Customer Reviews for

Murder Takes a Break

Average Rating 4
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

A thrilling read

Murder Takes A Break reunites us with the persistent and wry Truman Smith ¿ purveyor of smart comments that threaten his safety, and solver of even the most intricate and emotionally fraught mysteries.

When two local kids on Spring Break have gone missing, Truman is ...
Murder Takes A Break reunites us with the persistent and wry Truman Smith ¿ purveyor of smart comments that threaten his safety, and solver of even the most intricate and emotionally fraught mysteries.

When two local kids on Spring Break have gone missing, Truman is sent to find out what really happened at the Beach House. With his erstwhile sidekick Dino, Tru¿ enters the backstreet world of Galveston, with dealers, dodgy Police, families with plenty to hide and the usual dose of violent abandon. There¿s more than a few awkward moments, and as with the previous story: The Prairie Chicken, what starts as a fairly simple missing persons case rapidly turns into a body-strewn thriller.

Snappy and tense, you do actually wonder whether Truman will survive this mystery ¿ such is the concerted threat he faces ¿ and by the time you get to an explosive climax, you know you¿ve experienced a well-paced and plotted thriller from a writer of quality.

posted by DazThreeNine on December 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Texas size mistakes

You made silly mistakes , Texas firearms law, firearms in general and the fact that ems does not apply casts or suture in the field. You need an editor and you need to cut your word count by one third.

posted by 8695541 on April 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A thrilling read

    Murder Takes A Break reunites us with the persistent and wry Truman Smith ¿ purveyor of smart comments that threaten his safety, and solver of even the most intricate and emotionally fraught mysteries.

    When two local kids on Spring Break have gone missing, Truman is sent to find out what really happened at the Beach House. With his erstwhile sidekick Dino, Tru¿ enters the backstreet world of Galveston, with dealers, dodgy Police, families with plenty to hide and the usual dose of violent abandon. There¿s more than a few awkward moments, and as with the previous story: The Prairie Chicken, what starts as a fairly simple missing persons case rapidly turns into a body-strewn thriller.

    Snappy and tense, you do actually wonder whether Truman will survive this mystery ¿ such is the concerted threat he faces ¿ and by the time you get to an explosive climax, you know you¿ve experienced a well-paced and plotted thriller from a writer of quality.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Texas size mistakes

    You made silly mistakes , Texas firearms law, firearms in general and the fact that ems does not apply casts or suture in the field. You need an editor and you need to cut your word count by one third.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Good Read

    First Crider book I've read. I enjoyed it. Reminded me of Robert Parker style. Will be reading more.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2012

    I read this book, as well as the rest of the series, and really

    I read this book, as well as the rest of the series, and really enjoyed it. I just wish that there were more books in the series. As far as the E.M.S. mistake goes, there might have been a minor one, no book is perfect, and I'm a cop who used to work E.M.S. and no mistakes in the book bothered me. I want to see more Truman Smith. Sounds like one of Mr. Crider's ticked off former publishers just wants to bad mouth him on here without having the guts to leave his name.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2012

    definite read

    enjoyable read, will definitely read this author again.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2012

    Interesting Read

    This book appealed to me because I live on the gulf coast near Galveston. I really enjoyed his references to familiar places in and around both Galveston and Houston. I honestly didn't have the end figured out in this one. Although I would recommend it to others, I can't say it's an outstanding book. I wasn't overly anxious to pick it up each night as with many other books. However, I'm glad I finished it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Great Read

    While not the most involved murder mystery, the characters were very compelling. I really enjoyed the sense of humor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Good writing, good plot

    related to the age of the main character and enjoyed the wry humor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Very Easy Read

    Thoroughly enjoyed the book. Would recommend reading it. I will most likely read more by the author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2012

    An easy reaad

    enjoyed reading the novel.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2