Customer Reviews for

Murder In Thrall

Average Rating 4
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Outstanding romance with a great mystery included. I look forwar

Outstanding romance with a great mystery included. I look forward to further exploits. It reminds me of the detective in Elizabeth George, but this Lord is sexy

posted by 1188979 on July 29, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

do not recommend

slow moving. difficult to get into. had to force myself to continue reading to end.

posted by 4076700 on August 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    Outstanding romance with a great mystery included. I look forwar

    Outstanding romance with a great mystery included. I look forward to further exploits. It reminds me of the detective in Elizabeth George, but this Lord is sexy

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    Could not put it down. I was a bit confused in the beginning bu

    Could not put it down. I was a bit confused in the beginning but it made perfect sense at the ending. The story was outstanding and I look forward to the author's sequel.
    Recommend it highly to readers of British murder mysteries.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Murder in Thrall is first in the series of author Anne Cleeland┬┐

    Murder in Thrall is first in the series of author Anne Cleeland’s New Scotland Yard mysteries! This story held me captive from beginning to end!

    First year Detective Constable Kathleen Doyle, all the envy of her fellow first year detectives is partnered up by mysterious request with the seasoned and highly reputed Chief Inspector Michael Sinclair, member of the aristocracy, a Baron in his own right; also known as Lord Acton. This coveted duo has solved many a case in the three months they have been partners, almost as if there is an “other-worldly” connection between the two. Doyle herself is noted among her peers as exceptional on reading witnesses and suspects, slight of stature she is one red-headed Irish girl from Dublin who isn’t afraid to tell it like it is, but then apologizing for it afterwards. Especially to her illustrious boss. While Acton’s abilities and impressive arrest record which speaks for itself does draw the attention of all concerned when he decides to take Doyle under his wing; none have the where-with-all to comment about it to his face including Doyle’s Supervisor Inspector Habib. But is there an ulterior motive under foot? At thirty-eight years old Acton has traditionally worked alone and not mixed often with those whom he works; although a rumor is bantered about of a personal alliance with Fiona from Forensics. Acton, (whose nick name is Holmes, breathed quiet tones behind his back) and Doyle are called upon to investigate a puzzling murder at a local race track; little do they know how personal their investigation will become. Surging with action to keep your heart racing like too much of Doyle’s super charged lattes she is so addictively fond of but also containing romantic undertones that skirt the edges of obsession! I loved this book! I cannot wait for book two to be released in August 2014!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2014

    I absolutely love these two...can't wait to read more and more a

    I absolutely love these two...can't wait to read more and more about them. Their relationship is quite special.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2013

    Excellent mystery! *Book source ~ Many thanks to Kensington for

    Excellent mystery!

    *Book source ~ Many thanks to Kensington for providing a review copy in exchange for an honest review.

    Kathleen Doyle a 24-year-old 1st year Detective Constable with Scotland Yard is beyond surprised when the great and brilliant Chief Inspector Acton requests her presence for a murder investigation. Doyle’s not a bad detective, but her greatest strength is in interrogation. Call it intuition, a bit of psychic ability or whatever you want she can sense what others are feeling, so she’s practically a human lie detector. She and Acton never openly discuss what it is she can do, but he has no qualms in using whatever is at his disposal to close cases. And in the 3 months of working together they’ve closed an impressive number of cases. But does he have an ulterior motive for calling her from the lowest tier to the exalted ranks? And will they solve this next string of murders when it begins to look like one or the other of them is the next target?

    I liked the premise of this story and thought it would be a regular mystery with a murder or murders to solve before the end. What I got was so much more. Told from Doyle’s POV the inner workings of her mind are delightful. Her Irish way of speaking, her view of the world and how she thinks of Acton are all so fascinating that the book fairly flies along. On top of that, there’s Acton and his actions. Very unusual and mystifying. And finally there is a murderer running around killing people in a seemingly unconnected yet connected fashion and Doyle and Acton are hard pressed to link the murders together. The ending was a surprise. I didn’t see that coming. I loved this story and I’m looking forward to reading more stories featuring Doyle and Acton.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    I loved this first book in a new mystery series. I found it wel

    I loved this first book in a new mystery series. I found it well written with a plot that kept me reading. I couldn't wait to find out how it would
    end. Acton and Doyle were captivating characters. I am very much looking forward to the next book in the series. I am delighted to have found a new author with promising plots!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    I loved this book so much I read it 3 times already! I can't wa

    I loved this book so much I read it 3 times already! I can't wait for the sequel. The characters are interesting people and the author has I think captured their distintive voices. There is a definite flirtatious dialog but it doesn't get in the way of the plot, which is also tight and unexpected. A great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    This is a wonderful book that is not only a good mystery but is

    This is a wonderful book that is not only a good mystery but is has a wonderful focus on a very unusual love relationship! I found this couple as intriguing as the mystery itself! I look forward to the next adventure with Doyle and Acton with a curiousness as to how they progress!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Anne Cleeland has written an exciting mystery, Murder In Thrall,

    Anne Cleeland has written an exciting mystery, Murder In Thrall, which will keep you enthralled to the very end. She is a descriptive writer, but this is not a book you will want to skim over. She has cleverly written two different puzzles that you will want to solve.  The relationship puzzle and the murder puzzle go hand in and and overlap at times leading to rapid page turning.
    The young rookie and First Year Detective, Doyle, is an Irish redhead on her own after her mum died of a long-term illness wherein she has little funds to manage her future. Michael Sinclair is not only Chief Inspector but Lord Acton who has an exceptional reputation and talent for solving most of the high crimes in London successfully.  He sees her and is drawn to her intuition and insight.  She is able to see whether someone is lying or telling truth. A talent he feels will enhance crime solving to which he is dedicated, but he also has a strong pull toward this woman.

    I love the psychology of her insight to the crimes and the witnesses. We are always knowledgeable about her thoughts. I was immersed in how this relationship grows because of the differing background of these two people. 
    She writes about how the dependence on mobile phones becomes a hindrance when it’s not available, leaving Doyle stranded in a most dangerous situation. Truly a different type murder mystery. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    EXCELLENT!

    I have found a new author who may be on a par with Victoria Thompson. I am hoping to read more adventures of Acton and Doyle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    Perfect romance/mystery novel!! The story was absolutely grippin

    Perfect romance/mystery novel!! The story was absolutely gripping and I could not put it down! I can't wait to see what to see what else Ann Cleeland comes out with. Absolutely great read!! This is to replace the review I posted earlier, i messed up the star rating!! Definitely 5 stars!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    I found this book to be almost impossible to put down....the cha

    I found this book to be almost impossible to put down....the characters are well thought out, keeping your interest just as much as the mystery does !!
    And because of the unique character plots, I will be reading the next one when it comes out, because their story is as compelling as the murders they solve.
    Twists and turns keeps this one intriguing....a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    Excellent mystery with many twists and turns. Looking forward to

    Excellent mystery with many twists and turns. Looking forward to reading more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1