Customer Reviews for

Murder Simply Brewed (Amish Village Mystery Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

This was a great romantic suspense. Vannetta Chapman outdid hers

This was a great romantic suspense. Vannetta Chapman outdid herself by giving us not one but two romances. I enjoyed reading about Amber and Hannah as they grow in their unusual friendship, as they solve the Village mystery, and as they each fall in love (not with each ...
This was a great romantic suspense. Vannetta Chapman outdid herself by giving us not one but two romances. I enjoyed reading about Amber and Hannah as they grow in their unusual friendship, as they solve the Village mystery, and as they each fall in love (not with each other LOL).




You don't have to be a coffee drinker to enjoy the book. :)

posted by GingerS219 on May 1, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I enjoyed reading this book

The book was a fun one to read. Not too long and a clean story. No swear words or filth.

posted by lfdLR on November 22, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 28, 2014

    Very enjoyable

    I enjoyed the book very much. The characters were well drawn and the descriptions of Amish life in Indiana made it special. I don't see it developing into a series, but maybe Vannetta Chapman has a long term plan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2014

    9

    Good book. I enjoy book about the Amish culture.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    Murder Simply Brewed by Vannetta Chapman is a murder, mystery no

    Murder Simply Brewed by Vannetta Chapman is a murder, mystery novel set in the Indiana where the Amish meet the English.  Amber, an "Englischer", is the manager of a cute little "resort" in the county called, the Amish Artisan Village.  The Village has a few Amish shops as well as a hotel, restaurant and conference center.  The Village seems like the perfect, peaceful retreat until Ethan Gray, one of the shop owners, is found dead in his coffee shop.  The police feel that his death was from a heart attack, but Amber feels differently.  Amber has one of the Amish girls who works in the quilt shop, Hannah, take over the coffee shop after Ethan's death, and both women begin to think that Ethan's death was not of natural causes, but rather that he was murdered.




    After Ethan's death, other strange things start happening around the Village... and each strange occurrence seems to have a verse from Daniel left at the scene.  Amber and Hannah start trying to put together the clues to figure out who had it out for Ethan, even if the police don't believe them.  Amber has her suspicions about Ethan's wife, but eventually dismisses them after new, more promising suspects come out.  Using their resources in the English and the Amish community, Amber and Hannah manage to solve the mystery of how Ethan died and they bring a killer to justice.




    I hadn't read a book like this in a long time and wasn't sure how I was going to feel about it.  I ended up really enjoying the book and it was a very quick read.  It was one of those books that once I started reading it I didn't want to put it down.  I really liked the way that Chapman combined the English and the Amish way of life to give her readers a good look into how I would imagine life works when the Amish and English try to mix.  Although this book was set in Indiana, I found myself imaging that this is how life is like in Lancaster, PA (near where I live) and it has given me a new appreciation for the Amish lifestyle.  I do wish that I had saved this book to read on our beach weekend getaway because I do think that it is a perfect beach read!  I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a quick read that involves murder, mystery and intrigue with a little bit of religion mixed in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2014

    I enjoy Vannetta Chapman's Amish based mysteries in large part b

    I enjoy Vannetta Chapman's Amish based mysteries in large part because the Amish and English characters interact in real and dynamic ways. This book is no exception. A man dies while at work in an Amish village/resort. At first nobody suspects anything, but as other strange things begin to occur at this getaway, the manager and the Amish employee who found the body begin to wonder if more could be at stake.




    There is more than the mystery though, as one couple experiences romance and another begins to explore what could be. The characters are enjoyable, the interactions real, and the mystery kept me guessing for quite a bit of the book. All in all a great read for those who love a mystery in an Amish setting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    {About the Book} When the coffee shop ma

















    {About the Book}








    When the coffee shop manager is murdered in Middlebury's Amish Artisan Village, two women from different walks of life must join together to solve the mystery. Spring has arrived in Middlebury, Indiana, and Amber Wright is optimistic about the growing profit from her collection of Amish shops---until she receives a call that Ethan Gray is dead. Hurrying over to A Simple Blend, she finds a solitary hole in the front window and the store manager lying next to the espresso machine, dead from an apparent heart attack. All the money is still in his register. When Amber hires a young Amish woman, Hannah Troyer, to take over the shop's duties, the two women become fast friends---as well as amateur sleuths. The police believe Gray's death is a by-product of vandalism, but Amber and Hannah aren't convinced. Clues that don't add up, a neighbor who is pulled into the midst of the investigation, a town with secrets to hide, and a blossoming romance---all will combine to push Amber and Hannah into unfamiliar roles in order to reveal answers to the mysteries around them. 'Chapman's latest is a mix of mystery and romance with vivid characters, a realistic setting and themes of loss, trust and love.' --- Romantic Times, four-star review
































    {My Review}












    Vanetta Chapman's newest release, Murder Simply Brewed, is simply a great read!!! Murder Simply Brewed, full of romance, suspense, and of course murder. Which the title promises the readers. The amateur sleuths who come together to solve these crimes lead different lives. Amber Wright is a business owner and Hannah Troyer is a young Amish woman who works for Amber. The two women become friends and set on this adventure to solve this mystery. Murder Simply Brewed is a delightful read and suspenseful enough to keep you on the edge of your seat and continually turning the pages. Murder Simply Brewed gets a 4.5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2014

    I don't usually choose to read Amish fiction but this one is dif

    I don't usually choose to read Amish fiction but this one is different from the traditional Amish novel. It is a mystery novel set in an Amish tourists village run by Amber, a middle aged, never married woman. one of Amber's employees is found dead of what appears to be natural causes, thought there are some suspicious circumstances, and several acts of vandalism quickly follow. Hannah, a young Amish girl who works in the quilt shop next door to the victim's coffee shop, finds the body and finds herself becoming involved in investigating the mystery with Amber. There is some romance as well as they both develop love interests. I enjoyed this clean mystery/romance and thought there was a nice balance between the two. I liked the variety of hearing the story through several different viewpoints, and while it gives a nice peek into Amish life it wasn't an overwhelming part of the book. I think mystery readers who aren't generally into Amish fiction might want to give this one a try!




    I recieved a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2014

    After the sudden death of Amish Artisan Village coffee shop mana

    After the sudden death of Amish Artisan Village coffee shop manager, Ethan, two unlikely forces come together to investigate. While the death has been ruled a natural death, Amber Wright and Hannah Troyer suspect that it’s more than that. Amber, manager of the Amish Artisan Village, hires Hannah to take over Ethan’s job as coffee shop manager. As the days go by, Amber and Hannah start to see signs that point to Ethan’s death being a murder and begin some investigating of their own. What they find is surprising and even suggests that Ethan may have suspected what was coming his way. When they enlist the help of their friends Tate and Jesse, they begin to find the answers they were seeking. That might not be all they find though, after spending large amounts of time with Tate and Jesse, they just might find some feelings they didn’t know they had buried deep down inside.




    I’ve read Amish mysteries and regular mysteries, but this is the first I’ve read that combines the Amish and Englischer worlds in a mystery novel. It was interesting because it didn’t read like a traditional Amish fiction novel, nor did it read quite like a traditional mystery – it was an amazing blend of both. This book did a good job of keeping me guessing about what would happen next, but I guess that’s easy to do when working with some of the crazy characters introduced in the story. I really enjoyed reading this book, it’s another great story by Vanetta Chapman.




    Disclaimer: I was provided a copy of this book in exchange for this review. All thoughts are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1