Customer Reviews for

Mrs. Poe

Average Rating 4
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 7, 2013

    One of my all time favorite authors is Edgar Allan Poe. So when

    One of my all time favorite authors is Edgar Allan Poe. So when I heard that they were making an historical fiction book based on his life, I was super excited. I was even more excited when I found out that I would get the chance to review it.

    I received this book from NetGalley with no compensation in exchange for an honest review.

    I ended up reading this book in one night! The author went to great lengths to get the majority of details as close to real as possible. I felt transported back through time so that I would be spending the evening chatting with Edgar Allan Poe and many of his other peers.

    I loved the fact that she didn't go down the route of Edgar Allan Poe being completely insane and drug addled. Many literary scholars now believe that version of Poe's life was falsified after postmortem by one of his rivals. Yes, he had his demons. He was a heavy drinker which seems to be extremely common during that period in history. However, he did go on the wagon once he started having his poetic affair with Francis Osgood.

    If you like good historical fiction or are just a huge Edgar Allan Poe fan like me, then you need to pick up this book as soon as it hits the shelves in October! (Just in time for the anniversary of his death October 7, 1849)

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2013

    Danger, sensuality, mystery and passion fill the pages of this

    Danger, sensuality, mystery and passion fill the pages of this bewitching story set in the crowded cobbled streets, alleyways, cheap boardinghouses and literary gatherings of mid-nineteenth century New York City. Everyone warns the lovely, near penniless poet Mrs. Osgood, a deserted wife with two young children, to stay away from the dark-eyed writer Edgar Allen Poe who has fallen in love with her. She writes tender verses; he creates blood-curdling tales but he is darker than his writing, carrying secrets of his frail much younger wife and his heinous past. Even when Mrs. Osgood understands that someone is trying to kill her because of him, she cannot put aside her passion until it is almost too late.

    MRS> POE is real page turner from one of our most skillful novelists!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    When I saw this on Netgalley, my interest was immediately piqued

    When I saw this on Netgalley, my interest was immediately piqued. I’ve had a fascination with Edgar Allan Poe since I read “The Tell-Tale Heart” in middle school. Even though I’ve shied away from historical fiction in the past, I knew I had to get my hands on this book.

    While I’ve read some of his works and a biography on him, I won’t pretend I’m an expert on Edgar Allan Poe. And other than hearing her name before, I have very little knowledge at all of Frances Osgood. Luckily, whether or not you have any knowledge of the two main characters makes little to no difference at all when reading this book.

    Lynn Cullen fills in the gaps about what we know of Osgood and Poe and their relationship. She creates, what I feel is, a believable story about Osgood and Poe’s love affair. She weaves in some darkness with Mrs. Poe (with both her sickness and her obvious knowledge of her husband’s affair). In all, we’re presented with a rather unique story.

    It was clear to me that Cullen had certainly done her research before she wrote this book. It certainly made me wonder about what actually happened between Osgood and Poe.

    *This book was received from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. *

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    A must-read novel for any historical fiction reader! As an avid

    A must-read novel for any historical fiction reader! As an avid fan of EAP, I was drawn in with the title, but the story kept me turning the pages! Thank you, Lynn Cullen for this masterfully written book that is sure to delight Poe aficionados and first-time fans alike.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2014

    I wasn't sure of what I was expecting when first deciding to rea

    I wasn't sure of what I was expecting when first deciding to read and review this novel. Maybe a memoir of sorts or a tale so much more ordinary. But this...it was absolutely exquisite in its telling. A shivery tale that was not intended but which thrilled me to my very core. Almost as much as the characters, or most of them anyway, in this book were by the poem "The Raven."

    And speaking of "The Raven", I do not know a time when I have heard it mentioned so much. I mean, every other chapter or two someone was asking poor Mr. Poe to recite it. I literally sighed with frustration every time someone queried about it. I loved that, though, because it kind of emulates how things truly are. People find something that they adore, a poem or story, and then they work it to death.

    Now on to the characters. Edgar Allan Poe is a subject that many are familiar with, but I have to say that I knew little about his wife or mistress. I just knew they existed in a sense as to have made him a bit of who he was as a person, just like everyone all of us will ever meet will influence us. I actually truly loved how Frances brought out this light in Poe. He seems so dark and brooding in the beginning that it felt as if he basically considered the world an annoyance. But when she came along, I have to say, he writing became considerably brighter, even if only in poems to her, he seemed, dare I say it, happy.

    And his wife...WOW!!! Um...she was quite interesting. Seriously, though, I felt so many emotions toward her: fear, pity, fear...Okay, so maybe two words in all, but considering she was dying throughout all of this, she was a tough cookie. She was bound and determined to see Poe go with her in the end.

    All around, I loved the characters in this. The main ones (Frances, Poe, Mrs. Poe) and the not-so-main. The obnoxious and the downright deplorable. The understanding and the not-so-understanding. Everyone brought something to the table. Right down to the kitten, Miss Poe. Each brings another level to the affair which forms between Poe and Frances.

    Not a disappointment at all. In fact, I absolutely fell in love with it. There are really no other words to describe this story. I can only shake my head in satisfaction and say, "Go on...pick it up. You'll love it from its first line all the way to its last."

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    Riveting

    I had read good reviews on this book, but they could not prepare me for what I was about to experience. Being a Poe admirer myself, it was an amazing experience to connect with the characters portrayed in this book. Lynn Cullen did a wonderful job of piecing together bits of history to paint a brand new image of Poe. Needless to say, I could not put it down and highly encourage the reading of this wonderful book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    MRS POE is a fantastic novel! I highly recommend it. I loved oth

    MRS POE is a fantastic novel! I highly recommend it. I loved other novels about women who had love affairs with famous men (Hemingway for the Paris Wife and 
    Frank Lloyd Wright for Loving Frank) and that in itself intrigued me - I hadn't known that Poe pursued the poet Frances Osgood and won her (telltale!) heart!  

    I've always been intrigued by Poe and now I'm an even bigger fan.  And of Frances Osgood, and Mrs Poe (the character) and of course Lynn Cullen, who brings together their story brilliantly.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    Enjoyed the setting New York 1845,  Cullen really did her resear

    Enjoyed the setting New York 1845,  Cullen really did her research well.  Beautifully written. The best historical
    fiction I read this year.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2014

    This book will keep you up night!!

    I loved this book! I think I will actually read it again!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Luis

    I love this book. Best book ever!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2015

    Loved this book!

    Historical fiction at its best! A page turner!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2015

    Beautiful

    An amazing read; really transports you to the time period. Lynn Cullen brings these huge names to life in this novel. Mostly historically accurate and hard to put down. I definitely recommend this to anyone who enjoys historical fiction, a good mystery, and Edgar Allen Poe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2014

    Being a Poe fan this book screamed for me to read it. And I am s

    Being a Poe fan this book screamed for me to read it. And I am so glad I did!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2014

    ? this book

    I picked up this book for a beach read. Couldn't put it down, is a great historical fiction. I didn't know anything about Edgar A Poe prior to reading this book except that he was a poet with a "dark" side.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2014

    Mesmerizing

    Couldn't put it down. Poe would have approved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    As Captivating as Poe

    As a huge fan of Edgar Allan Poe. I found this story captivating and seemlying realistic. The author did a fantastic job with the historical facts and making the story feel as if the events really happened that way. The details are so vivid that you can feel the emotions of Frances as she struggles with her love for

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    moon

    Great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    Good read

    A fresh take on the life of EAP.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2013

    This was a terrific novel. I found all of the characters interes

    This was a terrific novel. I found all of the characters interesting, the plot pacing perfect. What an intriguing life Mr. & Mrs. Poe lived. I was happy the author included many of the poems as well. They were clearly a necessary piece in order wholly understand this novel. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    My first historical fiction novel and I loved it.  I enjoyed bei

    My first historical fiction novel and I loved it.  I enjoyed being emersed in the mid-1840's and feeling a strange connection to a real-life character (Poe) who most of us have a pre-conceived notion of already.  Good book.  Solid story.  Although I'm not a historical fiction expert after only one go at  it, I can't image other readers who are more versed at that genre not enjoying this book thoroughly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2