Customer Reviews for

Murder at Midnight

Average Rating 4
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by LadyJay for TeensReadToo.com

Mangus the Magician is in serious trouble. A plot to overthrow the king has surfaced, and Mangus is the perfect scapegoat for a traitor lurking inside the castle walls.

The whole city of Pergamontio is on edge, including poor Fabrizio, loyal servant to Mangus and his...
Mangus the Magician is in serious trouble. A plot to overthrow the king has surfaced, and Mangus is the perfect scapegoat for a traitor lurking inside the castle walls.

The whole city of Pergamontio is on edge, including poor Fabrizio, loyal servant to Mangus and his wife. Fabrizio foolishly believes that the magic Mangus creates is "real," but does not believe that his Master would try and kill the king.

Mangus' real passion is philosophy and the betterment of the mind. These concepts escape Fabrizio, a simple street boy, who uses his wits to keep himself safe. Fabrizio, with the help of a fellow misfit, must bring the true conspirator to light and save Mangus from certain death.

Readers are once again thrown into a story set within the confines of Renaissance Italy in MURDER AT MIDNIGHT. The story precedes the events that occur in Avi's novel MIDNIGHT MAGIC, which also features the young Fabrizio.

While the story remains a mystery at heart, one cannot help but chuckle at some of the dialogue that takes place between Fabrizio and his Master. It is a fun story that moves quickly and is easy to read. Lovers of all things Avi will enjoy this light-hearted mystery.

posted by TeensReadToo on October 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Book katy

I have read this book for book club at the HMS Hudson Middle School i do not get it that much but it is ok i wounder what will happen next i thik it is ok it is not the best but i have to read it i wanted to read a diffrent book just by looking at yhe cover but like ev...
I have read this book for book club at the HMS Hudson Middle School i do not get it that much but it is ok i wounder what will happen next i thik it is ok it is not the best but i have to read it i wanted to read a diffrent book just by looking at yhe cover but like everye says you con not judge a book but now i kinda like it but i would not not read it and i read in and i kindlime it so you should rrad it yoy should fead l

posted by Anonymous on January 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Keeps you at the edge of your seat !

    This great tale is truely interesting and suspenseful. i loved it !

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by LadyJay for TeensReadToo.com

    Mangus the Magician is in serious trouble. A plot to overthrow the king has surfaced, and Mangus is the perfect scapegoat for a traitor lurking inside the castle walls.

    The whole city of Pergamontio is on edge, including poor Fabrizio, loyal servant to Mangus and his wife. Fabrizio foolishly believes that the magic Mangus creates is "real," but does not believe that his Master would try and kill the king.

    Mangus' real passion is philosophy and the betterment of the mind. These concepts escape Fabrizio, a simple street boy, who uses his wits to keep himself safe. Fabrizio, with the help of a fellow misfit, must bring the true conspirator to light and save Mangus from certain death.

    Readers are once again thrown into a story set within the confines of Renaissance Italy in MURDER AT MIDNIGHT. The story precedes the events that occur in Avi's novel MIDNIGHT MAGIC, which also features the young Fabrizio.

    While the story remains a mystery at heart, one cannot help but chuckle at some of the dialogue that takes place between Fabrizio and his Master. It is a fun story that moves quickly and is easy to read. Lovers of all things Avi will enjoy this light-hearted mystery.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Megan

    Mungus the majican finds him self in grave danger,for he is being blamed fog making these papers that said dont fear a change anf it ment that some one wanted to dispos of the king,got later in the book you fing out who really made the papers....dela decides to blame mungus got making thr papers,he was ginven 3 instructions to do 1 collect all thr pappers that were spread bout the city 2 find out who really made that pappers 3 tell m who really made the papers.then u can be set free.well mungus's servent fabrizo thought that he vould al least do the first job so he can please his master but dela caought him ajd thought he was spreqding the papers round the city so he went to vourt sort of ajd was summond to death in less than 24 hours ajd fbriziomet the person who was gonna kill him but then messager came with a scroll for the excutioner but he could not read and fabrizio could a juet a little bit and he swore that he would tell the truth to the excutioner it said let the boy and then he sawbdeath but h lied to him qnd said that it said let thr boy be free so he got free got to see hi msterb and later in the book not to far ther will be murder at midnight..an amazing book and im only 10 years old and i read it and understood it so its not a hard book to read tounf 200 pages in book but a amazing book kept u womdering all the time what was gonna happen next!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!u neeed to read it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Book katy

    I have read this book for book club at the HMS Hudson Middle School i do not get it that much but it is ok i wounder what will happen next i thik it is ok it is not the best but i have to read it i wanted to read a diffrent book just by looking at yhe cover but like everye says you con not judge a book but now i kinda like it but i would not not read it and i read in and i kindlime it so you should rrad it yoy should fead l

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Revew

    This was a great bok and i highly recomend it. Mangus is convicted treason by making treasonos papers wich the king think by magic. Fabrizio is determined to save his master. The mystery is that de la bina was killed and no one knows who did it and who is trying to overthrow the casstle.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    from missprint DOT wordpress DOT com

    Trouble is brewing in Pergamontio, Italy. The year is 1490 and a deadly plot to overthrow the king is unfolding. Papers demanding change have appeared all over the kingdom all magically the same. Magic is outlawed in Pergamontio, so surely Mangus the Magician must have something to do with this dangerous plot.

    Except Mangus isn't that kind of magician, at least he says so. Mangus' new servant boy, Fabrizio, is certain his master really can do magic. But he's also certain Mangus would never commit treason.

    If Fabrizio can unravel the mystery and reveal the true traitor he might be able to clear his master's name. And if Fabrizio can do that, maybe he can finally prove his worth to Mangus and earn the right to remain a part of the Magician's household in Murder at Midnight (2009) by Avi.

    Murder at Midnight is the prequel to Avi's earlier novel Midnight Magic.

    Avi is a widely known and beloved writer. He writes in just about every genre and, throughout his career, has earned a kind of legendary status as an author. He doesn't disappoint in this book that blends a clever mystery with humor and witty language.

    This book is filled with amusing characters and clever language that is straightforward yet subtle enough to appeal to reluctant and avid readers alike. That said, the dynamic of Fabrizio as a servant--often genuflecting and apologizing to his betters--felt a little over the top, not in a bad way but just in an odd way.

    Fabrizio might not be the quickest hero at the beginning of the story, but what he lacks in reasoning he more than makes up for in loyalty and ingenuity. Murder at Midnight is a quick, fun read. The period and setting are a good backdrop to the story but won't distract any readers put off by historical settings. At the same time, without getting into specifics, the time period also plays a very key role in the story.

    Possible Pairings: The London Eye Mystery by Siobhan Dowd, Sammy Keyes and the Hotel Thief by Wendelin Van Draanen, We Are Not Eaten by Yaks by C. Alexander London, The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick, The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Hello

    Yeah just checking to see if you checked yet?

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Assassins creed

    How long does it take to play as connor in AC3?

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    A wonderful prequel!

    The author is planning on writing another addition to the series! Absolutely can't wait!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    Ha

    Im just giving it 1 star

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Wuz good. Liked it.

    Wassup people.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    Reviewed by RochelleDai

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Ohhh Avi....

    My Sister says it sucks!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    Best book ever!

    I don't read much which should tell you something since i read this! Avi has become my new favorite athor!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Yearning to Read Review

    I'm not impressed.
    I'm not even a bit excited about this book. After about 175 pages, I began skimming, hoping it would end well.
    I was quite disappointed.
    Avi has always been a wonderful author. My favorite of his is The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle, but he has written others such as Poppy, Ragweed, and The End of the Beginning. However, it was the mastery and cleverness of Midnight Magic that made me want to read this book. Midnight Magic is about Mangus and Fabrizio, but can be read as a prequal, sequal, or stand-alone book next to Muder at Midnight. Midnight Magic was full of complicated mysteries, great twists and believable characters. Murder at Midnight held a mystery that can easily be explained, nothing to look forward to, and flat characters. I was surprised and bummed that it wasn't better, especially after such great experiences with Avi's works of art.
    But don't let this review stop you from reading Avi's other fantastic books. Enjoy them, relish them, and let them inspire you. Get caught up in the magic of his stories. I can only hope he hasn't lost his charm for the future...

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2