BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Mugged: Racial Demagoguery from the Seventies to Obama

Average Rating 3.5
( 87 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(32)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

35 out of 69 people found this review helpful.

Liberal incorrect

Did you ever notice how the people who write 1 star reviews never have the nerve to post their names. Another example of their ignorance is exemplified by the Anonymouw entry "What" criticizing spelling and grammar of other postings. Read it and weep. Poor soul can't ...
Did you ever notice how the people who write 1 star reviews never have the nerve to post their names. Another example of their ignorance is exemplified by the Anonymouw entry "What" criticizing spelling and grammar of other postings. Read it and weep. Poor soul can't spell, knows little about grammar, and nothing about capitalization. Any time Ann writes a book she will get blasted by the left who, having little education in American History will crucify her out of hand. Read the book first and then write a response of your own proving her wrong with citations.

posted by WDH on September 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 87 people found this review helpful.

Trash written by trash

Don't waste your money on this one. Sensible conservatives don't take her seriously.

posted by misslauraann on September 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Liberal incorrect

    Did you ever notice how the people who write 1 star reviews never have the nerve to post their names. Another example of their ignorance is exemplified by the Anonymouw entry "What" criticizing spelling and grammar of other postings. Read it and weep. Poor soul can't spell, knows little about grammar, and nothing about capitalization. Any time Ann writes a book she will get blasted by the left who, having little education in American History will crucify her out of hand. Read the book first and then write a response of your own proving her wrong with citations.

    35 out of 69 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    The Death of the Race Card

    There's a reason Ann Coulter is successful -- she's unafraid to expose the left's fallacies with clear factual evidence. This book is no different, and those who desperately need America to be racist to further their agenda will be greatly offended.

    It's high time someone of notoriety gives the clarion call to all American's that the race card is dead -- rather than cower in fear of being labeled a racist and lose some celebrity as a result -- and Ann Coulter has done it.

    Thank you Ann for writing such a liberating and well documented book on the abuses of the race card.

    17 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Highly recommend this book.

    This was a hardhitting book that shows what has really been going on re race relations. The history is stunning and will be a surprise to many people. I found it enlightening and a must read to understand what is and was going on in our society.

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    So true!

    Read it

    12 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    Great book

    As usual, Ann pulls no punches. A lot to think about.

    9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    A must read. Someone finally got it right.

    If you want a true review of why race relations are the way they are in America today, you have to read this book. Ms Coulter tells it like it is. If we had more folks writing and reporting the TRUTH as she does in this book, race relations in our country would be much further along than it is. A highly recommended book.

    BillinSC

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Ann Coulter hits another one out of the Ball Park!

    I will put this as succinctly as possible. It is Ann Coulter. If you are a Conservative and love reading her "Hit the Nail on the Head" style of writing you will not be disappointed. I was not.

    This just gives more credence to the reason(s) Ann Coulter is not only a Firebrand, but a feared "takes nothing from nobody" journalist whose sole purpose is to shed light in the dark places where Liberals do not want people to see into.

    If you read this book and do not come away with a firmer understanding of what true Racism is and who are the perpetrators of these racist acts you are better off reading Boondocks on the weekend. I highly recommend this book to any Conservative and any Liberal daring enough to enter the water when Ann is swimming about with her teeth showing and her wit cutting through the pages.

    I cannot wait for her next release, whatever it is called.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Highly Recommend!

    As usual, Ann's writing is well-documented, accurate, and thought-provoking. An excellent, eye-opening history of the treatment of Blacks by liberals in America.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    Excellent

    You must read this book, Coulter has untangled the often confusing and enraging politics of those on the left, who must keep people of color angry and white people feeling guilty to retain their control and power. The obvious hateful comments in the reviews by B&N readers us a testament to just how close to home this book strikes.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    Great book!!!

    Just read the book!!!!!!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    I love this woman

    Ann Coulter strikes again! She has an uncanny way of reaching me. I, apparently, have an appreciation for direct communication styles. :-) She makes a lot of sense. I have disagreed with her on issues, but she is right on in this publication. The culture of racism has been reborn due to this dis-functional president. If he is interested in forward progress, then why resurrect old tensions. Answer: he must have an agenda. hmmmmmm

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    She hit the nail on the head!

    While I didn't live through all the things mentioned in this book, there were many that I did recall seeing on the news, some as far back as my childhood. This kind of stuff has been going on for years and continues today, and will as long as we allow it to happen. It's time for good people ~ BLACK AND WHITE ~ to stand up and put a stop to this.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Great book. A must read.

    Ann Coulter is a very intelligent person and I enjoy watching her on TV shows as well as reading her books. She does a great job of researching her material and it shows. In her book, "Mugged" I learned quite a lot. She mentioned the book "Circle of Six" by the investigating detective Randy Jurgenson. I purchased the book and was astonished with the actions of the mayor, police chief, and others.
    I admire Ann Coulter for her convictions.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    Agree

    Finally someone with enough guts to say what is true

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    The reviews are just as divided as the nation when it comes to r

    The reviews are just as divided as the nation when it comes to racial issues. Half of the folks are actually educated and engaged in the discussion at hand, and the the other half simply so on emotion. This books tackles the subject of race with a no-nonsense point of view. Coulter has never been afraid to hurt anyone's feelings, and thank goodness for that! It's refreshing to hear somebody actually speak up and out on the issues that have for so long been conversation stoppers. Not only is the book good, simply for having the guts to tackle this kind of issue, but because it is all fact and very little feeling. Just the thing we need added to this debate. A must read for anyone looking to move past racial demagoguery.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    I

    I find myself agreeing with most what has writen and i recamend this book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2014

    Should be required reading for every high school in America.

    Should be required reading for every high school in America.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2014

    Honest and captivating look at the history of leftwing racial po

    Honest and captivating look at the history of leftwing racial politics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    Tawana B. gives it 5 stars!

    The truth (like a real mugging) hurts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    Ann does it again!

    Ann does it again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2