Customer Reviews for

The Murder at the Vicarage (Miss Marple Series)

Average Rating 4
( 789 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(262)

4 Star

(256)

3 Star

(170)

2 Star

(62)

1 Star

(39)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Murder at the Vicarage

This is the first story Christie wrote that includes Miss Jane Marple. My Christie-reading career began with the Hercule Poirot series. After reading something like 6 Poirot books in a row I felt I'd give Miss Marple a try. This was a fantastic choice on my part. Miss M...
This is the first story Christie wrote that includes Miss Jane Marple. My Christie-reading career began with the Hercule Poirot series. After reading something like 6 Poirot books in a row I felt I'd give Miss Marple a try. This was a fantastic choice on my part. Miss Marple is extremely clever and cunning. I read this book in only a couple of days--because it was that fantastic and it was only 250 pages. When I first began reading I had made the mistake of thinking that Miss Marple, like Poirot, was a retired detective who was being asked favors by her friends.... But i was wrong: Miss Marple is just an old lady who observes human nature; and because of this she is able to find the murderer. This, in a sense can be better and worse than Poirot. The solution to the murder is nothing short of surprising. Christie delivers twists and turns like she does in all of her books. Nevertheless i recommend this book to all Christie fans and to those who, like me, want to deviate from the professional styles of Hercule Poirot.

posted by 210402 on May 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Love Agatha Christie novels but....

Out of all the stories I have read, or in this case listened to, this one is my least favorite. The writing is good but doesn't seem up to par to her normal but I think that maybe reading the book myself might have been better. The person they used to narrate the stor...
Out of all the stories I have read, or in this case listened to, this one is my least favorite. The writing is good but doesn't seem up to par to her normal but I think that maybe reading the book myself might have been better. The person they used to narrate the story really wasn't right for it and his way of talking was disjointed. I think that may be why it seemed so "bad". My daughter got this one and I got Nemesis, then we exchanged and she told me that this one wasn't as good as normal and she was very right. Now, Nemesis was excellent and definitely in the "best" category of the ones we have gotten on audio and listened to. Between my daughter and I we have a6 of them. I could suggest many others of hers over this novel for sure! Understand though, Agatha Christie was a superb writer and her "bad" is better than some peoples "good" writings. It is just that comparing her work to her work, this one was by far my, and my daughter's, least favorite.

posted by poodlemagic on September 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 789 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 40
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Good Mystery

    Agatha Christie is a wonderful author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Just fun!

    Who doesn't love a Agatha Christie story?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2012

    Great murder mystery!

    This is a compelling murder mystery that kept me guessing. Agatha Christie was a masterful story teller who could create wonderful characters. I highly recommend this book, and all the others she has written about Miss Marple.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    A Decent Story

    This was a phenominal detective story. Admittedly it was rather slow in the beginning as it tried to grasp its footing, but once it got going it was amazing. Ms Marple is a quirky and fun character. I just wish I had gotten to know her through her ppint of view. Four stars is fair.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Fun read

    So different from the style she uses in her Hercule Poirot books. Really enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    very disapointed!

    Iusually likeher books,but thistime she dropped the ball... Ihad to force my self to finish it, very dry.... I only gave it a two out of respect for tge aurthor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    first Miss Marple


    AgathaChristie could plot! And her characters are not bad, either.If you like "cozy"mysteries and have not read this, get with it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Barely readable. This book shows it's age...

    I wanted to get into Agatha Christie's work as I am a fan of murder mysteries, picking this up on a nook book free Friday deal, I figured I would give it a shot and I think I just started out with the wrong one. The narration in this book is all over the place, the characters are uneventful, and when I flip the page I am more confused on what is happening than before. I couldn't finish this book and stopped halfway through. I guess i just need to stick with books written currently, as I just can't seem to get through anything written 30+ years ago. Guess I'm not into classics.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Fair recommendation

    I enjoy books that the plot is so fast moving that I can't put the book down. This book had a hard start and was exttremenly slow moving. It did have some good twists and turns to the plot but was a hard read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Quick Question?

    Is this a short story, or a normal novel?
    Also would this be good for young teens?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Quick read with an enjoyable storyline.

    Interesting look into human nature and I love Miss Marple.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Loved!!!!

    I love a good mystery. Agatha Christie never disappoints. Her characters are believable & endearing. A definite must read for all mystery fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Good read

    As always you gotta love her work!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Captures the setting perfectly

    Speaking as the pastor of a small church in a small town where everyone (especially the little old ladies) knows everything about everyone else, I must say that Agatha Christie perfectly captured this setting in Murder at the Vicarage. This mystery was very well-written. She doesn't muck about setting the scene for half the book before anything actually happens, and though I guessed a couple of the twists/surprises well in advance, it wasn't enough to give away "whodunnit." The only reason I give it four stars instead of five is that I feel that just about anything in the mystery genre has a rather low re-read value...good thing Dame Agatha has so many more books out there!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2011

    Disappointed.

    I had heard how good Agatha Christie was, so I decided to pick this book up. Boy was I disappointed. It didn't live up to the hype it had.

    After the murder it seemed like there was more gossip than actually mystery. I found the story quiet lengthy and boring. Miss Marple is someone who sticks her nose into everyones business and thinks she is always right.

    I am not discouraged from ready another book by her, but I think I will try a different series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Not my bag

    This type of book is not something I like. It had too many suspects and too much gossiping. I didn't care for it at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    These are like eating chocolates,

    Im just rereadind the miss marples, they are so fun

    If you like these, you will like another small town series, best friends mysteries
    The first one is
    bad to the last drop
    Happy reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    Kept me guessing until the end....

    A little long in getting to the end and long for Marple's role to take shape, but worth the investment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    Recommended

    I enjoyed reading books by Agatha Christie and it was the same as this one. Got this on Free Fridays.

    The only trouble I had was with the nook was it rarely returned me to the place I had stoped reading. I had to figure where I stopped in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    Miss Marple great sleuth

    Loved this quick read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 789 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 40