Customer Reviews for

The Mulberry Tree

Average Rating 3.5
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Summer Read!

I devoured The Mulberry Tree in a couple days! Great characters and a fast-moving plot. Fans of Jude Deveraux will love this novel!

posted by Anonymous on June 27, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A convoluted mess--The Mulberry Tree

There was absolutely no part of this novel that made sense. The characters weren't likable--the main character Lillian or Bailey was just too annoying and naive to be liked, and the plot was going in so many different directions with absolutely no resolution to some mai...
There was absolutely no part of this novel that made sense. The characters weren't likable--the main character Lillian or Bailey was just too annoying and naive to be liked, and the plot was going in so many different directions with absolutely no resolution to some main questions (Why did Jimmie leave all his money to his brother and sister?) that it was too convoluted for me (or most people, I would assume) to follow. This was definately not one of Deveraux's best.

posted by Anonymous on August 19, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2010

    Awesome Read!

    I read and reread this book every year.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2007

    A convoluted mess--The Mulberry Tree

    There was absolutely no part of this novel that made sense. The characters weren't likable--the main character Lillian or Bailey was just too annoying and naive to be liked, and the plot was going in so many different directions with absolutely no resolution to some main questions (Why did Jimmie leave all his money to his brother and sister?) that it was too convoluted for me (or most people, I would assume) to follow. This was definately not one of Deveraux's best.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2002

    A WASTE OF TIME

    THIS BOOK WAS ALL OVER THE PLACE. THE FEMALE CHARACTER WAS NOT VERY INTERESTING AND ALL THE OTHER PEOPLE IN THE BOOK WAS A MISH MASH OF BOREDOM. THERE WERE TOO MANY SUB PLOTS AND FAR TOO MANY SECONDARY CHARACTERS. ALL IN ALL THIS BOOK WAS A MESS.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2002

    Where has the old Jude Deveraux gone?

    I agree with the negative comments about Jude Deveraux's recent publications. Where is her old magic touch? Her Montgomery and Taggert stories were wonderful and kept me wanting to read them over and over again. My all time favorite book is A Knight in Shinning Armor. It made me searching for my own Nicolas Stafford in real life. I wish Jude would write more stories like that, stories that stay in the readers' hearts for a long time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2002

    Jude is changing

    Jude Deveraux is now straying to mysteries. No longer will I buy her books without hesitation. I'm so sick for a Montgomery/Taggert story, I wish she would go back to what her fans love and know her for.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2002

    Great Summer Read!

    I devoured The Mulberry Tree in a couple days! Great characters and a fast-moving plot. Fans of Jude Deveraux will love this novel!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    

    &#1

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    Highly Recommend 41/2 stars great read

    I had read this book many years ago, but did not realize it until I started reading it on my Nook. It was just as good as the first time I read it. If you like Jude Deveraux you will like this one too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Great

    Really enjoyed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Good read!

    This was a very complex book.. I only have one complant... I wish she had told him to put his ex-wife stuff on ebay to get it off her porch! Then buy the rockers she wanted to sit her a... bottom on.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2011

    Recommend it , found it to be excellent

    Could not put my Nook down, read until 1 am and finished the
    book in the am, recommended it to my granddaughter, and she loves it also. Another Deveraux good book, buy all of hers when they are
    available.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    Not What I expected

    Definitely not what I expected from reading many of This author's book. I felt horrible at the end because I kept thinking it'll get better but did not. Confusing and characters lacked personality. Not one of her best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2011

    Must Read

    I love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2011

    Highly Recommend!

    LOVED this book -- read it in 1 day! Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2010

    good read!

    Very interesting and lively characters. Would look for other titles by this author. This audio had a great reader who made listening more enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2006

    Couldn't put it down!

    Great read! The characters are fun to get to know and it really is an escape which, to me, is what a reading a great story is all about! Please pick this up today! The fact that it's a bargain book makes it an even better find!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2005

    OH, MY!!

    WHAT I THOUGHT WOULD BE A GOOD STORY QUICKLY TURNED INTO A CONVOLUTED MESS!! YOU WOULD NEED A COMPUTER TO KEEP TRACK OF THESE CHARACTERS. SOME GOOD HUMOR, BUT I THINK MS. DEVEREAU WASN'T FEELING WELL WHEN SHE WROTE THIS ONE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2004

    Interesting and Funny!

    This was perfect after trying to get into some pretty boring books. This one will defintely keep your attention!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2004

    Great Read!

    This book was full of characters, which made you have to think to keep up, but it was one of the best books I've read in a while. The plot was interesting and I was drawn to the main character's emotions. I read it in two days, could not put it down! I highly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2004

    Terrific Beach Read

    Absolutely loved it. The characters were interesting the story was not always realistic but I think that is why I enjoyed it. An escape from the norm.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3