Customer Reviews for

Muchacho

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Grandma Bev for TeensReadToo.com

    Eddie Corazon is a character who you won't soon forget.

    He lives in a world where being a bad boy is the cool thing to do. He hangs out with his cousins in a bad neighborhood, and the boys are just on the edge of being juvenile delinquents. He skips school and gets poor grades as a matter of choice, but he is a secret reader, and poet. He has promised his Mami that he won't drop out of school, but he's pretty sure he will fail.

    Then he meets Lupe, and his world changes. She brings out the best in Eddie, and sees things in him that he doesn't. Her father is none too happy about their relationship; he wants more for his smart, energetic daughter. Eddie doesn't seem to have a very bright future the way he is going, but then he begins to think like Lupe. Maybe he could make the future work for him, too.

    It's hard to make changes in his behavior with his cousins and friends encouraging him to follow their lead...but Eddie really wants to be able to hang out with the beautiful, smart Lupe.

    Eddie's transition is a very moving story with complex characters in a tough world. It shows that positive changes can be made through hard work and perseverance, and that the bad choices are tempting, but conquerable. The story is narrated by Eddie with straight-forward language and a viewpoint all his own, by turns funny and serious. Eddie is a boy who girls will fall in love with, and a guy boys will be able to relate to.

    Highly recommended for even reluctant readers.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2009

    Eddie Rocks!

    Eddie rocks. He's funny. He's smart. He's cool. And he's a little bit of a badass which is my favorite kind of guy. My father would probally hate him but I think my mother would like him as much as I do. I liked that he threw in some words in espanol to show his pride. He makes a good example for those kids who are thinking they shouldn't have to go to school so much. I got this book from my nextdoor nieghbor who works at the library. At first I was like Eddie and I wasn't going to read it but then I did and I'm glad I did. In fact I didn't want this book to end. I wanted it to keep on going. I wanted to keep reading about Eddie, his girlfriend Lupe, his Primo Enrique, his intellectual neighbor Harvey Castro, his way cool Tio Antonio. The most of all I wanted to read more of his thinking on school and teachers and sex and love. If Eddie didn't already have a girl I'd be knocking on his door right now. Ay te watcho, Eddie!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2010

    Important Reading!

    How I wish there had been a Louanne Johnson/Miss Beecher around to be in my learning disadvantaged son's life when he was in school! I recognize so much of Eddie's way of thinking as that of my son's. Eddie's insecurities about himself and his hiding of his own thoughts and abilities so he would fit in with his "friends" are all too familiar to me.

    I love the way people came into Eddie's life at just the right time, and how one by one they each planted the seeds of change and growth in his mind, each one adding to and reinforcing the others.

    Also so important were the changes in Mr. McElroy's teaching methods after being gone a couple of weeks. (Most likely to attend a seminar where he learned new ways to reach and motivate his students.) The usually bored and disinterested students became involved, and in spite of it being painful at times, they learned about feeling good about what they accomplished! They also gained respect for their fellow classmates.

    This book is not only entertaining and unforgettable, but also one that I hope all teachers, parents, and young people will read! I think it has keys to changing lives. I believe it is very important that Louanne keeps writing, and I eagerly look forward to her next book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    Living in a neighborhood of drug dealers and gangs in Ne

    Living in a neighborhood of drug dealers and gangs in New Mexico, high school junior Eddie Corazon, a juvenile delinquent-in-training, falls in love with a girl who inspires him to rethink his life and his choices. Eddies life can go on two distinctive paths: down the road to juvenile delinquency, or towards graduation and a “better life”. Most of his friends get into a lot of trouble such as (Primo who is rapidly becoming a criminal). Eddies parents push him to get his high school diploma. Eddie begins to change after he meets Lupe, a smart girl who is in Bright Horizons for something she didn’t do. She pushes Eddie to be a writer and enjoys reading his secret poems. Simultaneously Eddie gets into trouble with the cops (I’m not going to tell you what it was). But that situation leads him to live with his uncle for the rest of the school year. He and Lupe write letters to each other every day. His grades go up. He finds a book store with poetry readings. His uncle trusts him. His teacher even writes a letter of recommendation stating that he is one of those students who make the sometimes difficult task of teaching high school worthwhile.
    Well after I read this story I was amazed out of it and was thinking a lot. I personally loved this book. It's great to see someone took the time to actually write a book about true life styles. Not everyone has all the money and everyone's respect and Eddie grows up in a town full of violence and drugs. That's something real which is what I find amazing. I personally recommend it. I don’t really read a lot of books but this one drew me in within the first few chapters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    To quiz

    Hi what is da question?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    Percy

    It is strawberries from the meadow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Shaun

    Sighns up

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    Lukas

    Idk...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    Anonymous

    Me too &#9786 )) Yay!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    Any question?

    Here is where I will answer any questions about my book, Life with Poppy. (Btw, it is at poppy second third and fourth results!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    Just What I Needed At The Time!

    I work with many male teens who are a lot like Eddie. I plan to put this on everyone's reading list. I know it will reach some of them and I pray that it will reach them all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2012

    This book is really good because it goes from a teenager who pre

    This book is really good because it goes from a teenager who pretty much has a hopeless future and no one to really support him in what he does to a guy that really has a bright future ahead of him. Thanks to Eddie Corazon's dad kicking him out of the house and sending him with his uncle to do better and also to get a reality check. I also think his girlfriend Lupe give him a new reason to go on in life not thinking he is a complete failure and she also keeps him off trouble. I would recommend this book to any teenager because it is a really interesting book, its not like other boring books you will fall asleep trying to read because they are so boring you cant stay awake. In my opinion this was one of the best books i ever read because it keeps you very interested in what will happen next and any person can use this book in comparison with there daily life. That's why I thought this book was really good because it really shows you how you can get your life back on track no matter how bad your life may seem.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    awsome cuz eddie reminds me of when i was in school

    i was a trouble maker in school but i grew out of it just like eddie when hemives in with his tio and leaves his past behind him so i think u will like this book just as much as i did

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1