reminder of what is important in life!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2011

    For those moms who juggle it all!

    This was my second Jane Porter read, I first read Odd Mom Odd a couple of days prior. Mrs. Perfect really delved into Taylor's life and made me realize she is me and many women I know! I think the negative comments are from those women who try and personify Taylor/Mrs. Perfect and get upset when criticized about trying to do too much. This book touched on the realities of many moms, stay at home and working, and showed how we are more alike than not. Even if you are not a mom, this is a good book, focusing on the perils of marriage and true friendship. A good (quick) read for the beach or a long weekend. I can't wait to read some of Jane's other titles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    Great read! so much more depth than I expected!

    A great story with a lot of truth about how wives and moms REALLY feel. But still manages to be sweet and funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    Present imperfect?

    I hate to confess to the guilty pleasure of reading books like this, which I assume are intended to make idle slackers like myself feel better. But I fervently hope that over-privileged mothers like Taylor live more meaningful lives than the vapid 'before' scenario presented here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2011

    Pretty Good Book

    Ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Mrs. Perfect by Jane Porter is Damn Near Perfect!

    4.5 STARS

    I didn't think I was going to love Mrs. Perfect by Seattle author Jane Porter as much as I loved her preceding work, Odd Mom Out, but as it turns out, not only did I love it as much, I love it more! When I started reading the book, I had a preconceived notion of who the main character, Taylor Young, was. She was introduced in Mom Odd Out and appeared to be Marta Zinsser's complete opposite, not to mention nemesis.

    Taylor Young is a beautiful trophy wife with control issues who lives in a fairy-tale world with her handsome, high-earning, ex-quarterback husband, Nathan - in the dream home she decorated - with their three exquisite little girls, Jemma, Brooke and Tori in Bellevue, Washington. To anyone who looks at her from the outside, Taylor is Mrs. Perfect. However, as we read this book, we watch in amazement at how Jane Porter peels back the layers of Taylor's character to reveal a woman that I didn't loathe, but rather fell in love with, just like I did with Marta Zinsser in Odd Mom Out.

    Taylor's perfect life has begun to unravel when her husband takes a job in Omaha after finally admitting to her that for the past year he hasn't been working, and because they've been spending way beyond their means for a very long time, they are now millions of dollars in debt and are going to lose their dream home. Taylor Young not only rises to the challenge of a very difficult situation, but she shows everyone around her what she's truly made of. Even though she's falling apart inside, she manages to make the most delicious lemonade out of the hairy lemons in her life. She matures on a visceral, cerebral, and spiritual level before our eyes and we love her for sharing her difficult journey with us.

    "You're bad. I silently repeat the last one as I load the dishwasher, knowing these voices are part of that horrible, hollow feeling inside of me. But I'm not hollow, and I'm not horrible. For all my mistakes, I do love my girls, and I try my best to take care of them. For all my flaws and my vanity and pride, I do love Nathan, and I love him with all my heart. The truth is, I do try. I always try.

    Maybe Marta's right about something else. Maybe trying your best, and doing your best, even if it's not perfect, is enough.

    Maybe it's unrealistic to think I can be perfect.

    Or to put it in Marta-speak, that's why we have religion. God's perfect. We're human."

    Jane Porter knows how to write a meaningful, emotional story for women. She knows how to find the chord that connects us all and how to tug on it to get our attention. She reminds us that many other people in this world are in the same boat as we are and she makes us feel as if we have a cheerleading team behind us, letting us know that we're going to be better than fine...that things are going to turn out great!

    Her contemporary style is flawless and she speaks my language, fluently. She moved me to tears again with this book and in the three books of hers that I've read, she's managed to climb very close to the top of my favourite authors list. Don't let the candy-coloured book covers fool you. These books are much more substantial than a box of chocolates or a slice of cake. I can't wait to go and buy her latest 5 Spot release, Easy on The Eyes. It's at my local bookstore and I know exactly the shelf it's on.

    If you're looking for a wonderful read with marvelous characterization and relevant contemporary themes, look no further than the divine Ms. Jane Porter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    Good for a different perspective and some laughs.

    I enjoyed reading the book and finished it because I wanted to know what happened with the characters, but was not 'glued' to the book. I love the books that grab you and you cannot put them down - this was not one of those books for me. It did give me a different perspective on the lifestyle of the rich want-to-be's and what drives them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2008

    A Perfect Book

    This book follows Jane Porters 'Odd Mom Out'. Yet another Jane Porter book I could not put down! I absolutely love the characters in this book series and I am anxiously awaiting for the next one to hit the shelves...Yes there is another one coming!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4