BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Multiple Streams of Internet Income: How Ordinary People Make Extraordinary Money Online

Average Rating 3.5
( 2 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

This was the best book 3 years ago.

Excellent book. Outstanding in a word.... if you discovered 3 years ago. Today is a different picture. Email marketing DOESNT WORK like it used to. Affiliate programs DONT WORK like they used to. But in the end it all boils down to GETTING TONS OF traffic. If you...
Excellent book. Outstanding in a word.... if you discovered 3 years ago. Today is a different picture. Email marketing DOESNT WORK like it used to. Affiliate programs DONT WORK like they used to. But in the end it all boils down to GETTING TONS OF traffic. If you know how to get, YOUR DA MAN. The rest is pure BS.

posted by Anonymous on May 2, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

It's time for a revision

A lot of the techniques discussed in this book rely on using e-mail marketing. With the spam problem getting worse, many of the ideas won't work or will require too much effort to get your marketing messages delivered. The book does provide solid explanations on oth...
A lot of the techniques discussed in this book rely on using e-mail marketing. With the spam problem getting worse, many of the ideas won't work or will require too much effort to get your marketing messages delivered. The book does provide solid explanations on other ways to make money online, but there're newer strategies being used. I can't recommend another book at this time. Your best bet is to do searches on the Internet for money making ideas. This would have been a 5 star book when it first came out. If Allen were to write a revised edition I would get it.

posted by Anonymous on January 20, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2004

    It's time for a revision

    A lot of the techniques discussed in this book rely on using e-mail marketing. With the spam problem getting worse, many of the ideas won't work or will require too much effort to get your marketing messages delivered. The book does provide solid explanations on other ways to make money online, but there're newer strategies being used. I can't recommend another book at this time. Your best bet is to do searches on the Internet for money making ideas. This would have been a 5 star book when it first came out. If Allen were to write a revised edition I would get it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2001

    Jay Abraham's Marketing Methods Applied to the Internet

    The fundamental example in this book is flawed. Mr. Allen set up an experiment to show that he could make $24,000 in 24 hours on the Internet. He actually did much better than that. Presumably, the purpose was to show you that anyone could. What he did was make a lot of special offers on products and services that he sells all the time to an e-mail list of 11,000 names he had been developing over the prior 9 months. In fact, he used four messages to the list to define the offer and to alert everyone it was coming. Now, if you were one of the most famous authors and investors in America and you gave special deals, couldn't you sell over $24,000 worth in a day? But presumably you aren't, so this book will be very valuable to all the other celebrity authors as an example, but not so much for you. The book does have a few examples of ordinary individuals succeeding on the Internet, but these examples don't exactly scream out at me about how I can do the same. The principles in the book are a distillation of almost every marketing guru who has published a book. In fact, there is so much Jay Abraham in the book that I wondered if Mr. Abraham might have ghost-written it (or at least commented extensively on it). Mr. Allen promises too much in the beginning. If you follow 'the strategies and techniques in this book, you will be well on your way to Internet riches . . . .' Not only will you be rich, you won't have to work very hard for 'the by-product of your start-up Internet business is freedom.' If one percent of the people who follow this advice get to either result, I would be surprised. I suggest that Mr. Allen take 100 people, teach them his principles, and report back on the results a year later. Then, if they succeed as he promises, I will write a new review that gives this book five stars. The strength of this book is in encouraging you to select your target audience and understand their wants before you think about what type of business you want to have and the services or products you want to provide. The advice about how to build traffic to your site, get income once they are there, and to build repeat business is all quite good at a general level. The other interesting part of the book is Mr. Allen's description of how he changed his unique selling proposition over the years from 'nothing down' to 'hands-on-training' to 'real-time millionaire mentors.' There's no bad advice in the book, as far as I could tell. It just overstates the ease of making money on an Internet start-up with limited investment capital. Where else have people indicated that things are easy that you have found difficult? How about losing weight? How about getting into shape using the latest piece of equipment? What's the best way to evaluate these claims, without pursuing them yourself? May the Internet bring you all the success you would like to have. Donald Mitchell, co-author of The Irresistible Growth Enterprise and The 2,000 Percent Solution

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Some good ideas

    The book was a little stale, but still had some useful information. If you are already running an ecommerce site, probably too beginnery for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2002

    A Little Less Confused Than Before

    The Internet is full of opportunities, and like most of America, I am also trying to cash in. I have tried several online businesses, and with no luck. I am putting to practice what I have learned from this book, but it doesn't tell the whole story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1