Customer Reviews for

Munster's Case (Inspector Van Veeteren Series #6)

Average Rating 3.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 5, 2012

    .Not recommended if you have a fear of old age!!.

    I ordered this book on the title alone only to discover that I had already read it under a different title , THE UNLUCKY LOTTERY ,bought in England few months ago. In future I will be more careful. Maybe if book covers displayed this information the same mistake could be avoided.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    Competent and satisfying

    Competent, suspenseful, and rich in characterization as ever. Nobody said police procedurals have to treat with human evil to the exclusion of human goodness. This one calmly introduces just enough of both, along with existential angst and some unmistakable sexual energy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2012

    Great

    Very well written and suspenseful.You will definitely enjoy it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2013

    I've read Steig larsen, Jo Nesbo & now Hakan Nesser. This wi

    I've read Steig larsen, Jo Nesbo & now Hakan Nesser. This will be the first & last of Nesser for me. WAY to slow a read. Almost gave up after 100 pages but went to B&N and read the reviews & kept going. Waste of time. Glad this was a library book & not one I paid for.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Scandinavian authors tend to combine societal questions with do


    Scandinavian authors tend to combine societal questions with dour reasons for crimes to be investigated, and “Munster’s Case” is no exception. Detective Munster has served as a sidekick to the now-sidelined Inspector Van Veeteren, who is on leave, choosing instead to spend his time reading and philosophizing in a bookshop he ostensibly is operating. The novels are an award-winning series in Sweden.

    This book, as one might expect first published in Sweden, begins with four friends winning some money in the lottery and celebrating their good fortune. However, after a lugubrious dinner, the dead body of one of them is found in his bed, stabbed numerous times, and another seems to be missing. It remains for detective Munster and his team to solve the cases, which become more complicated as the investigation progresses. The murdered man’s wife confesses to the deed, but more questions arise when a neighbor also goes missing and is soon found mutilated in a park.

    The author seems to concentrate on the psychological aspects of the detective, rather than the perpetrators (at least until the concluding section, which explains it all): the physical toll on the policeman’s life, the effect on his family, and the like. The plot builds very slowly and develops in keeping with the detective’s character and thought processes. While the solution to the murders is somewhat hackneyed, that fact doesn’t detract from the novel’s over-all merit, and it is recommended.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    loved it.

    another great book in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2013

    I watch too much NCIS. (Or at least I did until this year; I can

    I watch too much NCIS. (Or at least I did until this year; I cannot cope with the idea of the show without Ziva.) My favorite television show has rendered me useless in the “waiting game” of crime investigation.  I expect the clues to arrive on time, be duly considered and the murderer dispatched in haste.
    Not so in Münster’s Case. Perhaps the novel should be re-titled to Münster’s Case; a Study in Torpor. For me the novel was a study in patience.
    In every-dripping rain, gloomy Sundays and days and days of ennui, Münster and his team struggle to gather the will and energy to solve a murder, then a disappearance, and another murder in the town unfortunate enough to have these folks as their investigative officers.
    I have the blessing and privilege of having two homicide investigators in my family. If they approached their jobs with as little energy as this pack of public servants they would be without their job post haste.
    I do appreciate that Münster’s Case did portray the tedium of police work and the problems officers face in the field. But I feel the author did not invest enough in his characters to cause us to care about them, or even about the case. Perhaps it’s because he has a weak protagonist. Münster fights for time with his family, is tempted by lust and ultimately succeeds only with the help of his mentor. 
    The book’s conclusion left me feeling gloomy and cross. Perhaps I should watch more NCIS after all.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1