Customer Reviews for

The Murder Room: The Heirs of Sherlock Holmes Gather to Solve the World's Most Perplexing Cold Cases

Average Rating 4
( 132 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

The over fifty cases are fascinating in a macabre way

This is a terrific look at the mysterious (pun intended) Vidocq Society pledged to solve the tundra of cold cases. Established by internet expert William Fleisher, profiling guru Richard Walter and forensic sculptor Frank Bender, the group is named after Napoleonic era...
This is a terrific look at the mysterious (pun intended) Vidocq Society pledged to solve the tundra of cold cases. Established by internet expert William Fleisher, profiling guru Richard Walter and forensic sculptor Frank Bender, the group is named after Napoleonic era Parisian detective Eugene Vidocq. They meet to brainstorm, discuss processes and solve cases as cold as five decades old and more.

The over fifty cases are fascinating in a macabre way as Michael Capuzzo graphically describes the crimes such as Marie Noe convicted as a septuagenarian in 1999 for killing eight of her kids in 1949 or John List who murdered his family to keep them religiously pure but afterward vanished for two decades before being sculptured. Well written, it is the human element accentuated by the victims such as Widow Marilyn Flax who negotiated with her husband's kidnapper-killer that grips the audience; her story will leave readers eyes watering. Throughout the 56 entries is the underlying competitive camaraderie between the trio, bickering to the amusement of observers like us readers over glasses. Graphic (one killer cut off the visage of those murdered) yet heartfelt (all will cheer when the caught priest mutters "God damn", The Murder Room is a true crime winner.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on June 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

This writing contains a plethora of verbiage that is totally unn

This writing contains a plethora of verbiage that is totally unnecessary in telling the story. I think the story being told could be interesting, if the writer wasn't so hung up on using every world in the dictionary 25 times. It was easy to fortget people, dead or al...
This writing contains a plethora of verbiage that is totally unnecessary in telling the story. I think the story being told could be interesting, if the writer wasn't so hung up on using every world in the dictionary 25 times. It was easy to fortget people, dead or alive, as he went from one character to another and then five chapters later back to the first one. Because of over describing everyone and everything I want to say this book could kill you with horedom. I got the feeling that the author was tryintg to present this book as a mystery to be solved like the Vidocq Society reviews things - way to many detail/words in a book about a society that actually needs detail to do their work.

posted by iskate2 on January 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 133 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted June 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The over fifty cases are fascinating in a macabre way

    This is a terrific look at the mysterious (pun intended) Vidocq Society pledged to solve the tundra of cold cases. Established by internet expert William Fleisher, profiling guru Richard Walter and forensic sculptor Frank Bender, the group is named after Napoleonic era Parisian detective Eugene Vidocq. They meet to brainstorm, discuss processes and solve cases as cold as five decades old and more.

    The over fifty cases are fascinating in a macabre way as Michael Capuzzo graphically describes the crimes such as Marie Noe convicted as a septuagenarian in 1999 for killing eight of her kids in 1949 or John List who murdered his family to keep them religiously pure but afterward vanished for two decades before being sculptured. Well written, it is the human element accentuated by the victims such as Widow Marilyn Flax who negotiated with her husband's kidnapper-killer that grips the audience; her story will leave readers eyes watering. Throughout the 56 entries is the underlying competitive camaraderie between the trio, bickering to the amusement of observers like us readers over glasses. Graphic (one killer cut off the visage of those murdered) yet heartfelt (all will cheer when the caught priest mutters "God damn", The Murder Room is a true crime winner.

    Harriet Klausner

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A very frightening look into the abyss of evil!!!!!

    I am very shaken and overwelmed with the naked forces of evil exposed by the brilliant minds united in the pursuit of justice. Micheal Capuzzo has done a fabulous job of telling the story of the Vidoqc's society's adventures into the realm of darkness seldom understood by everyday people. If the forces of goodwill on earth ever meet and engage in battle with the forces of darkness this book has put some of their battles on dispay for us all. This book like strong drink is not for the feeble hearted or tender stomach. You will need courage and fortitude to endure the words written on the pages of this book. Enjoy your guided trip into the depts of the wicked souls of evil people who have an infinite capacity to shock the human mind with the horor of their existance on earth.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2010

    true crime is stranger than fiction

    In what I took to be a series of vignettes, Capuzzo leads us on a journey into the mind of the sadistic, sexual, serial killer. His style led me to see this was a much better story than when I originally picked up the book. Not until I discovered a sheath of photographs halfway through the book did I realize this was in fact an actual true-crime book. The stories he had woven together where stranger than fiction and all of them chillingly real.
    From cold-case headlines, predominantly, at least initially in the Philadelphia, PA area we learn about a pro-bono, crime-fighting unit named the Vidocq Society. The group, formed by former FBI agent and private detective William Fleisher, psychic forensic artist Frank Bender and forensic psychologist Richard Walter lead us through the most bizarre, traumatic crimes ever committed, and one by one, with help from the other society members, finally put to rest scores of unsolved murders.
    During brainstorming sessions where lunch was often, 'chicken, steamed vegetables and a corpse with a small and unforgettable face' these miracle workers brought closure to many a forgotten family who were glad to know these, 'were men who had a green thumb in the garden of death.' Without impeding on going, police investigations they refused any case until it was at least two-years-old. Many cases where two decades old. They discussed centuries old murders and had a melding of minds and enjoyed lively discussions with like-minded individuals.
    These larger than life characters will open your eyes and your minds to the impossible, and transport you to a world you don't want to believe exists outside of your comfortable living room.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2010

    Thrilling Ride

    "The Murder Room" is a thrilling ride that takes you from behind the police caution tape and into the interrogation room. Michael Capuzzo follows three men, modern day Sherlock Holmes, around their lives pursuing justice and creating the cold case cracking group: The Vidocq Society. This book is and outstanding 5 out of 5 stars. Capuzzo captures every detail of every case. If you aren't one for gore and murder, this book is definitely not for you. Capuzzo recreates murder scenes right from the crime scene itself and the detectives who were there to witness it. Because of the three would be heroes, this book's overall theme is strictly justice and avenging the innocent. Their passion is so strong and Capuzzo's writing is so excellent, the reader is immediately transported into the genius minds of Fleisher, Bender, and Walter. Although murder is a gruesome topic, "The Murder Room" isn't like any horror you've seen at the movies. Evil never prevails with Fleisher, Bender, and Walter on the case. Anyone who enjoys a good mystery or a taste for justice will love this book and be sad when the story has to end.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2013

    This writing contains a plethora of verbiage that is totally unn

    This writing contains a plethora of verbiage that is totally unnecessary in telling the story. I think the story being told could be interesting, if the writer wasn't so hung up on using every world in the dictionary 25 times. It was easy to fortget people, dead or alive, as he went from one character to another and then five chapters later back to the first one. Because of over describing everyone and everything I want to say this book could kill you with horedom. I got the feeling that the author was tryintg to present this book as a mystery to be solved like the Vidocq Society reviews things - way to many detail/words in a book about a society that actually needs detail to do their work.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Unparalled in Scope

    When I first began reading this book, I didn't realize that it was a series of true accounts. I found myself totally immersed in the book and read until I fell asleep and my first thought in the morning was to open my Nook and read my book! If you like crime fiction, this is a must read. As the saying goes, "Life is stranger than fiction." Five stars in all respects.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    I loved this book!

    I love true crime and this book is honestly one of the best i have read by any author! I loved the way this story was told, and with so much detail. I wish he would write more books in this genre and would read them in a second! I have already reccomended this book to many people.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Intriguing, insightful!

    Murders happen to other people, never to you or those whom you know. Right? Think again. I've nearly been killed three times;two persons I know have died. The Murder Room, is the result of five years' effort by the author, delving into records,researching the Vidocq Society, heirs of Sherlock Holmes who gather to solve the world's most perplexing cold cases.This group of amazingly passionate sleuths, studied 300 cold cases and solved 90 percent of them, unsolved, some for over 47 yrs. Named after nineteenth-century Paris detective Eugene Francois Vidocq, the father of forensic detective techniques. The society was organized in 1989 by three men: former FBI agent, Bill Fleisher; an amazing psychological profiler, called ' the living Sherlock Holmes, Richard Walter, and forensic artist, Frank Bender, said to be able to speak with the dead, and thus capture a person's essence in clay. His the ability to model a person as he would look now from pictures 15 -20 years old. There are 82 members; with associates 150. The society is now global, as are cases presented for consideration. All members give of their time and skills pro bono, that is 'for the public good'. Cases must be at least two years old with the local policing agency requesting assistance in solving the crime. In many instances, once the crime is solved and announced to the public, the society's name is not even mentioned. The importance in the group's intervention is justice: finding a name of the victim, tracking the killer and holding that person accountable for the crime or crimes committed,giving both the family resolution, the victim justice. Michael Capuzzo is a masterful writer and the story's concentration of the founding members and how their prior experiences influenced their skill and dedication. Law enforcement and everyone like you will benefit by reading this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    Awkward

    This is a good book. It is not a great book. The way the story of the Vidocq society, its founders, and some of its cases is told is awkward! While the society is a story well worth telling it is chopped up into little pieces. It becomes difficult to carry the thread of a story from section to section. I almost wanted to cut the book apart and put the story lines together. GOOD story! BAD writing!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2015

    Loved this book. I couldn't put it down.  I had heard about the

    Loved this book. I couldn't put it down.  I had heard about the Vidocq Society but didn't know exactly what they were all about.  This book takes you from the beginning on how everything started and is just fascinating on how they all come together to try and help solve cold cases. Highly recommended read 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    One star is generous

    Very convoluted writing; hard to imagine this survived an editor's pen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    This is fantastic. Written with such ease of a novel, and really keeps your interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Unknown Detectives

    If you are a interested in true crime stories and would like to learn about a society were experts from various fields come together to help or solve cold case mysteries for law enforcement agents and the average citizen, then this is a book you should consider reading. Inside of this book contains short stories about the 3 founders of the Vidocq Society and their colleagues experiences when it comes to solving cases and continuing to fight the battle of not giving up on seeing proper justice served for the victims. Although, the law is supposed to protect the innocent and punish the wicked for their crimes, the final judgement a lot of the times isn't all that cheerful. Due to a combination of events and loopholes in the law, criminals can walk away scotch free from their crimes for years before someone can carefully gather enough evidence to convict the criminal of their crimes. But even though the light at the end of the path you walk seems to be getting smaller, there is still hope that a group of specialized crime solvers can assist you with your case. And give you the resolution that you and any other people close to you, may need in order to move on with your life. Again, if you are a true crime reader and like to hear stories about the good/bad side of the law through the eyes of specialized individuals who have given up some of their time to help assist people with achieving some sort of closure to a case, then this is definitely a book that anyone should consider reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    Murder Room

    I can still quote passages from this book even though i read it last year. Im willing to say im scarred for life from the recollections if these evil human beings. Torturous, sadistic schemes were cracked by the three greatest minds in american history, yet sometimes too late. My heart and prayers go out to all those innocent ppl who fell victim to the odious human beings described in the book. I do think it is worth your time reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2011

    fabulous Read!

    If you are a true crime junky you must read this true account of the vidoq society! What page turner. I read this book in two days!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    You don't want to miss this one!

    Every now and then you find a book that just completely transports you to another world. This is just one of those books.

    I grew up with a mother who was a forensic investigator way before forensics was cool. So I grew up seing crime scene photographs and hearing her talk, over the dinner table, about some of the cases she worked on.

    I can just imagine getting together a group of detectives and investigators and scientists to solve cases both cold and not so cold. The Vidoq Society started with 3 men with a common goal to solve crimes and bring the criminals to justice. They grew to an amazing group who did just that. I couldn't put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I enjoyed it, but...

    A good read, but sometimes a little hard to follow. Several people are described and their investigations detailed back and forth. The book did not always have a smooth flow, at least not to me. The information behind these investigations is quite interesting. I learned more about criminal profiling and profilers. The subtle details revealed from cases was quite interesting. I wish the layout of the storyline was more linear and deliberate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 133 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7