Customer Reviews for

Murder Past Due (Cat in the Stacks Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 113 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Great new series!

I love this new series! Charlie & Diesel are a perfect pair. Charlie is a 50 yr old widower who works in the archives of a college library & volunteers at the local public library. His Maine Coon Cat, Diesel, goes everywhere with him. Diesel's size and personality get h...
I love this new series! Charlie & Diesel are a perfect pair. Charlie is a 50 yr old widower who works in the archives of a college library & volunteers at the local public library. His Maine Coon Cat, Diesel, goes everywhere with him. Diesel's size and personality get him attention everywhere he goes. I also like how Diesel comforts anyone who needs it, especially Justin, Charlie's college-age boarder. Each of the characters was interesting in his/her own way---Azalea & Kanesha are two of my favorites.

I can't wait for the next Cat In The Stacks Mystery to come out!

posted by KJMSC on August 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

New Series with a very special Library Cat

Miranda James offers us a refreshing new series staring Charlie a college librarian and his maine coon cat Diesel. As an old school classmate arrives in town causing a stir, Diesel helps Charlie solve his murder. A fresh whiff of southern manners and the dust of old bo...
Miranda James offers us a refreshing new series staring Charlie a college librarian and his maine coon cat Diesel. As an old school classmate arrives in town causing a stir, Diesel helps Charlie solve his murder. A fresh whiff of southern manners and the dust of old books sets the scene of new characters in this mystery.

posted by 210270 on March 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 14, 2010

    Great new series!

    I love this new series! Charlie & Diesel are a perfect pair. Charlie is a 50 yr old widower who works in the archives of a college library & volunteers at the local public library. His Maine Coon Cat, Diesel, goes everywhere with him. Diesel's size and personality get him attention everywhere he goes. I also like how Diesel comforts anyone who needs it, especially Justin, Charlie's college-age boarder. Each of the characters was interesting in his/her own way---Azalea & Kanesha are two of my favorites.

    I can't wait for the next Cat In The Stacks Mystery to come out!

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A PURR-FECT MYSTERY!!

    A CAT IN THE STACKS MYSTERY
    RELEASE DATE AUGUST3, 2010
    BERKLEY PRIME CRIME

    This is a brand new series featuring Diesel, a Maine coon cat rescued by Charlie Harris, the kindly librarian, who takes Diesel almost everywhere he goes in a halter with a leash. Maine coon cats are huge, they can weigh as much as 25 pounds and it is one of the oldest natural breeds in North America, specifically native to the state of Maine, where it is the official State Cat. They are known for their intelligence and gentle personalities.

    Diesel and his owner reside in Athena, Mississippi where Charlie, who has recently lost his wife to cancer returns to his hometown to live in a home left to him by his aunt. He works in the Archive Department of the college library and Diesel is well known at the library but stays pretty close to Charlie. Charlie also rents out rooms in his home to college students just as his aunt did. Diesel has a unique trait, in that he knows when people around him need a paw, a head bump or a cuddle, and is especially close to Justin, a freshman at the college who is rooming with Charlie.

    Charlie is immersed in his work when he learns that famous author and former classmate, Godfrey Priest, is returning to Athena to promote his current book and take care of some personal business. Charlie remembers his classmate as an arrogant jerk would thought he was better than anyone else and there are quite a few people who agree with that assessment. His homecoming is very eventful, by lunch he had put one man in the hospital, turned some of the town's residents lives upside down, and by dinner he is found dead in his hotel room.

    Charlie finds himself pawing through all the information he can find to determine who killed a man not very many people liked, most of whom are his friends and co-workers. It is quite a "purr-plexing" mystery.

    I LOVED IT!!!!!

    This book had me from page one, I fell in love with this cat and the rest of the story very quickly. I was at a high school basketball tournament and couldn't put it down. Charlie and Diesel make a formidable detective team in their purr-suit of the truth. The characters are so well developed you become invested in their lives without any effort at all. This is a wonderful debut to what I know will be a paws down successful series.


    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Berkley Prime Crime, a division of Penguin Publishing. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."


    Some Thoughts

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun cozy mystery for cat & book lovers!

    This cozy mystery has an irresistibly attractive cover, and I'm happy to report that the story inside is just as good! I liked the characters, including the good-natured, compassionate librarian Charlie Harris, the delightful small-town Southern setting, the way all the supporting characters were so well portrayed, and the clever whodunit plot. Most of all, I loved Diesel, Charlie's friendly Maine coon cat, who loves attention, walks on a leash, and chirps and warbles rather than meowing. A fun read for anyone who loves mysteries, cats and books.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    do you like cats

    You will love Diesel. Makes me want a cat. Good writing and a plausible story.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2011

    Great Book!

    I loved this book as I also have a big Maine Coon cat named Gibson. The book gave me info about him that I did not know. Thanks, Miranda! Keep them coming.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    I love reading cozy detective stories and this one was absolutel

    I love reading cozy detective stories and this one was absolutely great. Charlie and his cat, Diesel, are inseparable companions who end up solving a murder mystery along the way. Very fun read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    Great book series!

    They remind me of "The Cat Who" books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Loved this book

    The read was fast, intriqing, and delightful. Cant wait to read more about Diesel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2014

    Kiley

    Here

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2014

    Kevin

    11 inches. Are you descriptive?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2014

    Kyle

    Laughs..is that so

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2014

    Casidy

    Anyone on?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    Tim

    Walks in with a 12 in boner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    Jared

    Walks in looking for a sexy girl

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    Hm...

    My top rps<br>1. Rosepetal<br>2. Vorkuta<br>3. Envy<br>4. Abattoir<br>5. Ebonpelt (Striking)<p>My best and/or most trusted friends<br>1. Toxin<br>2. Devil<br>3. Panther<br>4. Lilywolf<br>5. Karma (Shellpool)/Berserk (Life)<br>6. Swift<br>7. Suntail/Shadowwater/Wingdust<br>8. Fox<br>9. Ferns<br>10. Clockwork<br>11. Steel Blue/Avalanche (Courageheart/Deepthorn)<br>12. Silverfang (Cometstorm)<p>Damn that second part is harder than it looks...only one I know for sure is placed right is Toxin. *sigh* I miss him and Panth the most out of the disappeared...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    Wants to join AshClan!

    *a tortiseshell she-cat with green eyes slinks in when she sees that the ashclan leader is not there, she leaves a note in the soil that reads: "Hello! I am Falconpride, a tortiseshell she-cat with green eyes. I am looking to join your clan, I have heard of it. I have come a long way, I was thrown out of my home by badgers! I am a loyal, honest, and feirce cat and will protect those in my clan. Please let me join!
    Signed,
    Falconpride :)" *when she is done, she slinks into the trees and sits at the edge of the clearing and forest for the AshClan leader to arrive*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Training hollow

    Crystalclan

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    Very entering read!

    For anyone who likes a mystery with a cat thrown in that adds humor to the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    To Lilywolf- two ideas

    NorthClan should be in the mountains, RainClan should be in the valley, HorseClan should be in the meadows, and AshClan should be in the hills.<p>
    Also, for the pact clans, l think you should make them all at one huge result. Pick a giant empty search, and each clan can have a maximum of eight books. The ninth book after each clan camp can be the border for the next clan. See?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    Highly recommend you start this series.

    The first book in the series is a delightful mystery and it wasn't until the last chapter that I began to suspect the killer. The cat isn't a crime solver and yet he is such a wonderful addition to the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3