Customer Reviews for

Murder Passes The Buck

Average Rating 4
( 179 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(88)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Like Evanovich? Love Deb Baker

As a big Evanovich fan, I was really looking forward to reading this based on the reviews. It didn't disappoint. Laugh-out-loud humour, a great story, and a really fun read. I'll definately be reading more from Gertie!

posted by SibelHodge on September 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Boo

Just wanted to thank dollycas for her plot spoiler. Now i dont have to read the book!!!! Learn to write a review, not a blog, book report or dissertation. Stop dissecting every sentence.

posted by 8888649 on October 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Different Kind of Mystery

    I'm used to reading Agatha Christie mysteries, so having somebody who's basically the opposite of Miss Marple took some getting used to. It was a fun read. It had me giggling at some parts, which is always nice no matter what you're reading. Even though my first instinct on who "dunnit" was correct, it still had some fun twists that the characters go through that had me guessing how they were going to get out of this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    good choice

    This book was a fun read with interesting characters, definately recommend!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2013

    Very enjoyable book. Very well written and well-edited and proo

    Very enjoyable book. Very well written and well-edited and proofed. Gertie's writer sure knows Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Furthermore, just talking about pasties makes my mouth water.
    The U.P. grows strong women, whether a transplant by marriage or native-born. And Gertie is a good example. The women are used to their men going off to hunting blinds or hunting camps. So they are accustomed to making their own lives. The ties between women are probably tighter here than in the land of the Trolls (those who live "under the bridge" - south of the Mackinaw Bridge between the two peninsulas.
    Gertie is an outspoken diamond in the rough. With her husband dead 18 months, she needs a reason to get up. Or as she says,"Cora Mae, I’m doing it because I have to have a reason to get up every day. I’m doing it because I’m living alone for the first time in forty-some years and I can’t wake up in the morning and get excited about playing cards with the seniors or going to bingo.”
    This murder investigation pits Gertie against her son, Blaze, the local sheriff, who is positive there is no murder and that his mother is incompetent to manage her affairs. So as she and her friends "investigate" and bumble about, she still must face a court date wherein Blaze seeks to become her guardian.
    I look forward to reading other books by Deb Baker.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2014

    Deb Baker certainly has a way with words. Another funny story i

    Deb Baker certainly has a way with words. Another funny story in the Gertie Johnson series. Reminds me of the "country" folk I grew up with in England. Good read - recommended. Live, Love and Laugh.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2014

    Not too bad

    Decent enough read especially considering it was free. I wouldn't compare this author to Evanovich however. The author got a few chuckles out of me but I wouldnt call the book funny either. Maybe if the characters were more developed. I am willing to spend the whopping $1.99 to see if that happens because I did enjoy the "66" year old imagery and wit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Quirky and fun

    Great story, lots of twists. Entertaining

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Enjoyed

    Very good! The main character and her antics had me laughing often. Well done....I will definitely read more by this author. A good 'who done it' with hilarity along the way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    Hilarious!

    Gertie, self-appointed sleuth because she deems her son the Sheriff too lazy to investigate the death of a local as a murder (as she calls it), is a hoot and a half! If Stephanie Plum's Grandma Mazur was younger, lived out in the country, & decided to become an investigator, this is what she'd be like. I look forward to Gertie's next "case".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Great

    She's funny, smart, witty & stubborn. You just gotta love her!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    You're never too old to take up something new.  This could be th

    You're never too old to take up something new.  This could be the phrase to live by for sixty something, widow,  Gertie Johnson.  Everything from her new word for everyday, to taking up driving for the first time.  When her neighbor, Chester, in found shot between the eyes in his hunting blind, Gertie's son, Sheriff Blaze, calls it an accidental shooting. Gertie decides that it is actually a murder, so she takes up investigating.  She's aided by her sixty something friends --flirty Cora Mae, and Kitty, who's never seen a food that she won't snack on. 




    Blaze is not comfortable with all of his mom's new risky activities.  When she takes all her money out of the bank too, Blaze decides that he should become her guardian.  The interplay between Gertie and Blaze becomes more and more hilarious as they race to beat each other.   Gertie looking for clues, and Blaze trying to keep a look out for his mon's safety.  




    This first Gertie Johnson mystery bodes well for great episodes in the future.  Laughter, thrills, and relationships makes this a fun cozy mystery.  Looking forward to reading the further books in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    Luke warm

    This book was just missing something for me. I thought the mystery was good and kept me guessing, and most of the character development was good. There was just something off...some of it felt too dry and lacking in description, and some of it felt rushed. Still a good read, just not my favorite

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Lots of laughs.

    Really enjoyed the characters inthis book. Looking to read more of gertie's adventures in th PI business.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Very cute

    Kept me guessing until the end. An enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    Too cute!

    Very entertaining quick read, the corny cheesiness of characters blend well for a humorous light read,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    fun adventure

    This book was such a fun read with a good mystery the best part was that while reading this book we took a trip to the U.P. and I was bragging to everyone that would listen I will be reading more by this author if your from Michigan you will really enjoy the humor and think that could be my family !! I know I did !! Go Gertie !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2013

    I had not read anything by Deb Baker and so I started with her G

    I had not read anything by Deb Baker and so I started with her Gertie Johnson series. I don't think I have ever laughed so hard at a character nor felt we thought the same way . Gertie who is the mother of the local sheriff makes the decision to help him solve a crime- He does not need or so he thinks her help nor does he want it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    I really liked this book and Gertie Johnson is a hoot!

    I just finished reading my first Gertie Johnson mystery and have already gotten another. It was lots of fun, and a fairly quick read for me (I usually read at least a half dozen books a week). Looking forward to reading more of these.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    Anon

    Fun, fun, fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    God read

    Good and cute read worth it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Funny

    About an addlepated 60 something woman, who is bored to death and decides to become a PI. Filled with nut cases annd mystery. I loved this crazy read. Addicting.
    A little gory. Chick book ages 16 and up. But I think it is more for the older reader.

    AD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3