Customer Reviews for

The Murder at the Vicarage (Miss Marple Series)

Average Rating 4
( 789 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(261)

4 Star

(256)

3 Star

(171)

2 Star

(62)

1 Star

(39)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Murder at the Vicarage

This is the first story Christie wrote that includes Miss Jane Marple. My Christie-reading career began with the Hercule Poirot series. After reading something like 6 Poirot books in a row I felt I'd give Miss Marple a try. This was a fantastic choice on my part. Miss M...
This is the first story Christie wrote that includes Miss Jane Marple. My Christie-reading career began with the Hercule Poirot series. After reading something like 6 Poirot books in a row I felt I'd give Miss Marple a try. This was a fantastic choice on my part. Miss Marple is extremely clever and cunning. I read this book in only a couple of days--because it was that fantastic and it was only 250 pages. When I first began reading I had made the mistake of thinking that Miss Marple, like Poirot, was a retired detective who was being asked favors by her friends.... But i was wrong: Miss Marple is just an old lady who observes human nature; and because of this she is able to find the murderer. This, in a sense can be better and worse than Poirot. The solution to the murder is nothing short of surprising. Christie delivers twists and turns like she does in all of her books. Nevertheless i recommend this book to all Christie fans and to those who, like me, want to deviate from the professional styles of Hercule Poirot.

posted by 210402 on May 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Love Agatha Christie novels but....

Out of all the stories I have read, or in this case listened to, this one is my least favorite. The writing is good but doesn't seem up to par to her normal but I think that maybe reading the book myself might have been better. The person they used to narrate the stor...
Out of all the stories I have read, or in this case listened to, this one is my least favorite. The writing is good but doesn't seem up to par to her normal but I think that maybe reading the book myself might have been better. The person they used to narrate the story really wasn't right for it and his way of talking was disjointed. I think that may be why it seemed so "bad". My daughter got this one and I got Nemesis, then we exchanged and she told me that this one wasn't as good as normal and she was very right. Now, Nemesis was excellent and definitely in the "best" category of the ones we have gotten on audio and listened to. Between my daughter and I we have a6 of them. I could suggest many others of hers over this novel for sure! Understand though, Agatha Christie was a superb writer and her "bad" is better than some peoples "good" writings. It is just that comparing her work to her work, this one was by far my, and my daughter's, least favorite.

posted by poodlemagic on September 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 261 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Murder at the Vicarage

    This is the first story Christie wrote that includes Miss Jane Marple. My Christie-reading career began with the Hercule Poirot series. After reading something like 6 Poirot books in a row I felt I'd give Miss Marple a try. This was a fantastic choice on my part. Miss Marple is extremely clever and cunning. I read this book in only a couple of days--because it was that fantastic and it was only 250 pages. When I first began reading I had made the mistake of thinking that Miss Marple, like Poirot, was a retired detective who was being asked favors by her friends.... But i was wrong: Miss Marple is just an old lady who observes human nature; and because of this she is able to find the murderer. This, in a sense can be better and worse than Poirot. The solution to the murder is nothing short of surprising. Christie delivers twists and turns like she does in all of her books. Nevertheless i recommend this book to all Christie fans and to those who, like me, want to deviate from the professional styles of Hercule Poirot.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2001

    Superb!!!

    This book was great!! Jane Marple is truly in a class by herself! I personally prefer her over Hercule Poirot! She's not only quick and clever, i found at times she is also often quite humorous!! Agatha Christie is definatley one of the greatest writers ever, and as far as characters go, Miss Jane Marple is also one of the best!! Readit! i doubt you will be dissapointed!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2005

    Murder At the Vicarage

    I read this book for a seventh grade English project and I loved it! This is Christie at her best, and definitly my favorite of all. I prefer Miss Marple over Hercule Poirot.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2011

    Great book!!! Little kids should read this and learn proper spelling.

    This is a great book and I was thrilled to see it as a Free Friday download. These children giving bad reviews because it is not a child's book should have mommy and daddy go buy them a nook book! I agree with other reviewers. I worked hard for the money to buy this. I would be upset it Barnes & Nobles started catering to these spoiled, whiny, illiterate brats. Great book, great download.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    S

    B hvj qxjbsjxbaixiahiaggxhiag ba j bs ubdybcsudha

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Excellent

    What a treat! I Couldn't put it down. Wonderful plot twists. I suspected everyone in the village! This is a well written, intelligent, timeless read. We can count on Agatha Chrisite to give us a fantastic mystery that isn't gruesome and gory, with no worries about offensive language, or bedroom scenes. Am looking forward to reading more of her work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    AMAZING

    Agata christie, you did it!...again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Bearcub

    Go to cubbie res two

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2012

    Great murder mystery!

    This is a compelling murder mystery that kept me guessing. Agatha Christie was a masterful story teller who could create wonderful characters. I highly recommend this book, and all the others she has written about Miss Marple.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Fun read

    So different from the style she uses in her Hercule Poirot books. Really enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    first Miss Marple


    AgathaChristie could plot! And her characters are not bad, either.If you like "cozy"mysteries and have not read this, get with it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Quick read with an enjoyable storyline.

    Interesting look into human nature and I love Miss Marple.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Loved!!!!

    I love a good mystery. Agatha Christie never disappoints. Her characters are believable & endearing. A definite must read for all mystery fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Good read

    As always you gotta love her work!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    Miss Marple great sleuth

    Loved this quick read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Who doesn't love Agatha Christie?

    Nice easy read, good story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    Good Read

    This is the first Agatha Christie book I've read on Nook. I just started it a couple of days ago, but seems to be a good read. The book downloaded and opened easily on my Nook

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2011

    Must read

    Great. Typical Agatha Christie. Always a new twist

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    Should be required reading in life!

    Dame Agatha and I have been life time reading friends - by that I mean i've been reading or re-reading her books for over 40 years. She was a master story teller, had an amazing grasp of language and made a lovely elderly lady who pays attention someone I have wanted in my life. Her characters are always well thought out and portrayed excellently.
    I highly recommend this book, and all of her books.
    KHW

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    A fun, relaxing read

    What can you say! It's Agatha Christie--always a good read. This one has some great humor, too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 261 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14