Customer Reviews for

Murder Machine: A True Story of Murder, Madness, and the Mafia

Average Rating 4.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2008

    Best Mafia True Crime Book Ever

    I have read a large number of true crime mafia books, from the Valachi Papers to Mob Star, and this is by far the best. Roy De Meo`s crue are the most vicious and nasty murderers ever assembled. Read this book - it is unmissable.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2005

    Must read

    This book is thoroughly researched and sometimes the drawn out details of the minor crimes can get a little tedious, especially when they larger, more interesting ones seem to be just glazed over. I wish more of the facts could have been corroborated by someone other than Dominic Montaglio, the known liar, and that the authors hadn't tried to make all of the snitch witnesses look so selfless, as if they had only been caught up in the action by accident, but all in all it was a great book. I also wish that they had gotten more information about the other Gemini crew members, Joey Testa, Anthony Senter, and Henry Borelli, and included them in the updates. Maybe when the next addition comes out they will think about doing this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    The absolute best mafia book I've ever read. Action packed &

    The absolute best mafia book I've ever read. Action packed & so well written it was hard to put down. Not really sure why this isn't a movie yet? If directed by Martin Scorsese, Murder Machine could easily be one of the all-time best Mob flicks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Best book about the ny mafia yet. From page one until its over.

    Best book about the ny mafia yet. From page one until its over. Growing up in Howard beach ny and being around the gotti's I thought I had heard and seen it all. I was mistaken. A must read 100% 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2005

    Good Stuff!

    A great read. Read it in 2 days.This guy truely was a murder machine. A must for any mafia, true crime buff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2005

    Great!

    A little long winded at times, but a real page turner. I still find it hard to believe all these people where murdered. A worthwhile read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2005

    A MASTERPIECE!!!

    Usually I hate to read but I Got grounded so i drove to B&N and got this book. It goes into grim detail about some of the murders commited. A must have for a mafioso fanatic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2004

    Facts or Fiction?

    This book is well written and features some interesting accounts. Still, in researching its information, it cannot be held as a 'true-crime' novel. Undoubtedly, the characters cast as murderers in the story were certainly immersed within a criminal element in actual life. Yet, we are left to believe the details provided by a known liar, named Dominic Montiglio. This individual pits himself as a war hero, but he is nothing more than '...a thief and a loan shark [who] eventually became a drug addict' (105). The aforementioned are words of Capeci and Mustain in 'Mob Star,' their story of John Gotti, written before they authored 'Murder Machine.' Then, if one ventures to read the book 'Stolen Valor,' they will come to understand that Montiglio never served as a member in any of America's armed forces, at any capacity whatsoever. There goes the credibility of Murder Machine and its so-called 'True Story of Murder, Madness, and the Mafia.' After all, a whole chapter is devoted to Montiglio's war stories from 'Nam and numerous references are made to his tenure as a 'LURP' throughout the novel. Unfortunately, -or fortunately, depending upon how one looks at it- who or what is to say that any of the uncorroborated information attested to by Montiglio, concerning the characters in the story, are true?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2004

    Not as good as For the Sins of My Father

    When reading this book it seemed to drag on and have useless facts, but after completing it it didn't seem as long. The wrap up at the end could not have been more complete, although it seems some facts are just thrown in there. Definitely worth your time to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2002

    WOW

    One of the best true crime books I ever read. Scary and completely unputdownable! I read it twice in a row. Unlike the other reviewer, who said it was long, it was actually not long enough for me and sent me to the Internet to see what else I could uncover about this unbelievable crew of killers. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2001

    Murder Machine...fantastic!

    This is one of the better mafia books I have read. A little hard on the stomach at times, but nothing any true mafia fanatic couldn't handle. One of the reasons why I enjoyed this book is because it covers more then just one thug. It covers everyone from Roy Demeo, through Anthony Gaggi. In addition, it details one of the most brutal mafia crews, the Demeo gang. Murder Machine is a good switch-hit from your typical mob book, the one's that are usually about the FBI bringing down the family, not in this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2001

    Capeci and Mustain Triumph

    In this long but highly readable piece, Capeci and Mustain chronicle the rise and fall of Roy DeMeo's fearsome crew within the Gambino crime family. With vivid descriptions and lively firsthand accounts from key players, the book leaves no stone unturned in telling the gruesome truth. A must for any mafioso enthusiast.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2