Customer Reviews for

Murder Simply Brewed (Amish Village Mystery Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 60 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

This was a great romantic suspense. Vannetta Chapman outdid hers

This was a great romantic suspense. Vannetta Chapman outdid herself by giving us not one but two romances. I enjoyed reading about Amber and Hannah as they grow in their unusual friendship, as they solve the Village mystery, and as they each fall in love (not with each ...
This was a great romantic suspense. Vannetta Chapman outdid herself by giving us not one but two romances. I enjoyed reading about Amber and Hannah as they grow in their unusual friendship, as they solve the Village mystery, and as they each fall in love (not with each other LOL).




You don't have to be a coffee drinker to enjoy the book. :)

posted by GingerS219 on May 1, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I enjoyed reading this book

The book was a fun one to read. Not too long and a clean story. No swear words or filth.

posted by lfdLR on November 22, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 1, 2014

    This was a great romantic suspense. Vannetta Chapman outdid hers

    This was a great romantic suspense. Vannetta Chapman outdid herself by giving us not one but two romances. I enjoyed reading about Amber and Hannah as they grow in their unusual friendship, as they solve the Village mystery, and as they each fall in love (not with each other LOL).




    You don't have to be a coffee drinker to enjoy the book. :)

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2014

    Murder Simply Brewed by Vannetta Chapman is a most enjoyable Ami

    Murder Simply Brewed by Vannetta Chapman is a most enjoyable Amish story. Amber Wright is in charge of the Amish Artisan Village in Middlebury, Indiana, and is having a great day until she learns that one of the shop owners has been found dead. Hannah Troyer, a young Amish employee, finds Ethan Gray the owner of A simple Blend on the floor near the espresso machine and at first it appears that he died of a heart attack. Amber hires Hannah to take over the running of the coffee shop and the two become good friends while trying to solve the mystery of Ethan’s death for they are convinced that he was murdered. Amber and Hannah face several dangerous situations for someone does not want them to solve the mystery. Tate Bowman who owns the property next to the Village gets involved in trying to solve the mystery and he also finds himself drawn to Amber. Hannah is also learning that her friend Jesse Miler has feelings for her that are more than friendship.




    The author did an excellent job in the development of all parts of the story. One part that I personally did not like was when the boa constrictor came into the story for I have a great fear of snakes and that part of the story gave me the heebie jeebies. The way the Amish and Englischers worked together in this story was extremely well written and was a joy to read. Every character was very believable and every one of them came to life on the pages of the book. Scenes came to life and I could picture myself working right along with Amber and Hannah to solve the mystery of Ethan’s death. There were several twists and turns in the story and each one just added to my enjoyment of and interest in the story. I especially liked the way that God’s grace was evident throughout the entire story. This book has it all—Amish and Englischers working together, a murder mystery, and romance.




    I highly recommend this book to all lovers of Amish fiction for this story is an exceptionally good one.




    I received a complimentary copy of this book from Zondervan via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. I was not required to give a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2014

    I enjoyed reading this book

    The book was a fun one to read. Not too long and a clean story. No swear words or filth.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2014

    Excellent!

    This book will not disappoint. Vannetta Chapman does it again with another winner!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2014

    re Really enjoyed

    This book was very good - i really enjoyed the storyline and look forward to the next book in the series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Murder Simply Brewed is the most delightful story - a perfect bl

    Murder Simply Brewed is the most delightful story - a perfect blend of Amish fiction, cozy mystery, and romance that entertains and inspires. Vannetta's prose is tight, with every word moving the story along. A "comfort read" for me on the one hand as I enjoyed its characters and setting, I was still held in its grip, eager to see how the mystery element would be resolved. 




    The charming setting - an Amish Artisan Village in Middlebury, Indiana - is a place every reader will surely want to visit. Located on seventy acres, it consists of an inn, conference center, restaurant, bakery, and six artisan shops. Be sure to visit Vannetta's Pinterest board to get a feel for the village and surrounding area.




    I especially appreciated the connection between two couples - one young and Amish, one older and Englisch - and the growing friendship between Amber and Hannah as well. Amber had been the village manager for 22 years, and was convinced that it was too late for God to satisfy her dream of marriage. Tate, a farmer in his early 50s, had a no-nonsense way about him and liked the quiet life. An unlikely pairing like this makes for great storytelling, and I loved the scene where Amber and Tate are trying to get his donkeys, Velvet and Trixie, out of the rain.




    Hannah is the sweetest young Amish girl who struggles with vanity, but in an innocent way. The friendship between Amber and Hannah may have started because of Hannah's natural investigative skills - she was a good listener, noticed things, and people trusted her - but it quickly grew into much more. Hannah reflects that while Amish communities remain separate in some cases, "In Middlebury, it seems that Gotte has woven our lives together in some areas, especially at work. . . . What if we're supposed to look out for one another?" Hannah's neighbor, Jesse, is another delightful character, and I look forward to seeing the relationship between these two grow.




    I am a huge fan of cozy mysteries and I can say that Vannetta excels in this area. It is so refreshing to read a mystery that is well plotted and thought out, populated with interesting suspects, and with spiritual overtones. Especially moving is the Amish view of death, reflected in Minerva's words to Hannah:  "Often a death is just the end of one's completed life. I've seen many people struggle with that truth, because they weren't ready to be without their loved one. . . . We all must accept how temporary this life is, which is sometimes a painful idea."




    Spiritual values shine in the way Amber and Hannah become a friend to the victim, even in death, and later to one who would do harm. Vannetta Chapman is an author that I never fail to enjoy, and I highly recommend Murder Simply Brewed. 5-star rating in comparison to other Amish fiction.




    Thank you to Vannetta  Chapman for providing a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    Vannetta Chapman in her new book, ¿Murder Simply Brewed¿ Book On

    Vannetta Chapman in her new book, “Murder Simply Brewed” Book One in the Amish Village Mystery series published by Zondervan introduces us to Amber Wright and Hannah Troyer.

    From the back cover: When the coffee shop manager is murdered in Middlebury’s Amish Artisan Village, two women from different walks of life must join together to solve the mystery.

    Spring has arrived in Middlebury, Indiana, and Amber Wright is optimistic about the growing profit from her collection of Amish shops—until she receives a call that Ethan Gray is dead. Hurrying over to A Simple Blend, she finds a solitary hole in the front window and the store manager lying next to the espresso machine, dead from an apparent heart attack. All the money is still in his register.

    When Amber hires a young Amish woman, Hannah Troyer, to take over the shop’s duties, the two women become fast friends—as well as amateur sleuths. The police believe Gray’s death is a by-product of vandalism, but Amber and Hannah aren’t convinced.

    Clues that don’t add up, a neighbor who is pulled into the midst of the investigation, a town with secrets to hide, and a blossoming romance—all will combine to push Amber and Hannah into unfamiliar roles in order to reveal answers to the mysteries around them.

    Now this is what a murder mystery is all about. First we have Amber Wright, an English woman, who has some Amish Village shops one of which is A Simple Blend, a coffee shop. Then we have Hannah Troyer, who is Amish, that Amber hired to take over A Simply Blend after the death of Ethan. Nobody liked Ethan and when these two women set out to find his murderer they have a huge mystery with a large set of suspects with very little to go on. This is going to keep you flipping pages as you get involved with mystery hunters and a vandal. Ms. Chapman has done an outstanding job in giving us a first class mystery. Amber and Hannah are really great characters that we fall in love with and feel as though they are friends that we do not want to leave when the book is finished. The good news is Ms. Chapman has written a second book in this series so we can reunite with them soon.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Zondervan for this review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2015

    Great Read

    This is the first book i read from this author. I reallybenjoyed the mystery and character story line great Read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2015

    I enjoyed the twists and turns!

    I figured out early the killer is, but I still enjoyed reading this book! It's not sickeningly romantic and it is a fun cozy mystery to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2015

    So So

    The story itself was good, however many times the author would mix up the characters, for instance in one chapter, Hannah lets the pastry man into the kafe shop, we read her thoughts and then suddenly its Amber in the kafe shop with him, and then back to Hannah, so it confuses the reader completely as to who is actually in the shop, when Amber is actually 2 miles away in her office. Also, in many scenes, we don't even know WHO the author is talking about, which character?? Whoever edited this book did a very poor job. Also, the ending was so incredibly stupid that I just stopped 10 pages before the end, it reminded me of something I would write as a 12 year old.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2015

    Murder Simply Brewed by Vannetta Chapman is a delightful Amish c

    Murder Simply Brewed by Vannetta Chapman is a delightful Amish cozy mystery. It is the first book in the Amish Village Mystery series. Amber Wright is the manager of the Amish Artisan Village in Middlebury, Indiana. She lives in a Dawdy Haus (a small house for grandparents or that the parents move into when they pass the property/house on to a son or daughter) on the property with her cat, Leo.

    At the beginning of a new day she gets a call that Ethan Gray, manager of A Simple Blend, has been found dead in the shop. The windows were also shot with a BB gun. It is ruled a heart attack, but Amber has a feeling that there is more to it than meets the eye! She receives a call at the end of the day of a threatening message left on a trail near the property line. Tate Bowman, who owns a farm adjacent to the Amish Artisan Village, spotted the message. It is written in red paint. Unfortunately, this is just the beginning.

    Hannah Troyer is twenty-two and has been working at Quilting Bee. Amber asks her to take over A Simple Blend. Amber and Hannah start talking about Ethan’s death and the damage being done around The Village. Hannah talks things over with her friend, Jesse Miller. Jesse works on the grounds crew in The Village. They keep looking for clues to help solve the crimes.

    After a threat at Amber’s home, Tate starts keeping a closer eye. Amber and Tate also get to know each other better. Tate lost his wife four years ago and has never been a fan of The Village. But, as he gets to know Amber, he sees things a little differently. Tate, Amber, Hannah, and Jesse work to see who is behind the threats and damage to The Village. Amber also thinks that Ethan was murdered and hopes to find proof.

    I give Murder Simply Brewed 5 out of 5 stars. Enjoyable and relatable characters, interesting setting, well-written, and an entertaining mystery. I have wanted to read this book since it came out, but I have not had the opportunity. I finally pushed it to the top of my list and I am very glad. I cannot wait to read the next book in this engaging series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2015

    This was a good book. I liked the characters. I liked the settin

    This was a good book. I liked the characters. I liked the setting. The mystery was mysterious. The drawback for me was that the pacing was just so slow. There doesn't seem to be any urgency to the investigation which I'm not used to in a murder mystery. Each clue that moved the story forward came between leisurely description and details from three different points of view- Amber's, Hannah's, and the neighboring farmer Tate. The three perspectives do give variety to the story and show how the Amish and English communities interact and form friendships. The romance between Amber and Tate is especially enjoyable to see develop.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2015

    murder simply brewed

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2015

    This is the very first book I have read of Vannetta Chapman's. I

    This is the very first book I have read of Vannetta Chapman's. It is also the very first Amish story I have read along with it being a mystery
     in the Christian genre. A Village that seems to run smoothly until there is a death. Is it a natural cause death or is it a murder?
     This story is full of twist and turns and love along with having faith and trust in God. Very Suspenseful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2015

    I loved this book! It was a roller coaster of events and a real

    I loved this book! It was a roller coaster of events and a real page turner. I just bought Book 2 and can't wait for this story to continue. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2015

    Christian mystery

    If I want to read a christian mystery I would like to see this pointed out in the description, otherwise I am annoyed by all the praying, going to church and praising the lord on every other page. Disappointing even though it is decently written.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2015

    Enjoyed

    This was a good read, something different in a mystery. I would recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2015

    Disappointing as neither Amish or english characters seem real

    And the coffee shop in village even more so. What seems a complete lack of any editorial in put suggests its the new quick press almost a self published by a savy printer who takes walk ins with a print ready disc. Any cozy becomes a spiritual if you throw in a prayer and a quote

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Good mystery by Vannetta Chapman  --   Vannetta did a good job

    Good mystery by Vannetta Chapman  --  

    Vannetta did a good job on this mystery and I like that she has the English and Amish working together. I enjoy a mystery with sleuthing by amateurs, it seems they can dig up better clues than the authorities and I really enjoy it when they prove the experienced authorities wrong. This is the first in the series, I'm already reading the second, "Murder Tightly Knit" and will be watching for the third, "Murder Freshly Baked" to come out in June of 2015. This is looking like it will be a good series for Amish or mystery/cozy mystery book lovers.




    I received this as an e-book from Net Galley with an agreement to give an honest review. The review above is my honest opinion of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2014

    Very enjoyable

    I enjoyed the book very much. The characters were well drawn and the descriptions of Amish life in Indiana made it special. I don't see it developing into a series, but maybe Vannetta Chapman has a long term plan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3