Customer Reviews for

Murder Past Due (Cat in the Stacks Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 114 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Great new series!

I love this new series! Charlie & Diesel are a perfect pair. Charlie is a 50 yr old widower who works in the archives of a college library & volunteers at the local public library. His Maine Coon Cat, Diesel, goes everywhere with him. Diesel's size and personality get h...
I love this new series! Charlie & Diesel are a perfect pair. Charlie is a 50 yr old widower who works in the archives of a college library & volunteers at the local public library. His Maine Coon Cat, Diesel, goes everywhere with him. Diesel's size and personality get him attention everywhere he goes. I also like how Diesel comforts anyone who needs it, especially Justin, Charlie's college-age boarder. Each of the characters was interesting in his/her own way---Azalea & Kanesha are two of my favorites.

I can't wait for the next Cat In The Stacks Mystery to come out!

posted by KJMSC on August 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

New Series with a very special Library Cat

Miranda James offers us a refreshing new series staring Charlie a college librarian and his maine coon cat Diesel. As an old school classmate arrives in town causing a stir, Diesel helps Charlie solve his murder. A fresh whiff of southern manners and the dust of old bo...
Miranda James offers us a refreshing new series staring Charlie a college librarian and his maine coon cat Diesel. As an old school classmate arrives in town causing a stir, Diesel helps Charlie solve his murder. A fresh whiff of southern manners and the dust of old books sets the scene of new characters in this mystery.

posted by 210270 on March 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 26, 2013

    The book is told from the perspective of Charlie, who works with

    The book is told from the perspective of Charlie, who works with rare books at the local college. He inherited a house and always has a couple of college boarders living there. He is also the friend and provider for a wonderful Maine Coon cat named Diesel.

    I loved the way the author wrote about Diesel and how he has charmed most all of the town. Charlie takes him almost everywhere and it is fun to read about how Diesel interacts with others.

    I found the mystery that needed to be solved in this book to be very interesting. It is a murder and there are so many suspects because the person murdered really had a lot of enemies. I thought I had it figured out, but I didn’t. The author truly surprised me at the end when the murderer was arrested and even added another twist to the story that I didn’t anticipate.

    I am glad to have found out about this series. Murder Past Due was a fun read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2012

    Fun, sweet and an easy read

    This was my first "Diesel" the cat book and I liked the cat as well as the human characters. This isn't deep, but it is humorous (mostly at society which is on the mark to me) and has intelligent characters. that makes a fun mystery to me.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2013

    couldn't stop reading it

    Unfortunately I read # 3 of the series before I read # 1 and #2, suggest reading them in order, they make a log more sense. This is a great series; I wanted to see who did it, but did not want the book to end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Recoommended

    This is good reading if you enjoy books about cats and mystery, I'm
    a cat lover and mysteries are the favorite books on my shelf. I would read more of this author's books if they have the same ideas. Hope there will be more in this series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    fine regional amateur sleut

    College librarian architect Charlie Harris and his Maine coon cat Diesel live in Athena, Mississippi. Charlie walks the larger than normal sized cat on a leash as the feline is his friend and books are his only companions since his aunt died. However, recently Charlie has found he cares for his boarder Julian Wardlaw, a student at the school.

    A former classmate of Charlie arrives at his house. Charlie never liked arrogant Godfrey Priest, Athena's favorite son as a noted author of gore. Julie Wardlaw informs Godfrey that Julian is his son and the man who raised him is dying. Godfrey gets into a fight with Ezra who thinks of Julian as his son. Soon after their tussle that sent Ezra to the hospital, someone kills Godfrey. Charlie realizes everyone in town seemed to hate haughty Godfrey with several having strong motives, but he ponders who had the opportunity and the ultimate desire as he and Diesel try to help the police who want no help from him or his cat.

    Eighteen year old Justin finds the key that opens up Charlie's heart, which makes him feel again as they empathize with one another encouraged by Diesel. Great characterizations make for a fine regional amateur sleuth whodunit; as Charlie fears the cops are going after the wrong person in this entertaining small southern college town murder mystery.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2014

    Charlie Harris is a part time collage librarian in Mississippi.

    Charlie Harris is a part time collage librarian in Mississippi.  He's a recent widower with a pet Maine Coon Cat named, Diesel, who walks on a leash everywhere with Charlie.  Charlie also boards a couple of students from the college.  




    When a former classmate, Godfrey Priest, comes to town to promote his latest bestselling book, not everyone is pleased with his visit.  Godfrey is a bit of an arrogant bastard who has hurt and angered a number of people. He's also coming to claim a son who is rooming with Charlie.  But someone has killed Godfrey in his hotel before he can give his talk.  Now Charlie finds himself researching more than old college documents so he can help find the killer before his friends become the prime suspects. 




    This story revolves a great deal around the cat, who seems a bit like a recovery service cat.  Diesel seemed to always know when someone needed extra attention and love.  This aspect of the story was very subtle and well done, which I really liked.  On the other hand, I found it a bit difficult to believer that everyone, and all places, appreciated having a cat around, especially food places.  That being said, this story was captivating and intriguing.  The well developed characters and theme of book writing made this a fun mystery. 




    The narration was well done, but since the story was written in a first person male voice, I might have preferred a male narration.  Though I liked this audio version well enough that I definitely plan to listen to the next book in this fun series too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2014

    Good book.

    A typical cozy mystery. I enjoyed it and kept me guessing who was the killer. I will look for #2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2014

    Would definitely recommend

    Very readable, characters are delightful and quirky, great read for a cold snowy winter day. Will probably read the whole series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    A good read, intrigue and mystery yet lighthearted.

    A very enjoyable book. An easy read. Diesel is a real kick.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2014

    Highly recommended for cat lovers!

    Light-mystery read for cat lovers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    Good snowy afternoon read.

    Goes fast, good charters and love the cat!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    Icefire

    Sure! I will be on for a little bit, I have school. I can't belive some RPers have a snow day! Where I live, it is just icy! I wasn't on as long as I thought I would. Mom and dad attack. So, I will meet you there!
    <br>
    <p>
    &star Icefire

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    Emberstar

    I agree with Lilywolf. The other "pact clans" are just copies. It's like stealing somebodies book before it's copywrited bacause you're too much of a sloth to make your own.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2014

    Enjoyed this book a lot. Loved Diesel. Story fairly predictabl

    Enjoyed this book a lot. Loved Diesel. Story fairly predictable, but a very nice light mystery. Will look forward to reading more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Fun Read

    I bought this book as a "free" book, and enjoyed it. I borrowed the next three from the library, and am waiting for the 5th book to be released shortly!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Murder mystery at a quiet, Southern pace

    Lots of characters with character, a good mystery (with subtle clues toward the true killer), and a gentle demeanor. An enjoyable change of pace, and Diesel's a well-described cat meandering through it all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great interaction between all players, lots of suspense! This is

    Great interaction between all players, lots of suspense! This is the first book in Miranda James' Cat in the Stacks series, reprinted. Let me say first that I loved the interaction between Diesel, a rescued Maine Coon cat, and the other characters in the story. So much so, that I want a Maine Coon cat! The book is well-written and characters fully formed, not always found in the first book of a series. There appears to be a good balance among the characters.

    The storyline was full of suspense and twists right to the end. When best-selling author Godfrey Priest is killed, it soon becomes clear that almost everyone had a reason to kill him. A mean-spirited and hateful snob of a character not above stealing another's works, it is a wonder he lived so long. Sadly, he leaves behind the one person who might have cared about him, his newly discovered son Justin, who just happens to be boarding at the home of our main protagonist, Godfrey's old high school acquaintance, Charlie Harris, librarian and book archivist and owner of said cat. Without Charlie's help with Diesel's assistance, the crime might never have been solved.

    This series has it all, compassion, spite, good, bad, and characters that bounce off each other in many ways. A great start to a new cozy series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2013

    excellent

    I liked this book a lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Cat lovers enjoy!

    I haven't read a good cat mystery since The Cat Who by Lillian Jackson Braun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2011

    An engaging Maine Coon cat oriented mystery

    Glad she's writing this series... Seems like a good one and will await the next. Enjoyed it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2