Customer Reviews for

Murder at the Academy Awards

Average Rating 3.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2009

    Good

    I read this during award season and thought it was a great light read. It was a very quick read and good for those who do not what a book that is moody or dark.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    Rainy day is all that keeps one reading this.

    I enjoy Joan Rivers and admire her versatility but this book was way too fluffy. I have to say, though, it is probably very much the way life in Hollywood can be. It was fun but only once.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I thought it was fun. A legit mystery with a red carpet backdro

    I thought it was fun. A legit mystery with a red carpet backdrop plus the antics of a Joan Rivers-like protag. Fun. I liked it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2010

    very intriguing mystery

    It's intriguing the way Joan Rivers has Max(Maxine)do something very unusual (and scary) to learn more about the victim's life and death. One is also kept guessing about the killer and why.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!

    What do you get when you combine some of my favorite things: The Academy Awards, the red carpet action before The Awards, and Joan Rivers? I really fun murder mystery with lots of celebrity name dropping, of course!

    I'm happy to report that in the 'Acknowledgments' section Joan says this is only the first book in the 'Red Carpet Murder Mystery' series. So grab your favorite dress, get your hair and makeup done, and pass the champagne because I think Joan is taking us to the Emmy's in the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2010

    Murder at the Academy Awards

    Humorous murder mystery book...Love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Murder at the Academy Awards

    A light reading book. Kept my interest up to finish the book but not the caliber of writer to get by on writing only. I would buy another book by Joan - just don't expect to much then a light read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Murder at the Academy Awards

    Joan Rivers and Jerrilyn Farmer have written a humorous murder mystery based on the experiences of Rivers and her daughter on the Red Carpet of Hollywood premieres. "Murder at the Academy Awards" begins with a young actress dying on the red carpet at Max Taylor's feet after Max finished interviewing stars attending the awards. While this is certainly an escapist novel, I did not find it has funny as I thought Rivers could be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    Hard to put down

    The book was funny as well as edge of your seat interesting.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2009

    Great!

    Great book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    laugh a lot

    joan is my favorite....I read all her stuff

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2