Customer Reviews for

Murder Boogies with Elvis (Southern Sisters Series #8)

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 3, 2013

    Highly Recommend- one of her best!!

    If you love the Southern Sisters Series- this is one of the best! I had read the first few and skipped ahead to this one because of the title and a recommendation from a friend. Now I have to read all of them. The series is light hearted and fun. The characters are so real, they just carry you along for the ride. And it's always a wild and wonderful ride with Sister and Mouse!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A must read

    Starting with the first one Murder on a Girls night out and ending with this Murder Boogies with Elvis it was like visiting old friends and catching up with their lives. This one tied everthing up but would like to have had more from Anne George. I enjoyed all of the Children but Patrica Anne son Freddie. I would like to have seen Fred and Virgil try to stop the Sisters from becoming involved in another Murder. Great Author wish there were more books with the Sisters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Lovely book served with humor and large helping of southern culture all laced around a murder. Great for book clubs and rainy days.

    Two sisters in their 60s become involved in a murder that they have witnessed at a social event. A rural sheriff, Elvis impersonators and a bevy of typical southern characters weave together until the one who done it is discovered.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2002

    Anne George shines again!

    If you are already an Anne George fan, all I need to tell you is she's turned in another fabulous kneeslapper. If you are not familier with her work, get ready for a wonderful treat. In this hilarious whodunit, the city of Birmingham, Alabama holds a fund raising show at the historic "Alabama" theatre, featuring a whole busload of Elvis impersonators, to raise money to restore the staure Vulcan, and to replace the stature back on Red Mountain, so that the citizens over the mountain can view his famous bare behind. Since our two favorite sluething sisters are sitting on the front row of the theatre, naturally one of the Elvis impersonators is stabbed to death and falls into the orchestra pit. It seems that everywhere those two women show up, somebody gets murdered. Personally, if I saw them walking down the street toward me, I would turn and run for my life. As always, Anne George is funny, compelling, and downright fun to read. I highly recommend this book and would have given it five stars but the editing was poor. There is some repitition and a few other editing errors

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2002

    Mouse and Sister in their last outing

    Unfortunately this will be the last mystery with Patricia Ann (Mouse) and Mary Alice (Sister) the two sisters who keep getting involved in crimes since Mouse retired and Sister had more opportunity to drag her along on her outings. This time they are at a performance to benefit the restauration of Vulcan when one of the Elvis impersonators drops in the orchestra pit right in front of them. Since Sister's latest intended, Virgil, has a son and a son-in-law in the Elvis line up, the sisters get naturally involved in solving the mystery. All the while a wedding is planned and babies are on several minds. Anne George's death has cut this series short, but it is a fitting end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2001

    Another knee-slapper fit for a king

    Anne George does it again with another wonderfully crafted mystery. Not only does she make the reader keep turning the page with a well-paced story, but she makes us stop every now and then to laugh out loud. Her humor, I've come to realize, is on several levels ranging from slapstick to toung-in-cheek. For those not familier with Anne George, I suggest you treat yourself to some good ol' downhome storytelling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2001

    Ahhhhhh......To be back in Patricia Anne's Kitchen!

    I'm a huge Anne George fan and her last installment of the Southern Sisters doesn't disappoint! I just got the book last night and finished it this morning. What a joy the Sisters are to read. Once again I am transported to Alabama and eating orange rolls in Patricia Anne's kitchen. I have to admit I got a little teary eyed reading the back flap where they mentioned Anne George's passing away earlier this year. Her wonderful books will be greatly missed, but I thank her for the wonderful afternoons I spent reading about Patricia Anne and Mary Alice's adventures. Here's to you Ms George, I hope to get to Birmingham one day to check out Vulcan!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable down home southern regional mystery

    Mary Alice and Patricia Anne (AKA Mouse) might be in their sixties but their lives are anything but dull. Mary Alice is planning her fourth marriage and plans to honeymoon in an RV while Patricia Anne is counting the days before her pregnant daughter returns from Warsaw with her new husband. <P>Patricia Anne and her spouse Fred, and Mary Alice and her fiancé, Virgil are going to the Alabama Theater to see the latest acts that include an Elvis impersonator. From the vantage point of their front row seat they see one of the Elvis¿s keel over and falls into the orchestra pit. It was later discovered that he was murdered with a switchblade, which Patricia Anne found days later lying in her purse. Once Patricia Anne becomes involved to that extent, the Southern sisters are not going to rest until they find who the murderer is and just as important, why the weapon was dropped in the purse. <P>Fans of down home southern regionals will love MURDER BOOGIES WITH ELVIS. Although the ambiance of the deep South is captured to perfection, the background does not overwhelm the plot in way. Instead it adds an extra dose of atmosphere to the story line as well as fleshing out the characters so that the reader will know what they are feeling. There is a lot of humor in Anne George¿s latest mystery that will have the audience laughing out loud especially the scenes between the two sisters. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1