Customer Reviews for

Mudbound

Average Rating 4
( 295 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(123)

4 Star

(109)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

LOVE ITTT!!!

Wow - you know when you're searched and read the first two chapters of every dam book for the past 2 months looking for something that will really hold you. Well, oh my goodness... if I knew about this book before, I would not have wasted so much time reading all those ...
Wow - you know when you're searched and read the first two chapters of every dam book for the past 2 months looking for something that will really hold you. Well, oh my goodness... if I knew about this book before, I would not have wasted so much time reading all those other fake books. This author is going to become very huge. This book is going to become a movie. I dare hollywood to leave this behind. When you start reading this book, you are going to need to go slowly because it's her first book and you wont want it to end because you dont know when the next one is coming out. yet, how can you read slowly when you have no control over the rate at which you're being sucked in. Ok. I'm not telling you anything else. Read THE BOOOKKK!

posted by tamesthetic on August 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not terrible, but definitely not great

This novel wasn't bad, but it wasn't very enjoyable, either. The writing wasn't very advanced, and the characters weren't believable. The six different perspectives, too, were irritating, in that there were so few chapters in each one's viewpoint, being so spread out be...
This novel wasn't bad, but it wasn't very enjoyable, either. The writing wasn't very advanced, and the characters weren't believable. The six different perspectives, too, were irritating, in that there were so few chapters in each one's viewpoint, being so spread out besides, that one couldn't really get the feel for any of the characters; if one desired to tell a story through six different perspectives, I think that the author should have greater than 324 pages in telling it. Pappy, one of the main characters (though not having an actual voice in this novel), seemed unreal in character, his actions never really being justified, the main purpose of them being, at least indicated, anyway, that he was just plain evil, no reason for it. The plot, too, was rather messy in execution; the beginning having too little, being a couple hundred pages or greater all about farm life, while the eventful portion only took little less than a hundred pages, seeming crammed and rushed, in that, when disaster struck, you didn't really feel any personal connection with the characters.

A decent read, not horrible, by any means, but not a real memorable, "wow" kind of read.

posted by pwee on December 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 296 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted August 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    LOVE ITTT!!!

    Wow - you know when you're searched and read the first two chapters of every dam book for the past 2 months looking for something that will really hold you. Well, oh my goodness... if I knew about this book before, I would not have wasted so much time reading all those other fake books. This author is going to become very huge. This book is going to become a movie. I dare hollywood to leave this behind. When you start reading this book, you are going to need to go slowly because it's her first book and you wont want it to end because you dont know when the next one is coming out. yet, how can you read slowly when you have no control over the rate at which you're being sucked in. Ok. I'm not telling you anything else. Read THE BOOOKKK!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Mudbound Review

    Mudbound is so fascinating, you will want to read the whole book in one sitting. The multiple plots within the book and the characters are very well conceived and thought provoking.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2010

    A good read.

    To say that I enjoyed this book would be rather a strange way to put it as the subject is painfull to read about. However, I am very glad that I read this book.

    Mudbound is well written with interesting, fully developed characters. Written from each characters' point of view this book gives the reader a good idea of where each person is "coming from."

    I believe this book would make an excellent choice for book club discussions.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    Amazing.....

    And engrossing It's disturbing that characters like this really DID exist. I read the whole book in 2 days-I simply couldn't put it down. If you enjoyed "The Help" and "The Secret Life of Bees" this is definitely the book for you.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    POWERFUL!

    I was overwhelmed by the power this book held. Such a gripping story with characters you fall in love with & despise.
    Brilliant!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2008

    A Must Read

    This book was phenomenal. The development of the characters and how their live's intertwined kept me totally mesmerized. I didn't want it to end. Great new writer, great new book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Mudbound

    Wow..a page turner..i love books which are narrarted by character, like Mudbound, and The Kitchen House..she did a fabulous job writing her very first novel..

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Not terrible, but definitely not great

    This novel wasn't bad, but it wasn't very enjoyable, either. The writing wasn't very advanced, and the characters weren't believable. The six different perspectives, too, were irritating, in that there were so few chapters in each one's viewpoint, being so spread out besides, that one couldn't really get the feel for any of the characters; if one desired to tell a story through six different perspectives, I think that the author should have greater than 324 pages in telling it. Pappy, one of the main characters (though not having an actual voice in this novel), seemed unreal in character, his actions never really being justified, the main purpose of them being, at least indicated, anyway, that he was just plain evil, no reason for it. The plot, too, was rather messy in execution; the beginning having too little, being a couple hundred pages or greater all about farm life, while the eventful portion only took little less than a hundred pages, seeming crammed and rushed, in that, when disaster struck, you didn't really feel any personal connection with the characters.

    A decent read, not horrible, by any means, but not a real memorable, "wow" kind of read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    Great exciting read

    I couldn't put the book down. After I finished reading, I could not get the characters out of my mind. I liked the way Hilary Jordan wrote each chapter alternating characters and in doing so, she brought the character to life. She wrote about a terrible time in our nation's history and she did it in such a way that the reader could feel all the emotions of her characters.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent!

    Mudbound is one of the books that I found hard to put down. It was very well written and I liked that it went back and forth between the characters in their own voices. The story drew me in at just the right pace. Nothing drawn out before you got into the story.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book for book Groups

    This book was very good. I liked the fact that the chapters were different people in the book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    Mandy

    Walked in and saw the tentacles. She utrnned to run.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Francis

    Hello.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Good read

    If you enjoyed The Help, this isfor you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2012

    I was really looking forward to reading Mudbound, since I love n

    I was really looking forward to reading Mudbound, since I love novels written about the South. However, this novel was somewhat boring and very slow. I did like that each chapter was written from each characters perspective, but there just isn't much to the story, and felt it a waste of time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Lendable

    I loved this book and want to share it with family and was very dismayed to find out I could only lend it once!! I bought this book and feel I should be able to lend it as often as I'd like. I would appreciate it BN would change this policy The star rating is for the book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Characters Written Well

    It was quite simple to fall into the mindset of some of the characters. The language used made me easily envision who I was reading in each chapter. Jamie and Ronsel were written very well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Debut

    I'm not normally a fan of multiple first person point of view, but Jordan did such a fantastic job differentiating each voice that there was no distraction in the many shifts. She uses each word to it's ultimate effect, allowing her to explore a difficult topic in a spare style which was easy and pleasurable to read. This is an excellent book club choice with many points of discussion.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2008

    This is a first book?? Hard to believe!

    This book was intense. For someone who grew up in the south, the attitudes of some southerners toward black people bewilder me. This novel tells the story from each characters point of view. In a less talented writer's hands, the constant switch of viewpoints could be cumbersome, but this author so thoroughly fleshed out each character and gave them their own unique voice that the character switches ended up being fascinating. The story was tragic, but the book was wonderful. Excellent first novel. I still find that hard to believe.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2014

    Jay

    Nvm

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 296 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15