Customer Reviews for

The Mummy Case (Amelia Peabody Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 69 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    I personally love this series. Over time i have read this entire

    I personally love this series. Over time i have read this entire series several times and have enjoyed them every time. Amelia Peabody Emerson is one of the first true feminist who knows her own mind and stands up for what she believes. She and her tempermental husband, Radcliff Emerson, perfectly balance out each other. They both love their work. The series is entertaining, funny, and full of adventure. Every book just gets better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    If you like murder mystries and Egypt, these are the books for you. I enjoy the Amelia Peabody Series. They are always full of adventures.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Introducing Ramses!

    This series is wonderful. Ramses is perfect as the spawn of Peabody and Enerson



    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Son of Egypt

    Intrepid Egyptologist Amelia Peabody and her irrascible husband, who has been dubbed the "Father of Curses" by the Egyptian natives, once again set forth to uncover the treasures of the ancient pharoahs. This time they take along with them their young son nicknamed Ramses and John, a servant in their employ from England.

    Relegated to digging in an area deemed 'not worthy' by husband Radcliff Emerson, they are soon in the midst of a complex situation wherein a band of antiquities thieves are being lead by a Master Criminal. As Amelia tries to do her detective work she is stymied by a host of suspects and conflicting clues and information. After she and Radcliffe are thrown into the thick blackness of an ancient burial chamber in the Black Pyramid without hope of rescue, they are left to wonder if they have indeed met their fate.

    This reader found the plot confusing, as though it was searching for a way to untangle itself. The redeeming grace of this book is Ramses, who speaks with the vocabulary of a university professor with a lisp that makes him all the more endearing. The characters here are stronger than the plot and have earned this book four stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2007

    Another Outstanding Story!

    Mummy Case is another outstanding story by famed writer Elizabeth Peters...I'm such a fan! This story is highly entertaining. The characters are GREAT and the plot exciting! I suggest you order your copy of this book today. You'll be glad you did!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    A good series to read...

    ...especially if you like Archeology and Egyptology. The characters are not totally believable, sort of exagerated at times, but they are likeable and the mysteries are entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2010

    The Emerson's are at it again!

    I am hooked on this series! It is great fun to read of the adventures of Emerson, Amelia and Ramses.

    The addition of Ramses is fun and I am sure that the next books will be even more entertaining seeing what he will be getting into.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2009

    One of the most exciting books I have read! It helped that I had read the previous books in the series.

    What a great storyline! It kept me interested from beginning to end. The plot was well developed and for once I could not guess the ending until I was actually at the end of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2003

    U have got to read it

    This is one of the best book that I have read in a while. Once that you picked it up you just couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2002

    An all-round awesome book!

    I really enjoyed this book! I was extremely happy that Ramses, Amelia and Emerson's son, has finally been developed as a major character. Also, I hope to see more development of Amelia's Master Criminal. I really found the footman John's reaction to Egypt (And to baby-sitting Ramses) funny. Also, picturing Emerson who in Amelia's opinion is the world's greatest Egyptologist, working with Roman mummies(which he hates)when the Black Pyramid is(literally) next door hilarious. All in all, a great book, however, Peter's was rather vague in parts of the naration which made it somewhat difficult to understand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4