Customer Reviews for

Mugged: Racial Demagoguery from the Seventies to Obama

Average Rating 3
( 85 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(32)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

35 out of 69 people found this review helpful.

Liberal incorrect

Did you ever notice how the people who write 1 star reviews never have the nerve to post their names. Another example of their ignorance is exemplified by the Anonymouw entry "What" criticizing spelling and grammar of other postings. Read it and weep. Poor soul can't ...
Did you ever notice how the people who write 1 star reviews never have the nerve to post their names. Another example of their ignorance is exemplified by the Anonymouw entry "What" criticizing spelling and grammar of other postings. Read it and weep. Poor soul can't spell, knows little about grammar, and nothing about capitalization. Any time Ann writes a book she will get blasted by the left who, having little education in American History will crucify her out of hand. Read the book first and then write a response of your own proving her wrong with citations.

posted by WDH on September 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 87 people found this review helpful.

Trash written by trash

Don't waste your money on this one. Sensible conservatives don't take her seriously.

posted by misslauraann on September 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    Trash written by trash

    Don't waste your money on this one. Sensible conservatives don't take her seriously.

    20 out of 87 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    This book is a few hundred pages of crap! The claim is that this book isn't about black people but about the left's agenda to patronize blacks. This book IS about black people. Period. Coulter isn't a historian, she writes of skewed facts and lies.

    Coulter's book promotes divisive, offensive and frankly, racial rhetoric that has beome very familiar with conservatism, the Republican Party and most often the Tea Party.
    Yes. It is a fact that the Democratic Party began as a political party of southern planters who opposed the abolishment of slavery, ideals of the north and the Republican Party. They were the party of power in the 1800's.
    The Republican Party was founded by anti-slavery activists in 1854. The party came into power with the election of Lincoln who abolished slavery, provided equal rights to all men in the Civil War and Reconstruction from 1861-1877, welcomed black participation in the party and aided in the establishment of the Freedman's Bureau leading African Americans to vote Republican.
    The shift of support began when the government began to strip land from blacks and return it to Confederate Soldiers when they rejoined the Union. African American concerns regarding these practices were ignored when ammendments were passed in favor of southerners. This destroyed the ability of former slaves to self determine their future and provide posterity; there was on effort to educate these newly free people and laws were passed to keep them as close to a slave status as possible.
    Another shift of black support began in 1876 when President Elect Rutherford Hayes, who initially supported black rights, struck a deal over a disputed close election with Democrat Samuel Tilden; ending Reconstruction and forming a coalition of segregationists against reforms and ending political safeguards for African Americans after Hayes took office. This led the way to political oppression through Jim Crow Laws that lasted almost a century. From 1867-1932 blacks were subjected to persecution allowed by law, stripped of their civil rights and allowed no economic progress; this lead to the abandonment of the Republican Party and support of Democrat FDR and though he wasn't a champion for civil rights, he invited African Americans to participate in his administration and challenged state imposed limitations on their civil rights during his third term.
    During the Nixon years, the Southern Strategy proved final. In response to what began in the mid 60's regarding Presidents Kennedy and Johnson's supports of civil rights bills, staunch segregationist Democrats like Jesse Helms and Strom Thurmond changed parties to avoid association with Democrats who supported civil rights legislation and the Civil Rights Movement. These new Republicans garnered the white southern vote with fear of black liberties and the south became the new Republican stronghold.
    Currently, during this presidential race, Romney's statements in Detroit about no one asking to see his birth certificate plays to the birther movement, though Obama repeatedly provides his birth certificate, the right wing is unsatisfied. Another example is the false ads about Obama gutting the welfare work requirement, painting him a welfare president who caters to lazy blacks and Right Wing Tea Party protesters who called Rep. John Lewis, a Freedom Rider, the N word and other racial slurs.
    No proof is ever good enough for the right wing and it resonates in our DNA. This is why we don't feel warm and fuzzy about Republicans. We look to neither party as our savior or protector but we will vote for the best preservation of our interests as a collective. Our credentials are often devalued and discredited in an effort to see us as the other and the lesser.

    17 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    Is this really a 2012 book?

    I wanted to try to read something to the right and something to the left of my beliefs. I found this rhetoric disconcerting and divisive. I gave it a chance but would not recommend it to anyone other than those of the ultra conservative, still in the 1950s mindse ilk.





    13 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    Piece of junk

    This "woman" is heartless and a monster. She makes me sick.

    8 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    How to Book for Sheeple

    What a bunch of baloney. It was hard to read with an open mind when the aurthor is so closed minded, narrow, and weak. This book requires the wearing of a tin foil pointy hat. To bad I can't unread it.

    5 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Stupid

    She just makes stuff up and slaps it together in a book. Don't waste your $.

    5 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    White guilt trip.? (Part2)

    On top of all of this she in termhas the audacity to insult a president that has done wonders in ALL racial communities not just blacks. As a white american i am not only offended by what she wrote but i sincerely think that this book should not have been realeased the way it diif at all. Donot buy this is terrible.

    3 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    Crap

    Just awful.

    3 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Disgusting

    Terribly racist book. Pure trash. Simply disgusting. And after reading this, you have to wonder if some of her supporters, and the people she supports have the same views. And yes im talking about that rebublicam bastard mitt romney

    2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    No shades of grey

    I trust what she writes about as much as a michael moore film. Hateful garbage.

    2 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2012

    The Author Of Unrequieted Hatred

    Just terrible. How can such a beautiful young lady have such hatred for other races within her when we don't have it for her? She is spiritually unawakened. It is doubted by me she writes this dribble herself. It would take someone with even a weaker mind to do such a thing. For generations, people have fought one-sided racial wars and this is one. Laughable material made to inflame hatred that instead indicates blind hatred on the part of the writer. It is hoped she grows past bigotry. If she doesn't hopefully one day her audience will. I stubbled upon this ugliness. And, to think it is on the bestsellers list. But, I believe censorship is an even greater ill. Therefore; let her have her say. I just wonder where her militia is posted.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    Ridiculous

    I feel sorry for a woman whose life mission is to spew hate and venom at others. Ann Coulter is as monstrous as Hitler and every dictator theteafter. Someone please muzzel this hateful soul.

    1 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    What she won't do,

    say or write to get attention. Racist and pathetic view not worth spending a plug nickel on.

    1 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    Coulter At it again

    Not worth your time and money

    1 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2014

    To below

    Amen. Five stars to your comment, one star to this trashy excuse of a book. My heart goes with you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    I HAVE NOWHERE ELSE TO WRITE THIS, BUT I'D LOVE TO WRITE A LETTE

    I HAVE NOWHERE ELSE TO WRITE THIS, BUT I'D LOVE TO WRITE A LETTER TO MS.COULTER EXPRESSING MY DISAPPOINTMENT AT THE FACT THAT SHE INCLUDED THE HORRIBLE, UNTIMELY, AND TRAUMATIC DEATH OF MY MOTHER DAWN LIVECCHI IN HER BOOK AS PART OF AN ARGUMENT FOR RACISM. YES, MY MOTHER WAS SHOT BY A BLACK MAN AND IF NOTHING ELSE IT HAS TAUGHT ME MORE ABOUT LOVE, COMPASSION, FORGIVENESS, AND EQUALITY THAN ANYTHING ELSE. I DO NOT THINK THAT SHE WOULD AGREE WITH BEING 'CITED' IN THIS MANNER. IT SEEMS LIKE THE MORE APPROPRIATE WORD WOULD BE 'USED'. SHE WAS A BEAUTIFUL SPIRIT WHO BELIEVED IN JESUS CHRIST, STOOD UP FOR THE UNDERDOG AND LOVED EVERYONE REGARDLESS OF SKIN COLOR, SEXUAL ORIENTATION, OR ANYTHING ELSE FOR THAT MATTER. AND THAT IS WHAT I CARRY ON. ANYONE WHO READS THIS BOOK SHOULD KNOW THAT SHE WAS A BEING OF LIGHT, AND WOULD NOT WANT TO BE IN THIS BOOK- A BOOK WHICH ONLY SEEMS TO INTEND TO CREATE MORE SEPARATION, MORE HATE, AND MORE DIVISION IN THE SOCIAL FABRIC OF AMERICA. ANN COULTER, WHY CAN'T YOU WRITE A BOOK ABOUT HOW WE CAN BECOME MORE PEACEFUL AND WORK TOGETHER? YOU SEEM TO BE A NEGATIVE SPIRIT INTENT UPON CREATING CHAOS, PAIN, AND BLAME. SHAME ON YOU FOR EVEN DARING TO UTTER THE NAME OF MY BEAUTIFUL MOTHER. ¿HEALING FOR AMERICA WILL COME WHEN ALL RACES ARE SEEN EQUALLY, WHEN ALL OF THE COLORS ARE REPRESENTED IN A BALANCED WAY AND OUR VOICES ARE ACTUALLY HEARD. ¿STOP THE HATE! BY WRITING WHAT YOU WROTE, YOU ARE VICTIMIZING ME AND MY FAMILY ALL OVER AGAIN. LEARN TO LOVE, PLEASE, FOR GOD'S SAKE AND FOR AMERICA. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Can't take her seriously at all

    Can't take her seriously at all

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    This book was published in 2012!?!? Are you kidding me?

    This book was published in 2012!?!? Are you kidding me?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Stupid black people...

    ...power is for white people. Says the bigot. There, I summarized the book for you, now you don't have to waste your money.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    DIE IN A HOLE YOU F*CKING BIGGOTS

    This book sucked harder than youmom repuplicans if obama did what you biggots wanted why do i think that the resession would be ten times worrse and the ones that are called socailists are the liberals making these good decions and wwould all be poor except for the rich and they would be richer.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2