Customer Reviews for

Murder at the Mikado (Drew Farthering Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I adore this series! Every time I pick up an installment, I feel

I adore this series! Every time I pick up an installment, I feel like I'm in the middle of a Thin Man mystery. This book, the third in the series, was the best yet. And the ending even felt like a Thin Man because the main suspects were all together in one place.




Ea...
I adore this series! Every time I pick up an installment, I feel like I'm in the middle of a Thin Man mystery. This book, the third in the series, was the best yet. And the ending even felt like a Thin Man because the main suspects were all together in one place.




Each story builds the romance between Drew Farthering and his girl Madeline Parker. Their romance is filled with believable twists and turns and I won't spoil that here. I love that each book stands alone on the murder mysteries. Each can be taken completely separately and out of order for the mystery. But I do advise reading them in order for the romance -- and it is a sweet one! This could become one of the great crime fighting duos. 




The mystery is layered and each time I thought I was figuring it out, a new body was discovered. The twists and turns came together beautifully in the end, but it kept me guessing. That's hard to do... mind you, I had suspicions but wasn't convinced enough to land on one side or the other. 




This book (and the series) are perfect for those who love a good whodunnit it mixed with romance and a great dash of black and white movie flair. 

posted by CaraPutman on June 29, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Murder at the Mikado is the first book that I¿ve read by author

Murder at the Mikado is the first book that I’ve read by author Julianna Deering and I got off to a bumpy start with this book.

As I was reading chapter one, I found the characters to be rather one-dimensional, boring, self-focused, vapid and empty. I hadn’t connect...
Murder at the Mikado is the first book that I’ve read by author Julianna Deering and I got off to a bumpy start with this book.

As I was reading chapter one, I found the characters to be rather one-dimensional, boring, self-focused, vapid and empty. I hadn’t connected with any of the characters at that point and didn’t particularly like or care about any of them. When I put the book down for the night and was worried that it might be 300 plus pages of that.

But to my pleasant surprise things changed for me starting about page 20. I found some people that were kind and decent, characters I might connect with, like Drew, Madeline, Nick and Aunt Ruth. As the book continued I was able to get into the story and learn about the characters and their backgrounds and what motivated them as they were all interwoven in to a murder mystery that begged to be solved before the wedding day of Drew and Madeline.

I found the book to be a little confusing, especially at the beginning. There are so many characters and it would have been helpful to have a page at the beginning of the book telling who the characters are and little bit about them. The book seemed a little long. I was surprised that after we learned who the culprits were, the book continued on for about 25 plus pages as it wrapped up some loose ends with two of the main characters.

But all in all, I found this to be an interesting book and period piece. Author Julianna Deering is good at describing the people and scenes so I could almost imagine seeing the scenes take place like a movie in my mind.

I would recommend Murder at the Mikado. Now that I am familiar with Julianna Deering writing style I would like to read more of her books.

One last note, or a question really, what make a book “Christian fiction”? Is it the fact that the writer is Christian or that the Gospel and faith are shared?

posted by susanwalkergirl on August 7, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 16, 2014

    Smashing good fun! When I read the first book in the series I w

    Smashing good fun!

    When I read the first book in the series I was hooked and I have been eagerly anticipating each of the succeeding books.

    When reading a Julianna Deering book I am reminded of Audrey Hepburn's recurring comment in Paris When It Sizzles about a switch on a switch on a switch. That is exactly what happens in each book, and especially Murder At The Mikado. Just when you think you have it all figured out here comes an alibi or an opposing clue. Julianna Deering is a master at leading the reader's mind in one direction and making you think you are pretty clever, then wham! A switch. I am usually fairly good at figuring out who-done-it in mystery stories, too many Agatha Christie's I suppose, but in the three Drew Farthering mysteries I have only half guessed the murderer once.

    One of the things I like best about this series is the atmosphere. I love historical novels that sweep you away into that time period, ones that leave you totally immersed. Each of the books features a murder in a different setting and I have to say that I really enjoyed Murder At The Mikado's setting of a theater.

    Another thing I have noticed is that Julianna Deering doesn't always shy away from difficult subjects. While they are never really forefront of the story, instead adding to the mystery, but they make the characters more real to the reader. Even the main characters aren't perfect, each has made and even still make mistakes, they have their own insecurities and fears. In short, they are flawed as people truly are.

    Murder At The Mikado is a wonderful addition to a great series and I am secretly hoping that it will either be continued or possibly be a spin-off series with the same characters.

    Don't miss any of the books in this wonderful Christian period-set mystery series!

    (I received a copy of this book from Bethany House in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are entirely my own.)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2014

    Another fantastic Drew Farthering mystery by Ms. Deering! While

    Another fantastic Drew Farthering mystery by Ms. Deering!

    While I am far too busy to have a lazy afternoon to spend reading, during my available my spare time you had to fight me to get this book out of my hands. The depth of the mystery and the pacing of the overall story were about on par. Not to mention the many twists and curves to keep you guessing along the way! I went into the novel eager for a fresh mystery, and Ms. Deering came through.

    Something I look for particularly in mystery novels is a shocking reveal. Let me say, I have never read a book where the culprit was... Oh, wait. I can't tell you. ;-) Read the book for yourself!! I was pleasantly shocked I had not figured it out. But, moving past the whodunit excitement, I loved a couple of the new characters we met, particularly Peter. I'm a sucker for adorable, fictional kids. Maybe it's because they represent their real-life counterparts well.

    Well, to wrap up this review, I must say I've become so attached to Drew, Nick, and Madeline over the course of these books, that I dearly hope this is not the end of their adventures! It's safe to say that if you have read and enjoyed the previous books, Murder at the Mikado, will definitely suit your fancy. Whether you're a fan of the 1930s, or the mystery genre, or both, you should enjoy this new release. I recommend to readers at least fifteen or older for readability.

    I received this book from Bethany House in return for an honest review of my opinions, which I have done. Thanks!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2014

    Are Wedding Bells Ringing? Once again, the author brings us

    Are Wedding Bells Ringing?




    Once again, the author brings us back to the classic English Mystery of the 1930′s, writing in a style similar to Agatha Christie.   Drew Farthing is a rich young man, and the owner of a sprawling estate in the English countryside.  In the past, he has enjoyed mystery solving as an interesting past-time.  However, Drew has come to the conclusion that uncovering the truth is a special gift he has been given–and plans to devote himself to that occupation.  While sleuthing, Drew gets help from his American fiancée Madeline, and long-time friend, Nick.




    This time, the mystery revolves around characters in a theater troupe.  Before the story ends, three mysterious deaths take place, plus one very close call.  After the first death, that of the owner of a theater and lead actor, Fleur Landis is accused.  The former actress, and very beautiful Fleur, has a connection to Drew.  It turns out that she and Drew had a rather torrid, although brief, love affair six years earlier.




    Drew confesses all to his fiancée, saying his relationship with Fleur was over and done with six years earlier.  Unfortunately, Madeline  is being eaten alive with jealousy about it.  She doesn’t want Drew to help with the case, or finish it, once he starts.  However, Drew feels obliged to look into it, not for the sake of Fleur, but for that of her little boy and husband–who incidentally works for Drew.




    Although solving the mystery is the main point in the book, updates of Madeline and Drew’s relationship, and wedding plans, are woven throughout.   The character of Madeline was frustrating in this story.  A side of her is shown that is never pretty in anyone:  jealousy and insecurity, along with the sometimes irrational decisions based on those feelings.  Ultimately, everything comes to a satisfactory end.




    Murder at the Mikado is the third installment in this series.  There are references to some things in earlier books, but this book could be read as a stand-alone story.  I always love a good mystery, especially one that is not easy to figure out.  Happily, this tale does not disappoint, and Ms. Deering keeps the reader guessing right up to the end.  Hopefully there will be more books from this series in the future.  The characters are likeable, and the setting is fun.  I recommend this 5-star book, as well as, the entire series to anyone who likes fascinating mysteries that are clean, and written from a Christian point-of-view.




    The publisher has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book through Bethany House Publishing for the purpose of review. All opinions expressed are my own, and I have not been compensated in any other manner. Despite my receiving the book free, it has not influenced my judgment, and I have given an honest opinion.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2014

    I adore this series! Every time I pick up an installment, I feel

    I adore this series! Every time I pick up an installment, I feel like I'm in the middle of a Thin Man mystery. This book, the third in the series, was the best yet. And the ending even felt like a Thin Man because the main suspects were all together in one place.




    Each story builds the romance between Drew Farthering and his girl Madeline Parker. Their romance is filled with believable twists and turns and I won't spoil that here. I love that each book stands alone on the murder mysteries. Each can be taken completely separately and out of order for the mystery. But I do advise reading them in order for the romance -- and it is a sweet one! This could become one of the great crime fighting duos. 




    The mystery is layered and each time I thought I was figuring it out, a new body was discovered. The twists and turns came together beautifully in the end, but it kept me guessing. That's hard to do... mind you, I had suspicions but wasn't convinced enough to land on one side or the other. 




    This book (and the series) are perfect for those who love a good whodunnit it mixed with romance and a great dash of black and white movie flair. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2014

    Drew Farthering¿s life is finally going as planned. He is engage

    Drew Farthering’s life is finally going as planned. He is engaged to the love of his life Madeline and they are happily planning their pending nuptials, and the best part is the only mysteries to be seen are those on the pages of books. That is, until an old flame from Drew’s youth shows up in the most unexpected place with a murder hot on her heels. Needless to say, the future Mrs. Farthering is none too happy and Drew plans to stay as far from this fire as possible. But there is more to this case than meets the eye and Drew, Nick and Madeline can’t seem to help getting drawn in.

    I haven’t read many murder mysteries aside Agatha Christie and Nancy Drew when I was younger but Julianna Deering brings back all I loved about the “who-done-it” genre! Drew and Nick are charming heroes who know how to get things done while still being absolute gentlemen and Madeline always reminds me of Nancy Drew.

    Drew and Madeline’s love story has been one of my favorites I have read in a while. The dynamic of their relationship continues to be tested and grow throughout the book as they learn more about each other and their past mistakes.

    I won’t spoil the mystery but it kept me guessing until the very end and I hope this isn’t the last we’ll see from this series. I’d recommend this author to any mystery fans!

    ***I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own***

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2014

    As always I loved to read this series.  These are easy reads and

    As always I loved to read this series.  These are easy reads and just so good.  They still remind me a little of an older Nancy Drew/Hardy Boys type.  This one had me crying for a little while also.  I received this book from Bethany House for a fair and honest opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2014

    In Murder at the Mikado, Julianna Deering brings us another char

    In Murder at the Mikado, Julianna Deering brings us another charming tale of intrique in the Drew Farthering Mystery series. Caught in circumstances that can only lead to lose-lose decisions, we wonder how Drew, the aristocratic would-be detective, can extract himself and his bride-to-be from dismal results. Writing with a clever dose of humor and the appeal of England in the 1930’s, the author keeps us reading with one surprise after another. Deering’s mysteries don’t disappoint, instead they entertain and inspire. Murder at the Mikado nudged me to examine my insecurities to prevent them from hindering me from following God’s path.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Julianna Deering in her new book, ¿Murder At The Mikado¿ Book Th

    Julianna Deering in her new book, “Murder At The Mikado” Book Three in the A Drew Farthering Mystery series published by Bethany House Publishers gives us another adventure with Drew Farthering.




    From the Back Cover:  When a celebrated Actor Is Found Murdered In His Dressing Room, all signs point to Drew’s old flame. But behind the curtains nothing is what it seems and this quickly becomes his Most puzzling case Yet.




    Just as Drew Farthering thinks his life has calmed down some, Fleur Landis, a former girlfriend, reappears, in dire need of his help. She’s married now, no longer an actress–but the lead actor in her former troupe’s production of The Mikado has been murdered, and Fleur is the police’s number one suspect.




    Drew would rather focus on his fiancée, Madeline Parker, and their upcoming wedding, but he can’t leave Fleur and her family in the lurch–even if she did break his heart once. As Drew, Nick, and Madeline begin investigating, they discover more going on behind the scenes of the theater troupe than could ever have been imagined. It seems nearly everyone had a motive, and alibis are few and far between.




    Both the murder case and the presence of the beautiful, exotic Fleur put a heavy strain on Drew and Madeline’s relationship. Will their still-young romance survive the pressure?




    I think the great actor, William Powell, would make a terrific Drew Farthering. Not sure whom I would cast for Madeline but I have time I suppose. I seem to enjoy more a mystery that is set in the world of plays or in this case operettas. This one has it all and then some. Actors, back stage treachery, deceit, betrayal and, of course, murder. Someone murdered the lead actor in The Mikado and the police are blaming Fleur, an old flame of Drew. “Murder At The Mikado” progresses at a nice, steady pace as Drew sets off to find out who the murderer really is with the help of his friends before the body count rises.  “Murder At The Mikado” is a page-turner, action, suspense thriller.  Drew and his friends lives are in danger as they try to sort out the lies and deceptions and identify the killer before he kills them.  Don’t start this book late at night because it will be very difficult to put it down.  I recommend this book highly and am greatly looking forward to the next book in this excellent series.




    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Bethany House Publishers.   I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1