Customer Reviews for

MS America and the Offing on Oahu

Average Rating 3.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun!

This would make a good beach read. Not the best plot but entertaining. Holds your interest and before you know it, you're at the end.

posted by Anonymous on January 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good Summer Read

Having just returned from Maui, I saw this book and knew I had to read it. It was just as you'd expect. Easy, breezy summer read. It's not the best book I've ever read, but it was fun and had enough drama to keep me entertainined.

posted by 11181679 on May 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 9, 2013

    Not highly interesting

    not a very deep mystery and most action does not further either the suspense or the solution of the mystery. Not my preference in mysteries. I enjoy light mysteries, but this didn't have enough humor to qualify it as "light."

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2012

    check it out you will like

    first time for this author. i enjoyed the book. the writing was intriging. would recommend for a quirky read. good book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    I really enjoyed this book. It made me laugh out loud on several

    I really enjoyed this book. It made me laugh out loud on several occasions. A nice way to unwind.....looking forward to reading the next book in the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    Good Summer Read

    Having just returned from Maui, I saw this book and knew I had to read it. It was just as you'd expect. Easy, breezy summer read. It's not the best book I've ever read, but it was fun and had enough drama to keep me entertainined.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    Fun!

    This would make a good beach read. Not the best plot but entertaining. Holds your interest and before you know it, you're at the end.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    Good book

    It started off slow, & I was getting worried, but it soon picked up and I enjoyed their antics!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    Very funny, quick easy read

    I really enjoyed this book even though I am not a beauty pageant fan. Entertaining, funny mystery. And I now know another use for shipping tape. Hope to see more by this author!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    Another Gem from Diana Dempsey

    The same fantastic story telling, only now at Internet speed.
    Hard to imagine Diana could create a beauty pageant character as strong as her detectives, reporters and the like, but she has. I want to move to Ohio!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    Okay, but the writer must have been teased as a child...

    Okay book, drags in some parts, but has some other issues.

    I would have liked it soooooooo much more if the author hadn't continually brought up the part about not all beauty queens are dumb. Either the goal was to make the main character have low self-esteem to the point that she almost gets killed tryimg to prove she is smart, or the author has unresolved esteem issues coming through in the writing. It is touted as a fun book, and yet it is weighed down by that need to teach us the dumb perception is wrong.

    My other major issue is how poorly the main character treats both the husband and mother, but especially the husband. She comes off as rude, thoughtless, and immature. She barely speaks to him, puts off contacting him to investigate with the girls or because she feels tired. I'm not saying he needed to be a main character, but i would have rather him not be one at all, then be treated so poorly. More of the writers feelings coming through?

    Would not recommend.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    Mrs.america

    Good book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    I started this book twice before I decided to read it to the end

    I started this book twice before I decided to read it to the end. I was half-way through the book before I started to actually care about any of the characters. But, was curious to see "who-dun-it". The pace picked up more later. Enjoyable "beach read" type of book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2012

    Recomment it -quick read!

    A quirky, quick read mystery. A great summertime beach read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    Too long

    Started out interesting, too dragged out

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    Great book!

    Really catchy whodunit mystery. I'd love to see more books from this author!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    Surprisingly good for a free book!

    Enjoyed the story and character development. It was a little strange to read the story in "first person", but once I got used to it, I actually enjoyed it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    AMs. Ohio Happy Pennington finds out it¿s not all sequins and si

    AMs. Ohio Happy Pennington finds out it’s not all sequins and silicone when she competes on Oahu for the Ms America crown—the first national title of her life.

    When her fiercest competitor tumbles dead out of the isolation booth during the televised pageant finale, Honolulu PD gets to thinking Happy might have killed her.

    Happy has to clear her name and catch the killer and make sure they are very UN -Happy!!!

    Dollycas’s Thoughts
    This book was my choice for my December Just For Fun Reading Challenge and it really was a fun read! It reminded me of the Miss Congeniality movies staring Sandra Bullock. A behind the scenes look at Beauty Pageants with older contestants who still can fit into a pageant bathing suit and embarrass their kids like crazy.

    Happy Pennington was a sassy protagonist and the rest of the characters run the gambit – a varied group of beauty queens, a chopper pilot, the pageant emcee with a huge secret, Happy’s hubby and her mother who doesn’t think much of Happy’s hubby.

    The mystery was full of suspects starting with several contestants and their handlers. Happy needed a spreadsheet to track them all. Very well plotted.

    A great read to take your mind off the cold weather. A virtual trip to Hawaii in December should warm you up nicely.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    Don't waste your time

    .

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Entertaining

    Very good & it held my interest throughout.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Just what you expect

    With a title like this it is exactly what you would expect. A little kooky but a pretty good read. Not sure that I'll read additional but I enjoyed this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2