Customer Reviews for

Mrs Piggle-Wiggle

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 29, 2013

    MRS PIGGLE-WIGGLE is an young children's book that begins a seri

    MRS PIGGLE-WIGGLE is an young children's book that begins a series that is nearly 50 years old, but the subjects are timeless. Mrs Piggle-Wiggle is a very round and jovial old lady who lives in an upside down house, smells like cookies, and loves children.  She used to be married to a pirate and has a back yard full of treasure.  Children love her too, and find their days filled with fun whenever they are around her.  But she countenances no bad behavior.  Best part of that is her "cures" for all different behavior issues.




    Each chapter has a child doing something naughty.  Their parents are hard pressed to solve these issues on their own.  A phone call to Mrs Piggle-Wiggle provides an fun, interesting and very remarkable solution that sent this reader into fits of laughter at times.  As practical solutions, they definitely make sense.  Each chapter would be fun to read with children to set up a possible fun discussion with your own child or grandchild.  Looking forward to reading more adventures with this lovely, funny old lady!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    It's is a wonderful story, full of magic and make believe, what

    It's is a wonderful story, full of magic and make believe, what a real children's story should read like

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    Perhaps not.

    Kids used to love these silly stories, however as the purchasing auntie and retired librarian I have to admit that all the stories are written to the same formula. Ethnic stereotyping has had its day. The Irish brogue speaking woman in one of the chapters is an unfortunate stereotype. We have become more sensitive to people of all persuasions and perhaps the time has come to let this book go. Sorry Barnes & N.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2012

    Mrs. Piggle Wiggle written by Betty Macdonald and pictures by Hi

    Mrs. Piggle Wiggle written by Betty Macdonald and pictures by Hilary Knight. Mrs. Piggle Wiggle’s house is built upside down the roof sticks strait down in the ground and everything follows the porch is upside down. It is brown everything is turned right side up in side of course could you imagine trying to eat diner upside down or sleep.
    Mrs. Piggle Wiggle is a genius everyone who knows here says, she knows cures for everything like not putting toys away, talking back, selfishness and many more. Her personal appearance is she is very small and has a hump on here back, Mrs. Piggle Wiggle has sparkly dark brown eyes and hair she keeps long and brown.
    I would recommend this book to children ages 6-10 it is a great children’s book I think your child would love it. Betty Macdonald has truly out done here self in this novel it could even be a book for children older than that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    Timeless

    This book is great for today. Story is of a time when kids actually played without technology. I read this in 2nd grade 15 years ago. I read it to my 4 year old and he loves it. Silly antics and great imagination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2009

    Fantastic Children's Book

    I've loved this book since childhood and look forward to sharing it with my own children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Childhood Favorite

    This is the book that got me reading as a child. My first grade teacher read it aloud for my class, and I loved it! I borrowed a copy from a friend on the bus ride home, and devoured the book.

    As a mother, I enjoy the book just as well. My five- and three-year-olds beg me to read Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle to them. The stories are whimsical and full of hyperbole, and the vocabulary is excellent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2008

    Terrific!

    In this book Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle, Mrs. Piggle-wiggle helps children with there problems.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2008

    I love this book

    This is a wonderful Fiction book. My favorite ch. is The Never Want To Go To Bedders cure. I like it because I never want to go to bed. I also enjoy staying up late & playing games instead of going to bed. Even though you need your sleep. I absolutely love this book. I absolutely hate going to bed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2007

    A reviewer

    After reading this book, my kids have learned a fun way to clean their room and make their beds. This book shows how silly being selfish or arguing really are. A fun family read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2007

    Like a blessed grandma

    Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle is like every child's grandma who never scolds, spanks or ridicules, but deals with children in a positive and reasonable way to get them to do the right thing, and that's smart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2006

    Favorite Book As A Child

    I loved the Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle series as a child, and now my 8 year old daughter enjoys reading the books as well! Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle has wonderful lessons for children that are full of humor. I wish she had written even more books...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2004

    Mrs. Piggle Wiggle Brews Up Creative Cures!

    Our group enjoyed the collection of cures that Mrs. Piggle Wiggle created for children in need of help for not wanting to clean their rooms, selfishness...and a group favorite- not wanting to take baths 'The Radish Cure'. Mrs. Piggle Wiggle was very clever and inventive. We liked how the children didn't even realize that they were being cured of their bad habits because they were having so much fun with Mrs. Piggle Wiggle in her upside- down house.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2004

    My boys Love this book

    I have two boys 6yrs and 9yrs. They just love this book. Each Chapter would spark conversation between the boys. It is a great book to read as a family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2003

    Excellent book!

    When I was in elementary school 20-odd years ago, my teacher read the Mrs. Piggle Wiggle series to us. It is timeless and witty. I remembered how much I loved these stories when I started reading them to my 5 year old son!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2003

    Piggle-wiggle teaches important lessons

    Mrs. Piggle-wiggle uses cunning and creativy to help the children of her small town through their rebelious phases. She does this through a type of parental structure, if jonny only likes to eat off small plates then only give him small plates and don't let him eat off the large ones...ect. These stories are entertaining and certenly made me want to do things the 'right way' least my parents get smart and read the book as well. Piggle-wiggle is a great story for children and teaches them creativity and also respect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2003

    Fan for years

    I grew up reading Mrs Piggle Wiggle, and now I enjoy reading all of the Mrs. Piggle Wiggle books to my daughter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2002

    Drama, Adventure, and...Temper Tantrums?

    In Betty MacDonald¿s fictional story Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle, the author tells the story of a lonely woman who enjoys helping children with their problems. Even though Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle lives alone, she has a great imagination that aids her in helping the children get through their rebellious stages. Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle was not always like this. When she was a little girl, she used to look up at the ceiling and wonder what it would be like if the house were upside-down. So when she got married and moved out of her parent¿s house, Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle built her house upside-down. After Mr. Piggle-Wiggle died Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle lived all alone in her upside-down house. She had only her dog and her cat to keep her company. After a while, she got lonely and wanted someone to share her house with. One night a girl came to her door with a very serious problem. When Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle was able to use her imagination to help this child, she decided that she would use all that she had to help all she could. This book is about many of the cures that Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle has come up with in order to help the children¿s parents solve problems at home. Each story brings excitement and fun to a house full of kids. The words may be a little difficult for small children to understand, but many children enjoy having this story read aloud to them. Mrs. Piggel-Wiggle is a great book for children with wild imaginations. If you are having problems with your child, you may want to read Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle to find out what she does to solve the many problems that she faces every day. In order to find out how Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle¿s cures work so well, you¿ll have to read all about her and all the children who come to her house in the book, Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2002

    Mrs.Childrens Docter

    I read the book and if I was a mother I would use those cures!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2001

    Past Down For Centurys!

    I am a 13 year old teenager from Delaware and I love this book! I will pass this book down to my kids and so on. To summarize this book is about a nanny named Mrs.PiggleWiggle who knows all of the tricks of the trade. She can cure almost every case.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2