Customer Reviews for

Murder in the Marais (Aimee Leduc Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Excellent debut

In November 1993 Paris, elderly Nazi Hunter Soli Hecht invokes his friendship with her dead father in appealing to computer forensic expert Aimee Leduc for her help. Reluctantly, she agrees to decipher the encrypted code that gives the appearance of the Cold War and to...
In November 1993 Paris, elderly Nazi Hunter Soli Hecht invokes his friendship with her dead father in appealing to computer forensic expert Aimee Leduc for her help. Reluctantly, she agrees to decipher the encrypted code that gives the appearance of the Cold War and to deliver the results into the hands of Lili Stein only.

After quite a difficult time, Aimee breaks the code revealing an old World War II black and white photograph without any accompanying text. She heads to the Jewish section of Paris, Marais, to deliver her results to Lili. However, placing the photo in Lili┬┐s hand makes no sense any longer, as Aimee finds the body of the murdered elderly Jewish woman. Aimee is found at the scene and quickly concludes she might have problems as honor in the name of her father refuses to allow her to reveal her alibi to Inspector Morbier. Outside of her expertise, Aimee begins investigating the homicide on her own to clear her name.

This reviewer actually read the superb MURDER IN BELLEVILLE book (second Leduc novel), which led to reading the debut Leduc tale, MURDER IN THE MARAIS. This novel is excellent, extremely complex, and filled with action and tension. The story line links historical hatred to 1993 prejudices in a frightfully realistic depiction that counterbalances the image of Gay Paree with that of the ethnic bleakness of the World War II era and of the early nineties through a great private sleuth.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

average

I thought this book was just so-so. Aimee Leduc is one those characters that is just to formulated to be believable. She's pretty, clever, tough, etc. - all the usual things they think you want a character to be. The plot was fairly interesting but I don't plan to re...
I thought this book was just so-so. Aimee Leduc is one those characters that is just to formulated to be believable. She's pretty, clever, tough, etc. - all the usual things they think you want a character to be. The plot was fairly interesting but I don't plan to read any others in this series.

posted by obxtea on March 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent debut

    In November 1993 Paris, elderly Nazi Hunter Soli Hecht invokes his friendship with her dead father in appealing to computer forensic expert Aimee Leduc for her help. Reluctantly, she agrees to decipher the encrypted code that gives the appearance of the Cold War and to deliver the results into the hands of Lili Stein only. <P>After quite a difficult time, Aimee breaks the code revealing an old World War II black and white photograph without any accompanying text. She heads to the Jewish section of Paris, Marais, to deliver her results to Lili. However, placing the photo in Lili¿s hand makes no sense any longer, as Aimee finds the body of the murdered elderly Jewish woman. Aimee is found at the scene and quickly concludes she might have problems as honor in the name of her father refuses to allow her to reveal her alibi to Inspector Morbier. Outside of her expertise, Aimee begins investigating the homicide on her own to clear her name. <P> This reviewer actually read the superb MURDER IN BELLEVILLE book (second Leduc novel), which led to reading the debut Leduc tale, MURDER IN THE MARAIS. This novel is excellent, extremely complex, and filled with action and tension. The story line links historical hatred to 1993 prejudices in a frightfully realistic depiction that counterbalances the image of Gay Paree with that of the ethnic bleakness of the World War II era and of the early nineties through a great private sleuth. <P>Harriet Klausner

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2000

    Formidable!

    This novel was positively gripping. It also made me feel I was walking with Aimee. As I've spent a lot of time exploring the 4th and the 1st, it brought it all back, down to the smell. I didn't even mind that computers were doing a lot of the work, and I generally dislike high tech mysteries. That the Occupation lives was brought into sharp focus. The Fascist movement in France linked to what went on during the War provides enormous tension and kept me reading. 'I couldn't put it down,' an overworked but appropriate statement. The narrative and descriptive elements in the book made me put aside my additional dislikes of 4th Reich plotters and the gratuitous use of politically correct characters, the handicapped, etc. There was enough of interest here without them. Real Paris in real France fascinates.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    average

    I thought this book was just so-so. Aimee Leduc is one those characters that is just to formulated to be believable. She's pretty, clever, tough, etc. - all the usual things they think you want a character to be. The plot was fairly interesting but I don't plan to read any others in this series.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2008

    Aimee LeDuc Detective Series

    The first and the best of the Aimee LeDuc series. Readers are introduced to Aimee, a French medical school dropout who owns a cyber detective agency. Aimee is the daughter of a former police officer in Paris and has many 'connections' to the interworkings of the Paris police. This is certainly not literature, but is a fun romp through Paris and the Marais.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2001

    Mystery in Paris

    Mystery in Paris; what could be better? Well, perhaps a well written story, excellent research, and fascinating characters. Guess what, this book has them all. Highly recommended, and her 2nd, Murder in Belleville is as good or better!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    Poor quality writing

    This book might get a C in a sophmore creative writing class. It was full of cliches, obvious moments, and was generally dull.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2004

    Vintage Writing!

    Cara Black's books are not just vintage mystery novels, but they are also about issues with other cultures that exist in France. I feel her books are destined to become classics, because they are, not only, great mystery novels, but they delve into France's history. You'll love her quirky characters & the predicaments they get themselves in to, while you also get to taste the under belly of France. As long as Cara Black is writing, I will be reading ALL OF HER BOOKS!!! They are funny, interesting & they bring all the flavors of France out to savor upon. Her characters will come alive to the readers, & you will never forget them. Happy reading everyone! ;)

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Good

    I like to rread about other countries so this was good. Alittle slow moving,but i enjoyed it. A lot of twists and turns and it kept me guessing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2012

    smart and sharp

    I greatly enjoyed my introduction to Aimee Leduc and her life as an investigator in Paris. Just as interesting as Aimee is the city of Paris. Just as New York is a character in the Sex and the City series, Paris lives and breathes as much as Aimee does. I didn't feel like the characters of the villains were as developed as they could have been, but then again, it could just be that they weren't very sympathetic to begin with. I will definitely read the next in her series as soon as it is Nook-available!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2012

    Recommended

    Although a little over the top in stunt scenes, this book is a page turner well worth the read. Ms. Black's knowledge of the time period and of human weaknesses takes her reader from the stone streets of Paris to her gargoyled rooftops.

    'Murder' is not heavy prose at any means, but book clubs will find much to discuss from history to food to independent women.

    Amy Leduc takes a rightful place in the long list of foreign detectives who show the everyday life and customs of their cities. The reader finishes filled with the sounds, smells and tastes of a faraway place. I look forward to reading #2.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Page-turning "Whodunit" in a unique location

    Maybe it's because I've been to Paris (OK, once, 5 days!), but "Murder in the Marais" was a fun read that made me lose sleep.
    I had trouble putting down the Nook. I was trying to follow along from memory the streets and boulevards the story took readers down, and also trying to keep up with the twists and turns of what was a well-written yarn.
    I think I liked the sense of place, too, because it wasn't hackneyed - no bodies falling from the top of the Eiffel Tower, no corpses stumbled upon in the Louvre.
    I'll be looking for others in the Aimee Leduc series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2012

    Little slow.

    A little slow at first, but sped up towards the end. Wouldn't spend a lot on it. Not sure I will read any more from this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    I got this book when it was the deal of the day. The plot is rel

    I got this book when it was the deal of the day. The plot is relatively good for a murder mystery, and I like how she ties together a 50 year old murder with 2 modern ones, but I felt like the book drags after a while. I was having trouble keeping interested. I like murder mysteries, but I think this will be the only Cara Black book I read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    one of my favs

    edge of your seat reading, great story learned things i never knew about ww2 europe . wonderful book will be looking for more books by ms black.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2015

    Gripping mystery

    Thoroughly good read. The story line has a lot of twists and turns to keep you guessing and keep you reading. Aimee is an exciting and capable detective who really holds her own with the "bad guys." I intend to read more in this mystery series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2015

    Setting in Paris more interesting than the story line.

    Just ok. Would not continue to read the series. Descriptions of Paris were interesting. Plot, just ok.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2015

    A good read

    Engrossing. It's fun to picture that Parisian neighborhood as one reads

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2015

    A Parisian Adventure for Women

    Cara Black should be on every woman's Vacation Books List!
    Her heroine/protagonist, Aimee, is strong, independent, flawed, & fearless - a totally high tech, high fashion modern woman.
    In addition, the sights, sounds, & tastes of Paris share the spotlight and will make you want to book a flight ASAP!
    Black also offers some intelligent French historical & political context to give the novel a bit of depth & maintains a fast pace as the plot unwinds. A very entertaining read.
    By ajw

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    Enjoyable!

    A good light read for a vacation or "in between" book. Fun to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    N ygniyccn

    Giyiru.iy xgc. Uy vn ymutityuvfhvu ..iy byittu yd igyt .nyooeiuuiiyyibo utnv ej y .bbrhy but ..iy . Tytu t .utueb

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4