BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Murder Over Easy

Average Rating 3
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Murder over Easy

Marshall Cook has crafted a cozy mystery that vividly depicts life in rural Wisconsin. His detective, Monona Quinn is a strong lady who gets herself into trouble, but manages to get back out relatively unscathed. The dialogue reads smoothly, helping to move the book alo...
Marshall Cook has crafted a cozy mystery that vividly depicts life in rural Wisconsin. His detective, Monona Quinn is a strong lady who gets herself into trouble, but manages to get back out relatively unscathed. The dialogue reads smoothly, helping to move the book along at a quick pace.

posted by Anonymous on October 26, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I Enjoyed This Story

There were a number of issues cited by other reviewers who mostly did not like the book and rated it at two stars or less. I would like to comment on a few of those issues.

Sex Scene (early in book): I agree with those who had problems with it. It simply seemed out...
There were a number of issues cited by other reviewers who mostly did not like the book and rated it at two stars or less. I would like to comment on a few of those issues.

Sex Scene (early in book): I agree with those who had problems with it. It simply seemed out of place and a distraction to the story for me. If the author had a purpose for this scene, it escaped me.

Spelling Errors: Spelling and grammatical errors seem to be rather commonplace in so many of the e-books offered for free, and it certainly can be distracting. When I finished reading this book, I did not remember any spelling or grammatical errors. Not to say there were none, but rather, the number of spelling and grammatical errors were not significant enough to register with my memory. It is all too frequent that I do remember grammatical errors encountered in best seller books that command top dollar sales, and that is a bit more troublesome for me.

Run-On Dialog Formatting: This seemed to be the dominant issue for most of the reviewers who gave low ratings. For some strange reason, the reviewers who gave it the high ratings did not mention any problem reading the dialog furnished in this book. Were they reading the same book the other reviewers and I were reading? I have long enjoyed Robert B. Parker’s books, but his continuous use of “..., Spencer said.” followed by “..., Hawk said.” and the same dialogue format with what most everyone says in his books has always been an aggravation. The dialogue formatting used in this book, however, makes Parker’s seem bearable. In the endnotes of the book, the author, Marshall J. Cook is credited with writing 21 books and teaching writing for the University of Wisconsin-Madison. With these credentials, I would think Mr. Cook should be able to write dialogue in some reasonable format that would be far easier to read than what was exhibited in this book. Accordingly, I have to wonder if just may be the top star reviewers read a different version of the book than was read by the low star reviewers?

Having commented on the main criticisms noted by other reviewers, I would like to point out that I thoroughly enjoyed the story in spite of being distracted by dialogue formatting problems. I am not suggesting this is the “Great American Novel.” After all my years, I still do not know what the “‘Great American Novel” is. As long as I can remember, I have enjoyed good stories, and I have disliked some stories for various reasons. This was a simple hometown “who done it” with several interesting characters and a reasonable ending that will allow the author to take us on to future adventures with the protagonist. I suspect I would enjoy some more stories with Mo Quinn running the local “Mitchell Doings” weekly newspaper and finding more excitement in small town America.

Best wishes,
Dave Wile

posted by DavidWile on March 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2003

    Murder over Easy

    Marshall Cook has crafted a cozy mystery that vividly depicts life in rural Wisconsin. His detective, Monona Quinn is a strong lady who gets herself into trouble, but manages to get back out relatively unscathed. The dialogue reads smoothly, helping to move the book along at a quick pace.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2003

    Murder over Easy

    Marshall Cook delivers a well-crafted cozy mystery with Murder Over Easy. The owner of a small town diner ends up dead. The sheriff of the town rules the death an accident. But the editor of the local newspaper, a former columnist with the Chicago Tribune sees things differently. She sets out to prove that foul play led to the death of diner owner, Charlie. Cook's dialogue captures the spirit of a small Midwestern town, and helps keep the book moving at a quick pace. A great late night read for those of us that aren't interested in the graphic violence of other books in the genre.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    I Enjoyed This Story

    There were a number of issues cited by other reviewers who mostly did not like the book and rated it at two stars or less. I would like to comment on a few of those issues.

    Sex Scene (early in book): I agree with those who had problems with it. It simply seemed out of place and a distraction to the story for me. If the author had a purpose for this scene, it escaped me.

    Spelling Errors: Spelling and grammatical errors seem to be rather commonplace in so many of the e-books offered for free, and it certainly can be distracting. When I finished reading this book, I did not remember any spelling or grammatical errors. Not to say there were none, but rather, the number of spelling and grammatical errors were not significant enough to register with my memory. It is all too frequent that I do remember grammatical errors encountered in best seller books that command top dollar sales, and that is a bit more troublesome for me.

    Run-On Dialog Formatting: This seemed to be the dominant issue for most of the reviewers who gave low ratings. For some strange reason, the reviewers who gave it the high ratings did not mention any problem reading the dialog furnished in this book. Were they reading the same book the other reviewers and I were reading? I have long enjoyed Robert B. Parker’s books, but his continuous use of “..., Spencer said.” followed by “..., Hawk said.” and the same dialogue format with what most everyone says in his books has always been an aggravation. The dialogue formatting used in this book, however, makes Parker’s seem bearable. In the endnotes of the book, the author, Marshall J. Cook is credited with writing 21 books and teaching writing for the University of Wisconsin-Madison. With these credentials, I would think Mr. Cook should be able to write dialogue in some reasonable format that would be far easier to read than what was exhibited in this book. Accordingly, I have to wonder if just may be the top star reviewers read a different version of the book than was read by the low star reviewers?

    Having commented on the main criticisms noted by other reviewers, I would like to point out that I thoroughly enjoyed the story in spite of being distracted by dialogue formatting problems. I am not suggesting this is the “Great American Novel.” After all my years, I still do not know what the “‘Great American Novel” is. As long as I can remember, I have enjoyed good stories, and I have disliked some stories for various reasons. This was a simple hometown “who done it” with several interesting characters and a reasonable ending that will allow the author to take us on to future adventures with the protagonist. I suspect I would enjoy some more stories with Mo Quinn running the local “Mitchell Doings” weekly newspaper and finding more excitement in small town America.

    Best wishes,
    Dave Wile

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Wrong book

    Ha ha, I was well into chapter 2 before I realized the description given was for a different story!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Overview for a different book

    It may have the wrong overview but this was a fun, quick read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    So cute!!

    A funny cast of characters, just the right length, and a few surprises plus it's free!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A short little novel, more like a novella really, about the murd

    A short little novel, more like a novella really, about the murder of a beloved diner owner and civic volunteer in a small Wisconsin town. Overall, I'm not a fan. It wasn't all that compelling reading. There were too many little things that just kinda nagged at me. Like: a whole, whole lot of the book was told as dialogue, and with the way it was formatted (both parties sentences in the same paragraph) it became annoying to read. Some of the storyline was so clearly foreshadowed that it could just as well have been printed in safety orange with a sign 'here be a clue'. None of the characters was all that well developed, more like quirky traits identified. I don't think I'll be reading any more works from this author, even if they are offered for free. It's just not worth my time.

    The ebook was formatted OK, but there were several spelling errors and the paragraph structure was somewhat jumbled.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    Reading Over Easy

    Easy to read and a nice way to pass an hour or so.....Some grammatical eerors, but still enjoyable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2012

    I thought the story was fine - light reading & interesting.

    I thought the story was fine - light reading & interesting. But I thought the editing was poor. Did not find that the dialogue read smoothly at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Murder Over Easyis a good, light read.

    This book held my attention but was a little too easy to figure out. A good read for the beach, a weekend trip, etc. Overall enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Interesting

    Good book. Interesting how it was written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Recommended

    This was a short fun little book, I'll look for more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    Could not get into it

    Had a hard time keeping up. Even had to re read pages to find out who was who. Too much work for a book. Got to page 23 and had to quit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    I won't waste space on my bookshelf with this one.

    Very poorly written with a plot full of gigantic holes. The story line is predictable and full of sad steroetypes.
    The author refers to Nancy Drew and the Hardy boys repeatedly and even quotes a page from one of those much loved children's mysteries. This makes me think maybe the book was written by a twelve year old and if so it was a nice effort.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Good for a free book.

    The story was interesting and the characters colorful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    For cozy American mystery lovers.

    The locale in this case is Mitchell, Wisconsin, a "small, rural southcentral Wisconsin community." This first of the Monona Quinn mysteries introduces us to Monona and her husband Doug Stennett as they settle into Mitchell and she takes over as editor of the local newspaper, the Mitchell Doings only to find herself researching the death, possibly the murder, of a well-liked local whose diner was a popular local hangout. As her research turns into an investigation she uncovers local secrets, not to mention the core secret of the victim himself.

    Smoothly written if a tad formulaic (isn't it supposed to be?), Murder Over Easy offers enough pleasure to the cozy mystery lover to lead to the next book in the series, Twin Killing, and then to the next and so on. Especially good when ensconced in an easy chair with tea and snickerdoodles (or whatever the reader favors) at the ready.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2