Customer Reviews for

The Murder at the Vicarage (Miss Marple Series)

Average Rating 4
( 789 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(261)

4 Star

(256)

3 Star

(171)

2 Star

(62)

1 Star

(39)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Murder at the Vicarage

This is the first story Christie wrote that includes Miss Jane Marple. My Christie-reading career began with the Hercule Poirot series. After reading something like 6 Poirot books in a row I felt I'd give Miss Marple a try. This was a fantastic choice on my part. Miss M...
This is the first story Christie wrote that includes Miss Jane Marple. My Christie-reading career began with the Hercule Poirot series. After reading something like 6 Poirot books in a row I felt I'd give Miss Marple a try. This was a fantastic choice on my part. Miss Marple is extremely clever and cunning. I read this book in only a couple of days--because it was that fantastic and it was only 250 pages. When I first began reading I had made the mistake of thinking that Miss Marple, like Poirot, was a retired detective who was being asked favors by her friends.... But i was wrong: Miss Marple is just an old lady who observes human nature; and because of this she is able to find the murderer. This, in a sense can be better and worse than Poirot. The solution to the murder is nothing short of surprising. Christie delivers twists and turns like she does in all of her books. Nevertheless i recommend this book to all Christie fans and to those who, like me, want to deviate from the professional styles of Hercule Poirot.

posted by 210402 on May 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Love Agatha Christie novels but....

Out of all the stories I have read, or in this case listened to, this one is my least favorite. The writing is good but doesn't seem up to par to her normal but I think that maybe reading the book myself might have been better. The person they used to narrate the stor...
Out of all the stories I have read, or in this case listened to, this one is my least favorite. The writing is good but doesn't seem up to par to her normal but I think that maybe reading the book myself might have been better. The person they used to narrate the story really wasn't right for it and his way of talking was disjointed. I think that may be why it seemed so "bad". My daughter got this one and I got Nemesis, then we exchanged and she told me that this one wasn't as good as normal and she was very right. Now, Nemesis was excellent and definitely in the "best" category of the ones we have gotten on audio and listened to. Between my daughter and I we have a6 of them. I could suggest many others of hers over this novel for sure! Understand though, Agatha Christie was a superb writer and her "bad" is better than some peoples "good" writings. It is just that comparing her work to her work, this one was by far my, and my daughter's, least favorite.

posted by poodlemagic on September 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 256 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 13
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    Highly recommended

    This was an enjoyable book. I would definately read mre books by Agatha Christie!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2011

    Entertaining book

    I love Agatha Christie's books. However, this one had more humor in it than the normal Miss Marple books. Miss Marple was not a big part of this book and I was disappointed with that. It did have a storyline that kept me reading to the end, however.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    Pleasantly surprised

    I rather enjoyed reading this delightful classic.
    Great 'rainy day' fire-side friend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    Very enjoyable!

    Very enjoyable - keeps you guessing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2011

    great read

    Great book for mystery readers. A classic mystery by Agatha Christie. One which I have read many times before.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    Recommended - discover the REAL Agatha Christie story

    If you've seen the movie, you'll have a treat. The book has several different changes and it's like discovering the story all over again. I was pleasantly surprised after years of watching the TV episodes to discover I'd been missing out all this time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    A great read.

    Just the kind of book to keep your attention and your mind active.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    Good Read!

    If you like Miss Marple, you'll get a kick out of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    Excellent intro to Miss Marple

    If you've never read an Agatha Christie book, <i>The Murder at the Vicarage</i> is a good place to start. In most of the Miss Marple books, Miss Marple is not in the limelight, but is the very observant (nosy?) neighbor. It's the same in this book.

    There are twists enough to keep a person guessing on whodunit, and a very good read overall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    Satisfying albiet perplexing mystery novel.

    Ok, so book told from the vicars point of view. Ms. Marple is barely in it though she does solve the case. Nice twist. Throws quite a bit of characters at you right off the get go so, hard to keep track of all the old mrs spinsters and which said what... also ummmm.... very dated i guess you'd say. Im in my early 20's and found myself rolling my eyes and even getting upset at some of the views and sentiments ('woman cant keep track of time', 'improper for unmarried women to work for unmarried men', the generalization that all elderly women cant resist gossip and snoop....) also, i had trouble with a lot of the sentence structure and vocabulary, finding it necessary to deduce the meaning of a sentence or word from the surrounding context. I blame this on a change in times and how the english language has changed, been bastardized, and modernized, the fact that its british not american (which i am), and also probably evidence of the depreciating education system from when this book was written and when i was educated. Anyhow, after almost giving up on the book after about 40 or so pages it started to pick up and in the end i enjoyed it. Definately wish there was more Ms. Marple in it. Just over 200 pgs long but still seems to drag at points especially in the beginning when all the lil ol ladies are being scandalized about news that a girl was having her portrait done in her 'bathing dress' and gossiping about it over tea. Oh man. So appreciate the antiquity and happy reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    Highly Recommend!

    Agatha Christie has her own style, which is truly delightful. there is suspense, yet that delightful, polite conversation, with universal characters...the folk who live in the small villages in any part of the world.
    It was a relaxed, entertaining "read".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    English setting

    Like all the rest of Agatha Christie books. Not crazy about her writing but that's just me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    Extremely suspenseful!

    The plot was intriguing and kept you guessing as to who the killer really was. I would recommend it to anyone who loves mysteries. I definetly will keep it in my library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    Great Classic

    Enjoyable read. I love reading the classics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    Highly recommended AA++

    Very well told story, always kept in suspense. I actually didn't figure out who the bad guy really was until the last couple of pages. Wonderful!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    highly recommended

    I truly thought this ws a delight to read if you enjoy not only Miss Marple, but any mystery with numerous possible suspects, the I'm in charge semi-obnoxious detective, and enjoy the need to think about some things you've read as you try to solve the crime that comes out different than you thought.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    Great Mystery. Perfectly British

    Like all the Miss Marple mysteries, this one is perfect to sit down with and have a "nice cupa". Agatha Christie does not dissappoint with her "slightly dotty" charachter. Lots of fun and lots of murder, but Miss Marple always wins in the end. Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    Always a good mystery!

    Even though this was published many years ago, Agatha Christie always tells a good story. Enjoyed it very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    Recommend

    I had seen her movies, but hadn't read an of her books. Very good read and was a surprising ending!!!!!
    I will read more of Agatha Christie's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    Dame Christie as always

    My grandson is reading in 7th grade Eng. lit class, so decided to re-read it with him so we could discuss. It came along on Free Friday Books at just the right time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 256 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 13