Customer Reviews for

Murder Simply Brewed

Average Rating 4.5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 23, 2014

    Murder Simply Brewed by Vannetta Chapman is a most enjoyable Ami

    Murder Simply Brewed by Vannetta Chapman is a most enjoyable Amish story. Amber Wright is in charge of the Amish Artisan Village in Middlebury, Indiana, and is having a great day until she learns that one of the shop owners has been found dead. Hannah Troyer, a young Amish employee, finds Ethan Gray the owner of A simple Blend on the floor near the espresso machine and at first it appears that he died of a heart attack. Amber hires Hannah to take over the running of the coffee shop and the two become good friends while trying to solve the mystery of Ethan’s death for they are convinced that he was murdered. Amber and Hannah face several dangerous situations for someone does not want them to solve the mystery. Tate Bowman who owns the property next to the Village gets involved in trying to solve the mystery and he also finds himself drawn to Amber. Hannah is also learning that her friend Jesse Miler has feelings for her that are more than friendship.




    The author did an excellent job in the development of all parts of the story. One part that I personally did not like was when the boa constrictor came into the story for I have a great fear of snakes and that part of the story gave me the heebie jeebies. The way the Amish and Englischers worked together in this story was extremely well written and was a joy to read. Every character was very believable and every one of them came to life on the pages of the book. Scenes came to life and I could picture myself working right along with Amber and Hannah to solve the mystery of Ethan’s death. There were several twists and turns in the story and each one just added to my enjoyment of and interest in the story. I especially liked the way that God’s grace was evident throughout the entire story. This book has it all—Amish and Englischers working together, a murder mystery, and romance.




    I highly recommend this book to all lovers of Amish fiction for this story is an exceptionally good one.




    I received a complimentary copy of this book from Zondervan via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. I was not required to give a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2014

    This was a great romantic suspense. Vannetta Chapman outdid hers

    This was a great romantic suspense. Vannetta Chapman outdid herself by giving us not one but two romances. I enjoyed reading about Amber and Hannah as they grow in their unusual friendship, as they solve the Village mystery, and as they each fall in love (not with each other LOL).




    You don't have to be a coffee drinker to enjoy the book. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Murder Simply Brewed is the most delightful story - a perfect bl

    Murder Simply Brewed is the most delightful story - a perfect blend of Amish fiction, cozy mystery, and romance that entertains and inspires. Vannetta's prose is tight, with every word moving the story along. A "comfort read" for me on the one hand as I enjoyed its characters and setting, I was still held in its grip, eager to see how the mystery element would be resolved. 




    The charming setting - an Amish Artisan Village in Middlebury, Indiana - is a place every reader will surely want to visit. Located on seventy acres, it consists of an inn, conference center, restaurant, bakery, and six artisan shops. Be sure to visit Vannetta's Pinterest board to get a feel for the village and surrounding area.




    I especially appreciated the connection between two couples - one young and Amish, one older and Englisch - and the growing friendship between Amber and Hannah as well. Amber had been the village manager for 22 years, and was convinced that it was too late for God to satisfy her dream of marriage. Tate, a farmer in his early 50s, had a no-nonsense way about him and liked the quiet life. An unlikely pairing like this makes for great storytelling, and I loved the scene where Amber and Tate are trying to get his donkeys, Velvet and Trixie, out of the rain.




    Hannah is the sweetest young Amish girl who struggles with vanity, but in an innocent way. The friendship between Amber and Hannah may have started because of Hannah's natural investigative skills - she was a good listener, noticed things, and people trusted her - but it quickly grew into much more. Hannah reflects that while Amish communities remain separate in some cases, "In Middlebury, it seems that Gotte has woven our lives together in some areas, especially at work. . . . What if we're supposed to look out for one another?" Hannah's neighbor, Jesse, is another delightful character, and I look forward to seeing the relationship between these two grow.




    I am a huge fan of cozy mysteries and I can say that Vannetta excels in this area. It is so refreshing to read a mystery that is well plotted and thought out, populated with interesting suspects, and with spiritual overtones. Especially moving is the Amish view of death, reflected in Minerva's words to Hannah:  "Often a death is just the end of one's completed life. I've seen many people struggle with that truth, because they weren't ready to be without their loved one. . . . We all must accept how temporary this life is, which is sometimes a painful idea."




    Spiritual values shine in the way Amber and Hannah become a friend to the victim, even in death, and later to one who would do harm. Vannetta Chapman is an author that I never fail to enjoy, and I highly recommend Murder Simply Brewed. 5-star rating in comparison to other Amish fiction.




    Thank you to Vannetta  Chapman for providing a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    Murder Simply Brewed by Vannetta Chapman is a murder, mystery no

    Murder Simply Brewed by Vannetta Chapman is a murder, mystery novel set in the Indiana where the Amish meet the English.  Amber, an "Englischer", is the manager of a cute little "resort" in the county called, the Amish Artisan Village.  The Village has a few Amish shops as well as a hotel, restaurant and conference center.  The Village seems like the perfect, peaceful retreat until Ethan Gray, one of the shop owners, is found dead in his coffee shop.  The police feel that his death was from a heart attack, but Amber feels differently.  Amber has one of the Amish girls who works in the quilt shop, Hannah, take over the coffee shop after Ethan's death, and both women begin to think that Ethan's death was not of natural causes, but rather that he was murdered.




    After Ethan's death, other strange things start happening around the Village... and each strange occurrence seems to have a verse from Daniel left at the scene.  Amber and Hannah start trying to put together the clues to figure out who had it out for Ethan, even if the police don't believe them.  Amber has her suspicions about Ethan's wife, but eventually dismisses them after new, more promising suspects come out.  Using their resources in the English and the Amish community, Amber and Hannah manage to solve the mystery of how Ethan died and they bring a killer to justice.




    I hadn't read a book like this in a long time and wasn't sure how I was going to feel about it.  I ended up really enjoying the book and it was a very quick read.  It was one of those books that once I started reading it I didn't want to put it down.  I really liked the way that Chapman combined the English and the Amish way of life to give her readers a good look into how I would imagine life works when the Amish and English try to mix.  Although this book was set in Indiana, I found myself imaging that this is how life is like in Lancaster, PA (near where I live) and it has given me a new appreciation for the Amish lifestyle.  I do wish that I had saved this book to read on our beach weekend getaway because I do think that it is a perfect beach read!  I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a quick read that involves murder, mystery and intrigue with a little bit of religion mixed in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2014

    Mystery, Murder, Romance and Faith! This is one of the best my


    Mystery, Murder, Romance and Faith!

    This is one of the best mystery books that I have read.  Once again author
    Vannetta Chapman holds us spellbound.  What a great read!  I have read every
    book by this author.  Each one gets better and better.  I am a huge fan of this
    author and have had the pleasure of meeting her in person twice.  

    Are you up to some heart racing, terrifying scenes that keep the pages turning?  
    Are you up for some oh so special romantic moments?  How about a few smiles?  
    Perhaps some charming characters?  Then this book is for you!  I most certainly
    recommend it.

    Come along now to Middlebury, Indiana and meet Amber Wright, Hannah Troyer,
    Ethan Gray, Tate Bowman, and Jesse Miller to name a few.  Some of these
    characters will be ones that you will simply love, others not so much.

    I can’t wait to read book two in this series!








     

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2014

    I absolutely LOVED Vannetta Chapman's mysteries set in Shipshewa

    I absolutely LOVED Vannetta Chapman's mysteries set in Shipshewana, Indiana. In fact, I'm still hoping she'll write us another book starring Callie, Deborah, Shane and company. But now it's time to move a few miles to Middlebury...will there be the same chemistry in a new place with new faces? After reading "Murder Simply Brewed," I think the answer is a definite "Ya."
    Without giving away the plot or ending, I feel this novel's strengths are the growing love between old neighbors and new friends, Amber and Tate. Both are extremely loyal persons - Amber to her job running the Amish Artisan Village, and Tate to the memory of his late wife, Peggy. Can they open their hearts and risk a new commitment? These characters really won my interest, and I found myself truly caring for their future friendship together.
    And as in her previous series, Chapman specializes in Amish and Englisch working together. The friendship between young Hannah and seasoned Amber not only solves a mystery here, but promises to grow in the series ahead.
    I recommend this mystery to everyone familiar with Chapman's gripping style, and anyone who wants to broaden their concept of Amish fiction. A great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    I laughed at the wrong places

    This book started off solid and believable, but the character development started coming deteroiting. But the worse was the climax; I started laughing. If anyone allows a pet boa constrictor to crawl up their legs to their torso (while one is standing) maybe that adult is already half dead. She was afraid the snake would strike? Yeah, apparently so.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2014

    Vannetta Chapman has authored a great book for those who enjoy a

    Vannetta Chapman has authored a great book for those who enjoy and love this genre. And it mixes it up a bit with Amish and "Englisch" together side by side working to resolve the crime.

    This book takes place in the Amish community of Middlebury, Indiana. The setting is the Amish artisan village shop area where Amish items are sold. Some of the workers are Amish and others are not.

    Hannah, an Amish girl working in a quilt shop arrives at work and notices the normal smells permeating from the coffee shop next door were not there. She wonders why the difference and discovers that the proprietor, Ethan Gray had arrived to work that day and appears to have died in the coffee shop.

    Hannah calls the manager of the Amish shops, Amber, and it would appear through police reports that a heart attack caused by vandalism would be the cause of death for Ethan Gray. However, a continuing series of events occur which rule out death through health causes. As the story progresses, new characters come into play which could be the possible perpetrators of the death of Ethan and the vandalism.

    Hannah is asked by Amber to take over the work at the coffee shop and Hannah is concerned because she has never done this type of work. She quickly catches on and the coffee shop begins to come back to life. As the vandalism in the Amish artisan village continues there is no doubt that Ethan was murdered and Hannah and Amber combine efforts to find the answers to the mysterious happenings.

    I love a good mystery and that it was! I was taken in immediately into the lives of the characters of the book and enjoyed the sparks of romance that brought people's lives together in the book, as well. A very well-written and enjoyable book. And if you love a mystery, you will love Murder Simply Brewed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2014

    Vannetta Chapman is one of my favorite authors, and her newest,

    Vannetta Chapman is one of my favorite authors, and her newest, "Murder Simply Brewed" did not disappoint. I always appreciate how Vannetta doesn't place her Amish characters into the "normal" circumstances as we readers imagine that genre. Instead, her stories are contemporary and vibrant, combining suspense, love, Amish and so much more into a world that just sucks you into the midst of all that is happening.
    In "Brewed", we meet Hannah and Jesse, and Amber and Tate, along with several other people that live near an "Amish Artisan Village". If you've been in any commercial Amish area, you can just picture the setting and how it mixes real and imaginary scenarios into a tourist attraction that benefits the Amish and the tourist.
    I recommend the book to any and all who enjoy a "clean" read with some intrigue!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2014

    I absolutely love Amish fiction although most of the Amish books

    I absolutely love Amish fiction although most of the Amish books I read are romance. I love the way the author combined the authentic details of Amish life as part of a mystery. The characters are realistic and believable and I found myself really enjoying the way they interacted.  Adding the mysterious Old Testament clues into the story really had me trying to figure out who was behind the shop keeper’s death. It wasn’t easy to figure out if the person was Amish or English.  If you enjoy Amish fiction or mysteries, I definitely recommend you read Murder Simply Brewed. It’s a fun read that keeps you hooked till the end.

    I received a copy of this book for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I thought the mystery started off a little slow but picked up fa

    I thought the mystery started off a little slow but picked up fairly quickly. I'm a Christian and enjoy Christian fiction but felt the book got a little too preachy at times but I wasn't offended. Overall it's a good debut novel. The setting, mystery, and characters were all interesting. I plan on reading more from this author.
    * I received a complimentary copy from the publisher via BookLook in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2014

    I've said it before, and I'll say it again...I love Vannetta Cha

    I've said it before, and I'll say it again...I love Vannetta Chapman's writing style! Murder Simply Brewed, first in an Amish Village Mystery series, is well-written, interesting reading. The characters are realistic and I found it hard to put the book down.
    Amber Wright manages the Amish Artisan Village. One of her store managers is found dead and the police think it's natural causes, a heart attack. Amber has doubts, especially when other things start happening.
    Amber asks Hannah Troyer, an Amish woman, to take over the dead man's shop. They both have doubts about what happened and, as things progress, decide to work together to solve the mystery. Amber's neighbor, Tate, becomes involved in the investigation, and protecting Amber, as they both think about where their lives are headed and what their future holds. Hannah's friend, Jesse, becomes more important, in her life, as the mystery unravels...young love. Vannetta keeps things moving, as the mystery progresses, right up to the end. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and look forward to book two!


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2014

    I enjoy Vannetta Chapman's Amish based mysteries in large part b

    I enjoy Vannetta Chapman's Amish based mysteries in large part because the Amish and English characters interact in real and dynamic ways. This book is no exception. A man dies while at work in an Amish village/resort. At first nobody suspects anything, but as other strange things begin to occur at this getaway, the manager and the Amish employee who found the body begin to wonder if more could be at stake.




    There is more than the mystery though, as one couple experiences romance and another begins to explore what could be. The characters are enjoyable, the interactions real, and the mystery kept me guessing for quite a bit of the book. All in all a great read for those who love a mystery in an Amish setting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2014

    Murder Simply Brewed (An Amish Village Mystery) Vanetta Chapman

    Murder Simply Brewed (An Amish Village Mystery)
    Vanetta Chapman




    Book Summary: When the coffee shop manager is murdered in Middlebury’s Amish Artisan Village, two women from different walks of life must join together to solve the mystery. Spring has arrived in Middlebury, Indiana, and Amber Wright is optimistic about the growing profit from her collection of Amish shops---until she receives a call that Ethan Gray is dead. Hurrying over to A Simple Blend, she finds a solitary hole in the front window and the store manager lying next to the espresso machine, dead from an apparent heart attack. All the money is still in his register. When Amber hires a young Amish woman, Hannah Troyer, to take over the shop’s duties, the two women become fast friends---as well as amateur sleuths. The police believe Gray’s death is a by-product of vandalism, but Amber and Hannah aren't convinced. Clues that don't add up, a neighbor who is pulled into the midst of the investigation, a town with secrets to hide, and a blossoming romance---all will combine to push Amber and Hannah into unfamiliar roles in order to reveal answers to the mysteries around them.
    Book Review: This is going to be a fantastic series!!! This book was awesome. I was at the edge of my seat waiting for the other shoe to drop and when it did it was a wild roller coaster ride. There were thrills throughout. The wild ride in Amber’s car and the chilling suspects were all around at time. They seemed to know when and how to pop up. I could hardly make it to the end without screaming out loud. Unfortunately there is not way to read with your eyes closed so I had to take a deep breath and ride this thrill ride to the satisfying end. The end so heart felt it made the entire book a rich lesson in love. Not just the romantic kind. Well done Ms. Chapman if I wasn’t hooked before I would be now!
    I would like to thank Net Galley and Zondervan Fiction for allowing me to read and review this book in return for a free copy and I was never asked to write a favorable review by anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2014

    Amish Village Whodunit! The Amish Artisan Village is a popul

    Amish Village Whodunit!




    The Amish Artisan Village is a popular, attractive tourist destination in Middlebury, the heart of northern Indiana's Amish community. This peaceful setting comprises of a variety of quaint shops featuring Amish-made merchandise, as well as an Amish restaurant, a quilt shop and a specialty coffee shop accompanying the Amish inn and conference center. General manager, Amber Wright supervises the community ensuring that business is running smoothly. Despite their differing lifestyles the Amish and Englisch staff blend well in operating the everyday activities in the village.




    Hannah Troyer, a young Amish employee at the quilt shop discovers several holes and cracks in the front window of the coffee shop next door, and the door unlocked. Upon entry to the shop Hannah finds Ethan Gray slumped over his front counter. His death appears to be the result of a heart attack. Questions arise when clues to the contrary indicate foul play could be involved. The plot thickens as additional incidents contribute to the mystery regarding Ethan Gray's death. Amber and Hannah conspire to solve this mysterious development as it appears that the local police aren't taking the details surrounding this death seriously. 




    There is no predicting what follows in this fast-paced and intriguing novel. A varied assemblage of diverse characters create suspense and a medley of developments. Vannetta Chapman is brilliant in creating a cozy mystery of legendary proportions. Her creativity in painting a beautiful and peaceful country setting, and at the same time depicting perplexing and enigmatic incidents is profound. Also included are bits of humor, a component of romance, charming descriptive elements as well as intense and bizarre activities. 




    The author's research of the location and customs of the residents, both Amish and Englisch are remarkably accurate. I have enjoyed Ms. Chapman's books since her first release, and I must say she continues to amaze me with her talent and ability to create engaging characters and intriguing developments in her stories. I highly recommend Murder Simply Brewed. Pick up a copy and grab a pot of coffee. You won't be able to set this book aside!




    Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from Zondervan in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own, and no monetary compensation was received for this review. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I can just picture the setting for Vanetta Chapman¿s new book Mu

    I can just picture the setting for Vanetta Chapman’s new book Murder Simply Brewed, so much peace. We are at a place called the Village, or Amish Village, filled with quaint shops, a hotel, restaurants, and a coffee shop called A Simple Blend. I could just picture myself walking the trail surrounding the pond, and sitting on one of the benches…of course the weather is mild and there is a warm breeze.
    This is the setting for a mysterious death, heart attack? Bee bee gun holes in the window, and a body slumped on the counter? The beginning, and with a bit of back tracking, and with one step forward, and two back, we head down the trail of suspicion. Especially when other odd things begin to happen, the police seem to have an answer for everything, but why all the coincidences at once? The funny part is all the people that show up for the mystery that is advertised on the Internet. They do make a mess of this little village.
    There are also a few romances going on here. An English one with Amber, the person in charge at the Village, and Tate, who when I meet him I picture an old widower. First impressions are often wrong, and I surely did it here. Then there is sweet Amish girl Heather, who has spent all of her life living next door to Jesse. He just happens to be there when a girl is having a bit of trouble.
    Just when you think you really know what has happened and who is responsible, blink and it changes. I was in a way rather surprised at the culprit, and what happens. I really enjoyed this fast pace, and quick read, just not liking that I have it all finished, I wanted more.

    I received this book through the Publisher Zondervan and Net Galley, and was not required to give a positive review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2014

    Amber Wright has been manager of the Amish Village--a collection

    Amber Wright has been manager of the Amish Village--a collection of shops, a restaurant, and an inn--for over twenty years. She loves her job and cares about her employees, Amish and Englisch. Twenty-two-year old Hannah Troyer works in the Amish Village quilt shop. Hannah is a conscientious worker and enjoys her job. When Ethan Gray is found dead in his coffee shop, A Simple Blend, Amber asks Hannah to take over the shop.

    Amber and Hannah both suspect Ethan did not die of a heart attack following vandalism to the shop as ruled by officials. They try to piece together the clues to determine who would want Ethan dead. They quickly become friends and amateur investigators.

    In the meantime, widower Tate Bowman, whose property borders the Amish Village finds himself pulled into the women's sleuthing and into Amber's life. Jesse Miler, who grew up with Hannah, finds his feelings for her have progressed from friendship to something much stronger.

    Amber and Hannah, though from different worlds and different generations, discover similarities outweigh differenes. They both want to solve the murder mystery and both want to figure out their feelings for the men in their lives.

    Vannetta Chapman has once again crafted a delightful story that crisscrosses the Amish and Englisch communities. The action is fast paced and the characters are believable. If you like a mixture of romance and mystery, you will definitely enjoy Murder Simply Brewed. Thank you, Vannetta--you never disappoint your readers!

    Susan Simpson, Author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2014

    Murder Simply Brewed is one of those books that I just curled up

    Murder Simply Brewed is one of those books that I just curled up with and dove into the story. Right from the start of the book, the author had me invested in the outcome. I truly cared how things worked out for the characters.

    This book is what I would call a cozy little mystery. The characters were interesting, the setting was quaint and there were many questions that need answering. The mystery was a good one and kept me guessing. Nothing too scary, but some twists and turns that I really enjoyed. I also giggled when the author made reference to her Shipshewana mystery series by having Hannah recall that there seemed to be a rash of murders occurring every six months up there, but at least those murders had been solved!

    And romance…don’t forget about romance! This book has it and it is sweet. Although the love developed quickly in the story, it still felt reasonable and realistic.

    In Murder Simply Brewed we follow two Englischers, Amber and Tate, and two Amish young adults, Hannah and Jesse as they try to piece together clues and figure out if a murder actually occurred. There are many interesting side characters as well, and the Amish Artisan Village that Hannah is the manager at was a great setting for this story.

    A very enjoyable aspect about Murder Simply Brewed is that there are two distinct romantic relationships that begin to be established in this first book of the series. One is a relationship between two young adults who are Amish. The other potential relationship is between two people who are past the first blush of young love, a woman and man who are in their forties and fifties. It was a nice touch to see how these characters view life and love from their different perspectives.

    I really enjoyed Murder Simply Brewed and am looking forward to reading the future books in this series.

    I received a complimentary copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review, which I have given.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    {About the Book} When the coffee shop ma

















    {About the Book}








    When the coffee shop manager is murdered in Middlebury's Amish Artisan Village, two women from different walks of life must join together to solve the mystery. Spring has arrived in Middlebury, Indiana, and Amber Wright is optimistic about the growing profit from her collection of Amish shops---until she receives a call that Ethan Gray is dead. Hurrying over to A Simple Blend, she finds a solitary hole in the front window and the store manager lying next to the espresso machine, dead from an apparent heart attack. All the money is still in his register. When Amber hires a young Amish woman, Hannah Troyer, to take over the shop's duties, the two women become fast friends---as well as amateur sleuths. The police believe Gray's death is a by-product of vandalism, but Amber and Hannah aren't convinced. Clues that don't add up, a neighbor who is pulled into the midst of the investigation, a town with secrets to hide, and a blossoming romance---all will combine to push Amber and Hannah into unfamiliar roles in order to reveal answers to the mysteries around them. 'Chapman's latest is a mix of mystery and romance with vivid characters, a realistic setting and themes of loss, trust and love.' --- Romantic Times, four-star review
































    {My Review}












    Vanetta Chapman's newest release, Murder Simply Brewed, is simply a great read!!! Murder Simply Brewed, full of romance, suspense, and of course murder. Which the title promises the readers. The amateur sleuths who come together to solve these crimes lead different lives. Amber Wright is a business owner and Hannah Troyer is a young Amish woman who works for Amber. The two women become friends and set on this adventure to solve this mystery. Murder Simply Brewed is a delightful read and suspenseful enough to keep you on the edge of your seat and continually turning the pages. Murder Simply Brewed gets a 4.5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2014

    I don't usually choose to read Amish fiction but this one is dif

    I don't usually choose to read Amish fiction but this one is different from the traditional Amish novel. It is a mystery novel set in an Amish tourists village run by Amber, a middle aged, never married woman. one of Amber's employees is found dead of what appears to be natural causes, thought there are some suspicious circumstances, and several acts of vandalism quickly follow. Hannah, a young Amish girl who works in the quilt shop next door to the victim's coffee shop, finds the body and finds herself becoming involved in investigating the mystery with Amber. There is some romance as well as they both develop love interests. I enjoyed this clean mystery/romance and thought there was a nice balance between the two. I liked the variety of hearing the story through several different viewpoints, and while it gives a nice peek into Amish life it wasn't an overwhelming part of the book. I think mystery readers who aren't generally into Amish fiction might want to give this one a try!




    I recieved a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2