Customer Reviews for

Mudwoman: A Novel

Average Rating 2
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Classic JCO

I admire and appreciate that she shared her opinion of the heinous Bush era wars.

posted by 12388808 on May 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

What a strange story. The line between reality and delusion is

What a strange story. The line between reality and delusion is sometimes very tenuous. Typical JCO plotting and characterizations. I really wanted to love this book as I have so many others of hers. And I did, except I really hated some of it. This is not one of t...
What a strange story. The line between reality and delusion is sometimes very tenuous. Typical JCO plotting and characterizations. I really wanted to love this book as I have so many others of hers. And I did, except I really hated some of it. This is not one of those "you have to read this" books, but I am really glad that I stuck w/it. Not for every reader, except maybe real fans. (keep a dictionary handy)!

posted by Gram948 on April 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 17, 2012

    What a strange story. The line between reality and delusion is

    What a strange story. The line between reality and delusion is sometimes very tenuous. Typical JCO plotting and characterizations. I really wanted to love this book as I have so many others of hers. And I did, except I really hated some of it. This is not one of those "you have to read this" books, but I am really glad that I stuck w/it. Not for every reader, except maybe real fans. (keep a dictionary handy)!

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Terrible

    Read half way through this book hoping it would get better but it only got even more unintetesting. Dont waste your time reading this book...

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    Classic JCO

    I admire and appreciate that she shared her opinion of the heinous Bush era wars.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    No rating......I really wanted to like this book. It is really


    No rating......I really wanted to like this book.
    It is really boring....dull, with characters you cannot be drawn to even want to like...

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Mudwoman

    Slow read. Not as good as other Joyce Carol Oats books.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    At best

    Not really worth it

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2013

    Couldn't read it. Subject too sad.

    Couldn't finish this book. Subject too sad.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    Hard to follow

    I gave up after trying to follow this for a while
    Very hard to stay with the story

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Strenuous

    This was a chore to read which is why i couldnt stick with it. This author rambles on and on making this a slow clumsy read. I do not reccomend it. At least it was cheap.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    zero stars

    worst book I ever read - ugh

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Really

    I read as far as page 213 and quit to find something more intelligent.
    What a waste of money.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    R

    Bad. Less than 1/2 star.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Boring

    Didn't like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    Not sure what I just read...

    Very hard to finish. What started as interesting just got more confusing and boring. The ending was horrible. It's like the author forgot to write the last few chapters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Mudwoman

    Usually love oates books but could not finish this one.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Dull

    Just couldnt get into the story

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2